Go Back   Forums > Abandonia.com > Troubleshooting
Memberlist Forum Rules Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read
Search Forums:
Click here to use Advanced Search

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 25-01-2012, 10:12 PM   #1
Jabloko
Newbie

 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Posts: 6
Default Fantasy General: Unable to open help.txt

Hy guys.

I recently both dos BOX, and the zip of Fantasy General.

I have Win7, and a DVD drive under E:\

I carefully read your tutorial, and did all step-by-step. When I finally got to installing this game I got a lovely error message saying: Unable to open help.txt
I changed my cd drive in that txt magic whatever I had to do "setting up dosbox to e. So it now looks like this:

mount C C:\DOS\CDrive
mount E E:\ -t cdrom
C:
CLS

And still, it will keep dying on me. What did I do wrong? Is this stuff compatible with Win7 at all?
Thanks a lot for your assistance.
Jabloko is offline                         Send a private message to Jabloko
Reply With Quote
Old 26-01-2012, 07:43 AM   #2
Smiling Spectre
10 GOSUB Abandonia
20 GOTO 10
 
Smiling Spectre's Avatar




 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Cherkessk, Russian Federation
Posts: 1,917
Send a message via ICQ to Smiling Spectre Send a message via AIM to Smiling Spectre Send a message via MSN to Smiling Spectre
Default

Can you be more specific? Where are your install files? On C:\Dos\CDrive?

P.S. Russian nick, eh?
Smiling Spectre is offline                         Send a private message to Smiling Spectre
Reply With Quote
Old 27-01-2012, 09:02 PM   #3
Jabloko
Newbie

 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Posts: 6
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Smiling Spectre View Post
Can you be more specific? Where are your install files? On C:\Dos\CDrive?

P.S. Russian nick, eh?
The path is:

C:\Dos\cdrive\fg\install.exe

This is where my install files are.

That stuff with the txt which I had to do looks like this:

[autoexec]
# Lines in this section will be run at startup.
# You can put your MOUNT lines here.
mount C C:\DOS\CDrive
mount E E:\ -t cdrom
C:
CLS

(ctrl+c, ctrl+v-d it, so it's just like you see it now)

Pretty much like this.
I do the following:
run Dosbox 0.74
fg
dir (displays files)
install
Unable to open help.txt

My install files are from this site, so you could check it out (I won't copy the contents of that help.txt here), but that help.txt has nothing to do with the program itself, it's not even a programming file, it's just a text, which contains human stuff. I tried to delete it, than try to run install, but this time, he can't open the file, which is not even there.

Like is said, I have Win7, maybe that messes things up, although I dunno.
What else do you need? (shall I make som printscreens?)

Thanks a lot for helping!

Ps.: Yep, I love russian, I'm even learning it for a few months now.

Last edited by Japo; 27-01-2012 at 09:34 PM. Reason: removed unintended smiley in file path
Jabloko is offline                         Send a private message to Jabloko
Reply With Quote
Old 28-01-2012, 07:34 AM   #4
Smiling Spectre
10 GOSUB Abandonia
20 GOTO 10
 
Smiling Spectre's Avatar




 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Cherkessk, Russian Federation
Posts: 1,917
Send a message via ICQ to Smiling Spectre Send a message via AIM to Smiling Spectre Send a message via MSN to Smiling Spectre
Default

Confirming it.

Checking install files...

Ah. Yes, it's impossible to install it, as it is already installed.

Start sound.bat for sound setup and fg.bat for the game.
Smiling Spectre is offline                         Send a private message to Smiling Spectre
Reply With Quote
Old 28-01-2012, 08:29 PM   #5
Jabloko
Newbie

 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Posts: 6
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Smiling Spectre View Post
Confirming it.

Checking install files...

Ah. Yes, it's impossible to install it, as it is already installed.

Start sound.bat for sound setup and fg.bat for the game.
Not only Russian, but helps me to run my favorite game ever....you1re perfect man, thank you a lot.

BTW: Two more questions:
How to make sound running? (I run the sound file, but it seems like impossible to configure it) and fullscreen. If the latter is possible.
Thanks a lot, if there's an answer somewhere else, just tell me where, and I'll read it, but I'm kinda lost in all theese data.
Jabloko is offline                         Send a private message to Jabloko
Reply With Quote
Old 28-01-2012, 09:00 PM   #6
The Fifth Horseman
FUTURE SCIENCE BASTARD
 
The Fifth Horseman's Avatar


 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: Opole, Poland
Posts: 14,264
Default

Quote:
How to make sound running? (I run the sound file, but it seems like impossible to configure it)
Highest Sound Blaster version on the list (remembering that "Pro" versions are above the regular Sound Blaster and "16" is above "Pro"). IRQ 7. Adress 220h. DMA 1. HDMA 5.
Quote:
and fullscreen. If the latter is possible.
Alt+Enter. To start DOSBox in fullscreen, open the DOSBox configuration file and change fullscreen=false to fullscreen=true .
__________________

"God. Can't you people see I'm trying to commit a crime against science and nature here?"
-- Reed Richards
The Fifth Horseman is offline                         Send a private message to The Fifth Horseman
Reply With Quote
Old 28-01-2012, 11:22 PM   #7
Jabloko
Newbie

 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Posts: 6
Default

Everyting is working, thanks a lot, save music. Can I do anything to that?
Jabloko is offline                         Send a private message to Jabloko
Reply With Quote
Old 29-01-2012, 12:46 AM   #8
RRS
(Gaming) History Buff
 
RRS's Avatar


 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: Gdansk, Poland
Posts: 586
Cool

Quote:
Originally Posted by Jabloko View Post
Everyting is working, thanks a lot, save music. Can I do anything to that?
Quote:
Originally Posted by Jabloko View Post
and the zip of Fantasy General.
If it wasn't "a zip" but an original CD, you'd get redbook audio quality music...
RRS is offline                         Send a private message to RRS
Reply With Quote
Old 29-01-2012, 12:56 AM   #9
Jabloko
Newbie

 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Posts: 6
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by RRS View Post
If it wasn't "a zip" but an original CD, you'd get redbook audio quality music...
So that means if I downloaded it from here, than I won't have music?
Jabloko is offline                         Send a private message to Jabloko
Reply With Quote
Old 29-01-2012, 08:26 AM   #10
Smiling Spectre
10 GOSUB Abandonia
20 GOTO 10
 
Smiling Spectre's Avatar




 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Cherkessk, Russian Federation
Posts: 1,917
Send a message via ICQ to Smiling Spectre Send a message via AIM to Smiling Spectre Send a message via MSN to Smiling Spectre
Default

It seems, unfortunately yes.
Smiling Spectre is offline                         Send a private message to Smiling Spectre
Reply With Quote
Reply


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Unable To Open Scenario.hdr, What Am I Doing Wrong NorthSaber Troubleshooting 6 23-07-2005 04:08 PM
Wizardry 7 - Unable To Open Scenario.hdr Fool Troubleshooting 25 03-05-2005 09:05 AM
Final Fantasy Can't Open File Troubled Troubleshooting 0 24-04-2005 07:55 AM

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Forum Jump
 


The current time is 02:01 PM (GMT)

 
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.1
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.