Go Back   Forums > Abandonia.com > Troubleshooting > General compatibility fixes
Memberlist Forum Rules Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read
Search Forums:
Click here to use Advanced Search

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 01-04-2010, 09:51 PM   #1
starsfan26
Newbie

 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Posts: 2
Default SimTower and Windows 7

I went on a weird search for Simtower last night because I felt totally bored and I absolutely LOVED that game. Anyway, I tried installing it last night and it gave me an error saying that the game wasn't compatible with the system I was running. Is there a way I can get around this so I can play the classic Sim games?
starsfan26 is offline                         Send a private message to starsfan26
Reply With Quote
Old 01-04-2010, 10:27 PM   #2
_r.u.s.s.
I'm not Russ
but an ex-alektorophobic
 
_r.u.s.s.'s Avatar


 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: Nitra, Slovakia
Posts: 6,533
Default

you can first try the compatibility mode

if it doesn't help you can install windows 3.11 in dosbox (this really isn't difficult!), or setup a virtual machine of some older windows .. but 3.11 on dosbox is a less bothersome choice
__________________
_r.u.s.s. is offline                         Send a private message to _r.u.s.s.
Reply With Quote
Old 01-04-2010, 11:39 PM   #3
starsfan26
Newbie

 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Posts: 2
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by _r.u.s.s. View Post
you can first try the compatibility mode

if it doesn't help you can install windows 3.11 in dosbox (this really isn't difficult!), or setup a virtual machine of some older windows .. but 3.11 on dosbox is a less bothersome choice
Where can I find compatibility mode in Windows 7? I went everywhere loking for it last night but had no luck. Maybe I didn't take that left turn at Albequerque.
starsfan26 is offline                         Send a private message to starsfan26
Reply With Quote
Old 02-04-2010, 01:15 AM   #4
_r.u.s.s.
I'm not Russ
but an ex-alektorophobic
 
_r.u.s.s.'s Avatar


 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: Nitra, Slovakia
Posts: 6,533
Default

you must stop by the big oak tree and ask the blind man for directions. if he doesn't give them out to you, you did not collect a treat for him yet. last time he accepted snickers from me


also, you need to right click the exe file and select properties, it should be in one of thsoe tabs
__________________
_r.u.s.s. is offline                         Send a private message to _r.u.s.s.
Reply With Quote
Reply


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
HOW TO UNINSTALL SIMTOWER flanelleyy Troubleshooting 1 03-07-2009 12:36 AM
Simtower Help! Alice Troubleshooting 3 24-10-2006 12:19 PM
Simtower and Windows Fisha694 Troubleshooting 3 29-08-2006 02:29 PM
Simtower In Win98se Guest_tbig Troubleshooting 0 03-04-2005 06:53 PM
Simtower technoandy Troubleshooting 2 17-12-2004 02:54 AM

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump
 


The current time is 06:26 PM (GMT)

 
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.1
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.