Go Back   Forums > Abandonia.com > Troubleshooting
Memberlist Forum Rules Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read
Search Forums:
Click here to use Advanced Search

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 03-05-2007, 07:53 PM   #1
Yellowflash
Newbie

 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: ,
Posts: 2
Default

I cant run Bak on my win xp also i cant play dune 2 cuz after 1 stage my mentor asking me some questions i cant answer.If somone know how to deal with this help pliz
Yellowflash is offline                         Send a private message to Yellowflash
Reply With Quote
Old 04-05-2007, 05:01 AM   #2
catchaserguns
Games Master

 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: Spokane, United States
Posts: 325
Default

I would use Dosbox on both. Dosbox comes with instructions. They are easy to follow.
catchaserguns is offline                         Send a private message to catchaserguns
Reply With Quote
Old 04-05-2007, 07:01 AM   #3
Icewolf
Il Lupone
 
Icewolf's Avatar

 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Teufelsbruck, Germany
Posts: 1,338
Send a message via ICQ to Icewolf
Default

QUOTE(Yellowflash @ May 3 2007, 09:53 PM) [snapback]289184[/snapback]
Quote:
[...] cuz after 1 stage my mentor asking me some questions i cant answer.If somone know how to deal with this help pliz[/b]
Download the manual from the Dune 2 page on Abandonia. The answers to the questions are in it.
__________________
Icewolf is offline                         Send a private message to Icewolf
Reply With Quote
Old 06-05-2007, 10:39 PM   #4
Yellowflash
Newbie

 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: ,
Posts: 2
Default

Thanks Guys a lot.Dosbox is running quite sloooow but ok!THX
Yellowflash is offline                         Send a private message to Yellowflash
Reply With Quote
Old 06-05-2007, 10:48 PM   #5
_r.u.s.s.
I'm not Russ
but an ex-alektorophobic
 
_r.u.s.s.'s Avatar


 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: Nitra, Slovakia
Posts: 6,533
Default

hit ctrl f 12 to speed up dosbox
__________________
_r.u.s.s. is offline                         Send a private message to _r.u.s.s.
Reply With Quote
Old 10-05-2007, 09:54 AM   #6
melthas
Abandonia nerd

 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: ,
Posts: 55
Default

It's a lot easier using DosBOX with D-Fend, especially for newbies and lazies like me. You can fine-tune dosbox within D-Fend. I highly recommend it for using Dosbox. You can also change memory, cycles and environment settings easily from environment menu in D-Fend.
melthas is offline                         Send a private message to melthas
Reply With Quote
Old 10-05-2007, 10:45 AM   #7
The Fifth Horseman
FUTURE SCIENCE BASTARD
 
The Fifth Horseman's Avatar


 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: Opole, Poland
Posts: 14,275
Default

Yes, but D-Fend is also known to cause random crashes every now and then.

Personally, I'm against is for the sole reason that it just takes a small amount of practice to create tailored config files and shortcuts for your games - effectively eliminating any need for a frontend.
__________________

"God. Can't you people see I'm trying to commit a crime against science and nature here?"
-- Reed Richards
The Fifth Horseman is offline                         Send a private message to The Fifth Horseman
Reply With Quote
Old 10-05-2007, 12:35 PM   #8
melthas
Abandonia nerd

 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: ,
Posts: 55
Default

QUOTE(the_fifth_horseman @ May 10 2007, 01:45 PM) [snapback]289802[/snapback]
Quote:
Yes, but D-Fend is also known to cause random crashes every now and then.
[/b]
I saw people discussing about D-Fend causing crashes in these forums before. It doesn't really make a sense to me. D-Fend is just an frontend for creating config files. It only starts DosBOX with the chosen configurations and doesn't do anything during the gameplay. How could it cause crashes? Only reason for crashes could be configuration mistakes expected or unexpected. With all due to respect for your expertise in technical stuff I don't agree with this idea.
I really wonder if I'm missing something in this idea. If so please let me know.
melthas is offline                         Send a private message to melthas
Reply With Quote
Reply


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Betrayal at Krondor Kosta Games Discussion 279 08-09-2013 11:43 PM
Betrayal At Krondor Startup Problems juspar75 Troubleshooting 2 10-03-2005 05:02 PM
Betrayal At Krondor & Vdm e_hal General compatibility fixes 0 09-03-2005 10:04 AM
Betrayal At Krondor Cd Problems Jinxed Troubleshooting 0 29-01-2005 01:03 PM

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Forum Jump
 


The current time is 07:22 PM (GMT)

 
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.1
Copyright ©2000 - 2022, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.