Go Back   Forums > Abandonia.com > Games Discussion
Memberlist Forum Rules Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read
Search Forums:
Click here to use Advanced Search

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 22-05-2010, 09:13 PM   #11
Sika82
Newbie

 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: ,
Posts: 4
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by _r.u.s.s. View Post
no, you need to uncheck the read only... try unchecking some files one by one and see if the option stays on them

the mark does not appear on the individual files, in folders there is a green box instead of a checkmark inside the checkbox for 'read only'

Theres like three options by clicking; clear, green box, checkmark. Im not sure if the greenbox has any function.
Sika82 is offline                         Send a private message to Sika82
Reply With Quote
Old 22-05-2010, 10:45 PM   #12
The Fifth Horseman
FUTURE SCIENCE BASTARD
 
The Fifth Horseman's Avatar


 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: Opole, Poland
Posts: 14,268
Default

Quote:
the mark does not appear on the individual files,
Select multiple files. Like: all files in the directory.
__________________

"God. Can't you people see I'm trying to commit a crime against science and nature here?"
-- Reed Richards
The Fifth Horseman is offline                         Send a private message to The Fifth Horseman
Reply With Quote
Old 23-05-2010, 03:53 AM   #13
_r.u.s.s.
I'm not Russ
but an ex-alektorophobic
 
_r.u.s.s.'s Avatar


 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: Nitra, Slovakia
Posts: 6,533
Default

the 'green box' means some files within the directory are read only, you need to uncheck them all, in subdirectories too, because i'm not sure which files/directories are needed for save games
__________________
_r.u.s.s. is offline                         Send a private message to _r.u.s.s.
Reply With Quote
Old 24-05-2010, 05:09 AM   #14
PzKfWg
Guest
Unhappy Strategy?

Hi,

Since 1996, I play this game every once and then as this is my favorite classic. After countless hours playing the game and re-re-re-reading Andrew Galley's strategy guide, I still can't seem to master the game.

I was wondering if anyone was good enough to master the 3 1999 campaigns. I have a very hard time just to get through the first scenario... Any help would be appreciated. Thank you
                       
Reply With Quote
Old 24-05-2010, 05:14 AM   #15
PzKfWg
Guest
Unhappy Strategy: scouting

To be more precise, my main problem is scouting when on offensive. If I avoid helicopters (too easy), I have a very hard time scouting the enemy, especially if it has well concealed long range ATGM where no matter how many shots it does, I can't spot them. The scenarios are too short to just send the troops on foot to scout; and troops are so vulnerable anyway. Vehicles get slaughtered. See Scenario 1 of Bulge 1999 as the perfect example.
Thanks!
                       
Reply With Quote
Old 24-05-2010, 03:54 PM   #16
dkw
Forum hobbit
 
dkw's Avatar


 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Yorktown, United States
Posts: 47
Default

To improve your chances of spotting the ATGM Teams, you have to have Infantry riding ON your Tanks. Load small RECON Squads onto your Tanks. If you are lucky, the Recon Squads will spot the ATGM Teams.

Helicopters are required, there is no safe way around it.

Your last option for spotting would be to buy a bunch of Strike Elements before deployment. Then call in 1 Air Strike to fly over and bomb the area you think the ATGM is. As the Air Strike flies by, it will spot other units as well, but that information will only last 1 turn if you don't get your other units to spots where they can also see the units.

Always keep your Tanks Front Armor pointing towards the enemy as much as possible, to minimize casualties. That means micromanaging their movement, 1 hex at a time.

Don't forget your Artillery. Have it drop Smoke in front of your main line of advance. Smoke blocks MOST units Line of Sight, but does NOT block ALL Line of Sight, specificly American Armor and Helicopters of 1980s and beyond can see through Smoke.

Also, keep your units hidden as much as possible. Keep them behind forests, hills, and buildings so they can sneak closer with fewer opportunities to be attacked.
__________________
I grew up with the games themselves, and watched many a good company disappear. If it wasn't for many dedicated people, all these games would be lost to the ravages of time.

Last edited by dkw; 24-05-2010 at 09:18 PM. Reason: more information
dkw is offline                         Send a private message to dkw
Reply With Quote
Old 08-08-2010, 07:40 PM   #17
Claire UK
Guest
Default Needs CD drive error message

Runing up against a error message in Dos Box when I try to run Steel Pather2

its accepted the command

CD Steel2

C:\steel2>steel2

Steel Pathers 2 needs a CD drive

C:\steel2

any suggestions?
                       
Reply With Quote
Old 08-08-2010, 08:17 PM   #18
dosraider
Dismembered.
 
dosraider's Avatar

 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Dixmuide, Belgium
Posts: 2,767
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Claire UK View Post
..... any suggestions?
Quote:
Originally Posted by Steel Panthers II - Modern Battles info sheet on AB
Before entering the normal commands, you must first mount a cd drive, like "mount d d:\ -t cdrom". Run the game using steel2.exe.
Maybe mount a CD drive as suggested in the game sheet?
__________________

Not a member of The Victorious People's Shoutbox Liberation Army.
Not a member of the GAG Guerrilla. Don't get A Grip!
FOR RENT
*Advertising space*
dosraider is offline                         Send a private message to dosraider
Reply With Quote
Old 08-08-2010, 08:20 PM   #19
tempusx2
Newbie
 
tempusx2's Avatar

 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: Tehachapi, United States
Posts: 8
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Claire UK View Post
Runing up against a error message in Dos Box when I try to run Steel Pather2

its accepted the command

CD Steel2

C:\steel2>steel2

Steel Pathers 2 needs a CD drive

C:\steel2

any suggestions?
Yes, mount a cd drive of your extracted SP2 files with the mount command. So you need to mount a C drive(hard drive) and a D drive (cdrom).
My Dosbox autoexec area looks like this for playing SP2.


ver set 6 20
mount C G:\DOS
mount D G:\DOS\cdrom\Sp2 -t cdrom
C:
CD STEEL2
STEEL2.EXE

Most of the video and audio are stored on the cdrom, so it's looking for it to find them.
tempusx2 is offline                         Send a private message to tempusx2
Reply With Quote
Old 03-09-2010, 04:04 AM   #20
Cycieties
Newbie
 
Cycieties's Avatar

 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: ,
Posts: 21
Default

Someone needs to upload a manual since the tutorial needs one.
Cycieties is offline                         Send a private message to Cycieties
Reply With Quote
Reply


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Steel Panthers 2 - Modern Battles incl. Campaign Disk Paco S 1 21-05-2010 08:18 AM
Steel Panthers Paco S 0 24-11-2009 03:13 PM
Steel Panthers II - Modern Battles brumby On site 4 11-10-2009 06:55 AM

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump
 


The current time is 05:07 AM (GMT)

 
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.1
Copyright ©2000 - 2021, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.