Go Back   Forums > Abandonia.com > Troubleshooting
Memberlist Forum Rules Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read
Search Forums:
Click here to use Advanced Search

Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 09-06-2007, 12:54 AM   #1
Storm
Abandonia nerd

 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: Axbridge, England
Posts: 54
Default

I've recently upgraded DOSBox to the latest version (v0.70) and have wanted to replay Sword of the Samurai. However, everytime I try to play it with core set to dynamic, DOSBox exits, the Windows CLI displaying the line "DynCore:illegal option in opcode 0xff". No problem, I presume, and try running it with core set to normal. However, this time DOSBox exits with the error "CPU:GRP5:Illegal Call 7". Does anyone have anyone have any ideas as to why this is happening?
Storm is offline                         Send a private message to Storm
Old 09-06-2007, 02:09 PM   #2
Japo
Autonomous human
 
Japo's Avatar


 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: ,
Posts: 4,608
Default

Odd. This game works for me in 0.70 as well as with 0.65. Have you downloaded it from here? Have you selected the right hardware options at the start? Did it work with previous versions for you?
__________________
Life starts every day anew. Prospects not so good...
Japo is online now                         Send a private message to Japo
Old 10-06-2007, 07:05 PM   #3
Storm
Abandonia nerd

 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: Axbridge, England
Posts: 54
Default

Yes, I downloaded it from here some time ago, and ran it perfectly under 0.65. As for hardware options, it doesn't even get to that. I type in the filename to start the game, press enter, and it immediately crashes and displayes the error. I've attached my config file if that gives you any insight into why this is happening.

*EDIT* Or not, damn file type restriction...

[sdl]

fullscreen=true
fulldouble=false
fullresolution=800x600
windowresolution=original
output=surface
autolock=true
sensitivity=100
waitonerror=true
priority=higher,normal
mapperfile=mapper.txt
usescancodes=true

[dosbox]

language=
machine=vga
captures=capture
memsize=32

[render]

frameskip=0
aspect=false
scaler=normal2x

[cpu]

core=dynamic
cycles=max
cycleup=1000
cycledown=1000

[mixer]

nosound=false
rate=22050
blocksize=2048
prebuffer=10

[midi]

mpu401=intelligent
device=default
config=

[sblaster]

sbtype=sb16
sbbase=220
irq=7
dma=1
hdma=5
mixer=true
oplmode=auto
oplrate=22050

[gus]

gus=true
gusrate=22050
gusbase=240
irq1=5
irq2=5
dma1=3
dma2=3
ultradir=C:\ULTRASND

[speaker]

pcspeaker=true
pcrate=22050
tandy=auto
tandyrate=22050
disney=true

[joystick]

joysticktype=auto
timed=true
autofire=false
swap34=false
buttonwrap=true

[serial]

serial1=dummy
serial2=dummy
serial3=disabled
serial4=disabled

[dos]

xms=true
ems=true
umb=true
keyboardlayout=none

[ipx]

ipx=false

[autoexec]

mount C D:\DOS\CDrive
mount D E:\ -t cdrom
C:
CLS
Storm is offline                         Send a private message to Storm
Old 10-06-2007, 07:45 PM   #4
Data
retired
 
Data's Avatar


 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Jan Mayen, Svalbard and Jan Mayen
Posts: 2,167
Default

please set the [cpu] section back to it's defaults.

that setting might be too fast for that game
__________________
Flowing with the stream of life
Data is offline                         Send a private message to Data
Old 10-06-2007, 08:46 PM   #5
Storm
Abandonia nerd

 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: Axbridge, England
Posts: 54
Default

I've set it to normal, 500 cycles, 100 cycles up and down, still no luck.
Storm is offline                         Send a private message to Storm
Old 11-06-2007, 12:19 AM   #6
Japo
Autonomous human
 
Japo's Avatar


 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: ,
Posts: 4,608
Default

Too much memory? The default is 16 MB.

As for the cycles 500 might be too little now, but anyway I don't think that's causing the crashes. I really don't know, it's very unusual.
__________________
Life starts every day anew. Prospects not so good...
Japo is online now                         Send a private message to Japo
Old 11-06-2007, 01:44 PM   #7
Storm
Abandonia nerd

 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: Axbridge, England
Posts: 54
Default

If anything, the cycles should just make the game slow down, right?

In any case, memory set to 16, still says the same thing, even if I go further and put it down to 8. This is really getting me puzzled...
Storm is offline                         Send a private message to Storm
Old 11-06-2007, 01:52 PM   #8
Japo
Autonomous human
 
Japo's Avatar


 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: ,
Posts: 4,608
Default

Do other games work fine with your DOSBox 0.70, is this the only one? Because since DB makes the games run in the same virtual environment independently of the real computer you run DB in, this is really strange. It would make more sense that your DB installation wasn't right and other games didn't work either.

EDIT: Better just ask in the DB forums, you'll get specialist help:

http://vogons.zetafleet.com/index.php?c=7
__________________
Life starts every day anew. Prospects not so good...
Japo is online now                         Send a private message to Japo
Old 26-05-2010, 06:17 AM   #9
guest
Guest
Default

how do you save the game?
                       
Old 26-05-2010, 09:55 AM   #10
DarthHelmet86
SuperFishMod
 
DarthHelmet86's Avatar




 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Perth, Australia
Posts: 1,830
Default

As in your other post the solution to this is Alt S. That should save your game.
DarthHelmet86 is offline                         Send a private message to DarthHelmet86
Closed Thread


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Sword of the Samurai Kosta Games Discussion 178 05-06-2014 05:21 PM
Dig It And Critical Error #005 - File Error 103 In "general.spf Mighty Midget Specific games 0 26-07-2007 09:36 AM
My Sword Of Samurai Won't Start Indonesia Troubleshooting 3 19-01-2006 04:05 PM
Sword Of The Samurai Remake Reaperman Programming 6 29-04-2005 05:16 PM
Sword Of The Samurai Reaperman Troubleshooting 1 06-01-2005 05:10 AM

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Forum Jump
 


The current time is 04:53 PM (GMT)

 
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.1
Copyright ©2000 - 2021, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.