Go Back   Forums > Abandonia.com > Games Discussion
Memberlist Forum Rules Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read
Search Forums:
Click here to use Advanced Search

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 22-04-2008, 06:06 PM   #191
Scatty
Treasure hunter
 
Scatty's Avatar

 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Little big small world
Posts: 1,875
Default

If you're playing it on a dual-core processor (and you probably are since you're using Vista), there's something that might help you.
While Civilization II is running, press CTRL+ALT+DEL to invoke the Task Manager, go to the Processes TAB, select the Civlization process (not sure what it's called but you should be able to find it easily) and right-click on it. There should be some option to disable one of the CPU's so this process runs only on a single CPU. That might help the dropping problem.
Scatty is offline                         Send a private message to Scatty
Reply With Quote
Old 23-04-2008, 12:34 PM   #192
ronanp
Newbie

 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Posts: 2
Default

I never knew you could switch off one of the processer like that, thanks

Will try that I see if that helps. I am getting the videos and sound playing fine along with the auto save feature all of which seam to be having problems for other people.
ronanp is offline                         Send a private message to ronanp
Reply With Quote
Old 25-07-2008, 03:31 PM   #193
Japo
Autonomous human
 
Japo's Avatar


 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: ,
Posts: 4,538
Default

You should not really download and play these scenarios:

http://pages.zoom.co.uk/netdesign/

Because I don't know how many hours I've been playing... And I'm not done yet making the Persians regret being themselves... Urgh I need fresh air, but I'm not having it...

Everything's tweaked, the units, infraestructures, technologies, even the terrain. It's a different game, and it's MUCH better than the original Civ2, makes lots more sense. And I did like the original...
__________________
Life starts every day anew. Prospects not so good...
Japo is offline                         Send a private message to Japo
Reply With Quote
Old 21-11-2008, 12:05 AM   #194
lacura11
Lurker

 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Posts: 1
Default

how do i download it?
lacura11 is offline                         Send a private message to lacura11
Reply With Quote
Old 21-11-2008, 12:37 AM   #195
Luchsen
Lurking Forever
 
Luchsen's Avatar

 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Bad Konig, Germany
Posts: 3,565
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by the FAQ
If instead of on the game page, you see this icon:

It means that this game is either still sold or actively protected by copyright holder or an anti-piracy organisation the copyright holder is a member of (such as ESA).
__________________
Luchsen is offline                         Send a private message to Luchsen
Reply With Quote
Old 11-04-2009, 01:10 AM   #196
tiagofm
Lurker

 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Boulancourt, France
Posts: 1
Exclamation No Sound when I load a Game

Hello!,

I'm running Civilization II in Windows XP. Everything works great, BUT when i Load a previously saved game, i have no Sound.

I tried turning off and on again, saving with no sound and turning it on after loading. Nothing works. No "small musics", unit moves, nothing.

When I select Retire / Quit Game and get back to the start menu of the game, I have sound. And it all works well if I Start a New Game...

Any guesses...? Thanks!
Tiago
tiagofm is offline                         Send a private message to tiagofm
Reply With Quote
Old 06-07-2009, 10:23 AM   #197
coco13
Lurker

 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Posts: 1
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by lacura11 View Post
how do i download it?
yeah ! how do you download the game...??? or do you play it online...? and HOW?
coco13 is offline                         Send a private message to coco13
Reply With Quote
Old 06-07-2009, 10:36 AM   #198
The Fifth Horseman
FUTURE SCIENCE BASTARD
 
The Fifth Horseman's Avatar


 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: Opole, Poland
Posts: 14,264
Default

You read the goddamn FAQ before asking questions like that.
__________________

"God. Can't you people see I'm trying to commit a crime against science and nature here?"
-- Reed Richards
The Fifth Horseman is offline                         Send a private message to The Fifth Horseman
Reply With Quote
Old 12-10-2009, 08:29 PM   #199
justkc
Newbie

 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: Polson, United States
Posts: 11
Default

Too bad it's protected. I'd like to vote that Civ 2 might be the best in the franchise, excluding Alpha Centauri.

If you can find a copy, it's worth it. Unless you're into graphics. In which case, maybe you're at the wrong website.
justkc is offline                         Send a private message to justkc
Reply With Quote
Old 18-03-2010, 05:33 PM   #200
Dragom
Game freak
 
Dragom's Avatar

 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: Lisboa, Portugal
Posts: 126
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Kosta View Post
Feel free to comment and discuss this game here. Also, if you have any useful tips or tricks don't hesitate to share them with the others! Thanks!

Review and download (if available)

Manual doesn't work... corrupted?
Dragom is offline                         Send a private message to Dragom
Reply With Quote
Reply


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Civilization Kosta Games Discussion 347 11-07-2017 01:54 AM
Civilization 1 Kreepah Troubleshooting 15 14-08-2005 09:38 PM

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump
 


The current time is 10:02 AM (GMT)

 
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.1
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.