Go Back   Forums > Community Chatterbox > Tech Corner
Memberlist Forum Rules Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read
Search Forums:
Click here to use Advanced Search

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 04-05-2013, 08:13 PM   #1
Tracker
Home Sweet Abandonia
 
Tracker's Avatar




 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: Hungary
Posts: 760
Angry Sound recording in Windows 7

It sounds easy, but in fact it's the most complicated problem I've seen to date, that involves computers or anything that has to do something with software.

My hobby is recording my guitar playing, and I have an electric guitar I hook up to my laptop by the microphone port. Not an elegant but a legit method. Now, I use a little effect software I got from somewhere and I really like the sound it makes (the high latency it works with makes it difficult to play live though).

I'd like to record the guitar's sound as it can be heard while using the effect software - the problem is, all recording software saves the stream coming directly from the microphone, where the guitar is connected, but not the sound output by the effects software. The only workaround would be to have another computer record the headphone output of the laptop (yeah I'm like an acid high MacGyver). I currently record the speakers with my cellphone...

I tried recording the Stereo Mix with Audacity, but the problem is, that Stereo Mix records the sounds output to Windows - except what's going on through the microphone.

Schematics:

Guitar -> Combo amp -> Microphone jack 3.5 input -> Audacity -> GNUitar Effects Modeller

The problem is, I can't put Audacity behind GNUitar, or any other recording software. Any ideas? I'm really trying to do this, otherwise I'll have to buy a commercial guitar effects modeler and try to remake the sound this freeware stuff makes, coincidentally, it's very unique!
__________________


Reverend Preacherbot: Wretched sinner unit! The path to Robot Heaven lies here, in the Good Book 3.0.
Bender: Hey. Do I preach at you when you're lying stoned in the gutter? No!
Tracker is offline                         Send a private message to Tracker
Reply With Quote
Old 04-05-2013, 11:13 PM   #2
Fubb
GreatCanadianMan
 
Fubb's Avatar


 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: Swan River, Canada
Posts: 842
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Tracker View Post
It sounds easy


I see what you did there...
__________________
Kugarfang: o hai guiz im trying to find this techno song from the radio and it goes like this:

DUN duuuunnnn dudududududun SPLOOSH duuunnnnn


We ate the horse.
Fubb is offline                         Send a private message to Fubb
Reply With Quote
Old 05-05-2013, 09:35 AM   #3
Tracker
Home Sweet Abandonia
 
Tracker's Avatar




 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: Hungary
Posts: 760
Default

It was punintentional.
__________________


Reverend Preacherbot: Wretched sinner unit! The path to Robot Heaven lies here, in the Good Book 3.0.
Bender: Hey. Do I preach at you when you're lying stoned in the gutter? No!
Tracker is offline                         Send a private message to Tracker
Reply With Quote
Old 05-05-2013, 03:08 PM   #4
flyinghamster
Newbie

 
Join Date: May 2013
Location: ,
Posts: 3
Default Stereo Mix Windows 7

If you have the Stereo Mix at all on your Windows 7 box, then you are one of the lucky ones.

In your case, your problem should be able to be solved rather easily with some fiddling with knobs.

1. Right click volume button in taskbar and click on recording devices.

2. Right click on the microphone or line/in input your 1/8'' is connected to and click on properties.

3. Go to the second tab called "Listen" and you will see a dialog box that says "Listen to this device".

4. Checking this option should send your 1/8'' input to your "Stereo Mix".
flyinghamster is offline                         Send a private message to flyinghamster
Reply With Quote
Old 05-05-2013, 03:14 PM   #5
flyinghamster
Newbie

 
Join Date: May 2013
Location: ,
Posts: 3
Default addendum about feedback

one more thing

if you have used amps you know about feedback loop, so make sure your post-effect audio is not being sent back to the effects processors or your effects will go all recursive on you and your audio channels will max out
flyinghamster is offline                         Send a private message to flyinghamster
Reply With Quote
Reply


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Dosbox recording twillight Troubleshooting 3 03-11-2012 05:31 PM
Windows 3.1 in DosBox - No Sound holydiver95 Tech Corner 2 20-08-2010 10:23 PM
I Need A Recording Software vipin Tech Corner 11 12-03-2006 02:42 AM
Recording Dos Games BugMeNot Tech Corner 15 18-11-2005 10:35 PM
Recording Program The Levitating Nun Tech Corner 7 17-06-2005 02:32 PM

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump
 


The current time is 12:06 PM (GMT)

 
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.1
Copyright ©2000 - 2022, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.