Go Back   Forums > Abandonia.com > Games Discussion
Memberlist Forum Rules Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read
Search Forums:
Click here to use Advanced Search

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 15-09-2010, 06:04 PM   #1
TotalAnarchy
Surviving the Dark Age
 
TotalAnarchy's Avatar



 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Chisinau, Moldova, Republic of
Posts: 3,147
Default Perfect General II

Feel free to comment and discuss this game here. Also, if you have any useful tips or tricks don't hesitate to share them with the others! Thanks!

Review and Download (if available)
__________________
Don't think about the probabilities. The smallest chance can take us a long way forward. It's not like we have anything else to lose.
TotalAnarchy is offline                         Send a private message to TotalAnarchy
Reply With Quote
Old 16-09-2010, 02:52 AM   #2
Unregistered23513451
Guest
Default Wont run :(

Quote:
Originally Posted by TotalAnarchy View Post
Feel free to comment and discuss this game here. Also, if you have any useful tips or tricks don't hesitate to share them with the others! Thanks!

Review and Download (if available)
when i try to run it (in dosbox) it tells me i need the CD in. suggestions?

on top of that when i try that, the update tells me that the directory is no good.
                       
Reply With Quote
Old 16-09-2010, 03:07 AM   #3
Unregistered23513451
Guest
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Unregistered23513451 View Post
when i try to run it (in dosbox) it tells me i need the CD in. suggestions?

on top of that when i try that, the update tells me that the directory is no good.
Got the update to run via dosbox. Still having the insert cd issue...
                       
Reply With Quote
Old 16-09-2010, 03:55 AM   #4
_r.u.s.s.
I'm not Russ
but an ex-alektorophobic
 
_r.u.s.s.'s Avatar


 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: Nitra, Slovakia
Posts: 6,533
Default

exactly how did you run it in dosbox? i just tried running it and it works without any notice of cd. i tried both mounting it via dosbox promp and drag-and-dropping it too. everything works. i even tried putting the game in a different virtual directory than c:\tpg2. really, i wonder how are you trying to run the game

are you running tgp2.exe? what's your dosbox version?

edit: i see, i tried mounting it as a D drive and it asked for a cd. mount whatever are you mounting as a C drive
__________________
_r.u.s.s. is offline                         Send a private message to _r.u.s.s.
Reply With Quote
Old 16-09-2010, 10:44 AM   #5
lechtech
Newbie

 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: Lubeck, Germany
Posts: 2
Default

got the same problem..

the game is installed in c:\games\tpg2 directory and i got dosbox 0.73

it keeps asking for the cd whatever i try..

EDIT: forgot to say that i installed the update already..
lechtech is offline                         Send a private message to lechtech
Reply With Quote
Old 16-09-2010, 11:00 AM   #6
DarthHelmet86
SuperFishMod
 
DarthHelmet86's Avatar




 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Perth, Australia
Posts: 1,830
Default

First off get Dosbox 0.74 the newest version, that always helps.

Second I just downloaded this game, unzipped it into my Dosgames folder.
Mounted, c c:\dosgames

Then cd\tpg2

Then tpg2.exe

The game ran fine, no need for an update or to enter a cd. So how are you mounting this game? We need to know so we can help you solve this problem.
DarthHelmet86 is offline                         Send a private message to DarthHelmet86
Reply With Quote
Old 16-09-2010, 12:42 PM   #7
lechtech
Newbie

 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: Lubeck, Germany
Posts: 2
Default

I got the solution now: It was the update..

I re-installed the game without using the separate update file i found here and the game works fine ( even with DosBox 0.73 ).
lechtech is offline                         Send a private message to lechtech
Reply With Quote
Old 16-09-2010, 06:07 PM   #8
Japo
Autonomous human
 
Japo's Avatar


 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: ,
Posts: 4,567
Default

I'll look into it.
__________________
Life starts every day anew. Prospects not so good...
Japo is offline                         Send a private message to Japo
Reply With Quote
Old 17-09-2010, 08:15 AM   #9
greywolf
Newbie

 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Niederrad, Germany
Posts: 3
Default

I have installed game and patch - no chance to escape the CD check.

Then I re-installed the game only - no problem.

Finally, I ran pgsetup. There you are prompted to enter the CD drive letter. When I entered D (as my DOSBOX CD drive is mounted as D: ), the CD check was back.
But then I ran pgsetup again, this time entering C as CD drive letter, and the game started fine (this trick didn't work with the patch).

Looks like the game wants to look up a certain file on the CD, and checks the base directory associated with the letter entered, be it the root of the CD drive or the working directory of the game.

Nevertheless - it would be nice to be able to use the patch.
greywolf is offline                         Send a private message to greywolf
Reply With Quote
Old 17-09-2010, 09:59 PM   #10
Japo
Autonomous human
 
Japo's Avatar


 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: ,
Posts: 4,567
Default

The problem is that the game requires the CD, in principle. The unpatched archive is cracked, but the patch undoes the crack. The updaters are discussing it.
__________________
Life starts every day anew. Prospects not so good...
Japo is offline                         Send a private message to Japo
Reply With Quote
Reply


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Perfect General, The Timoh Approved Requests 2 24-03-2008 01:51 PM
Perfect Assassin Tulac P 0 12-10-2007 06:05 PM
Perfect Assassin catchaserguns Approved Requests 3 28-09-2007 12:57 PM

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump
 


The current time is 11:27 AM (GMT)

 
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.1
Copyright ©2000 - 2021, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.