Go Back   Forums > Abandonia.com > Games Discussion
Memberlist Forum Rules Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read
Search Forums:
Click here to use Advanced Search

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 05-07-2007, 12:18 PM   #51
Grand Dad
Game Wizzard

 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: ,
Posts: 246
Post

<div class='quotetop'>QUOTE(Guest @ Mar 27 2007, 05:34 PM) [snapback]285192[/snapback]</div>
Quote:
I really didn't like this game. I liked the graphics and it had an interesting premise, but it was way too short and the different routes are very gimmicky. If the routes were much longer and represented the bulk of the game, then it would be much more interesting. Instead, they're just a few screens long. Too much of the game is focused on being in California and searching for gold. Panning for gold in the stream is especially boring. I would've enjoyed more survival and exploration instead of random luck finding gold and repeating the same action over and over.
[/b]

My dear if you don't like the game don't play it! Simple as that, but the fact remains that for old-timers like me it holds infinite memories of how I had to struggle through all the routes! While preparing for the journey was so hectic with so little time to do it k:
Grand Dad is offline                         Send a private message to Grand Dad
Reply With Quote
Old 15-08-2007, 02:53 PM   #52
tamagata
Lurker

 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: ,
Posts: 1
Default

Er I have some trouble with the game. I'm in Cali, and have entered the mines. When I try to descend the first ladder, I get an error : Out of memory Want 880, have 776.
I'm running Win98, so I'm not using DosBox, anyone know how to fix this?
tamagata is offline                         Send a private message to tamagata
Reply With Quote
Old 16-08-2007, 06:27 AM   #53
The Fifth Horseman
FUTURE SCIENCE BASTARD
 
The Fifth Horseman's Avatar


 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: Opole, Poland
Posts: 14,264
Default

Reboot into DOS and run the game from there.
__________________

"God. Can't you people see I'm trying to commit a crime against science and nature here?"
-- Reed Richards
The Fifth Horseman is offline                         Send a private message to The Fifth Horseman
Reply With Quote
Old 09-09-2007, 11:37 PM   #54
Paula
Guest
Default

Ok, maybe im a dummy, But the downloadable is only like a trial version right? i cant seem to get any further,,,( on the ship)
I played this way back in the day when it first came out, and was anxious to "pick up where i left off"
But i cant seem to find the full version for a decent price. I have ALL the kings quests which were my favs, but does anyone know a good site to buy full version?
Paula
:wallbash:
                       
Reply With Quote
Old 10-09-2007, 05:42 AM   #55
Mighty Midget
Pox Vobiscum
 
Mighty Midget's Avatar


 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: Krakeroy, Norway
Posts: 3,014
Default

All games on AB are supposed to be full-length versions. Some may lack speech files and such due to file size limits, but they should still be full length. What happens in the game that won't allow you further progress?
__________________
Je Suis Charlie
Mighty Midget is offline                         Send a private message to Mighty Midget
Reply With Quote
Old 15-10-2007, 11:16 PM   #56
FleetingBeauty
Guest
Default

I'm on the second section of my trip to california and my game stops and says "no memory. wants 2255, have 1389" is there any way to get past this? I have windows xp.
                       
Reply With Quote
Old 16-10-2007, 07:46 AM   #57
The Fifth Horseman
FUTURE SCIENCE BASTARD
 
The Fifth Horseman's Avatar


 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: Opole, Poland
Posts: 14,264
Default

Use DOSBox.
__________________

"God. Can't you people see I'm trying to commit a crime against science and nature here?"
-- Reed Richards
The Fifth Horseman is offline                         Send a private message to The Fifth Horseman
Reply With Quote
Old 18-10-2007, 02:36 PM   #58
FleetingBeauty
Guest
Default

It's me again. I used dosbox and got the game to play and started a new game but in the exact spot as the old game without dosbox, I got the same error message with the same "want" of memory and the game turned off again. Any other suggestions? I'm dying to play this game, I love it so much =)
                       
Reply With Quote
Old 04-07-2008, 08:01 AM   #59
Nikki
Newbie

 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: Vancouver, Canada
Posts: 4
Default

I have downloaded this game and been able to play it with sound but the text is all garbled in the text boxes. This also happened when I d/l Black Cauldron. Anyone got any tips on how to fix this?
Nikki is offline                         Send a private message to Nikki
Reply With Quote
Old 04-07-2008, 09:40 AM   #60
The Fifth Horseman
FUTURE SCIENCE BASTARD
 
The Fifth Horseman's Avatar


 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: Opole, Poland
Posts: 14,264
Default

Run it in DOSBox.
__________________

"God. Can't you people see I'm trying to commit a crime against science and nature here?"
-- Reed Richards
The Fifth Horseman is offline                         Send a private message to The Fifth Horseman
Reply With Quote
Reply


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Below the Root mrpeenut24 Approved Requests 18 24-09-2009 11:12 PM
Tetris Gold Luchsen Games Discussion 8 06-06-2009 01:08 PM
Going for the gold. Geezer Blah, blah, blah... 0 22-08-2008 02:30 PM
X-wing Gold & Tie Gold WildZeppelin Troubleshooting 0 18-02-2006 03:14 AM
Road Rush heLL0 Gaming Zone 7 06-11-2005 04:22 PM

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump
 


The current time is 06:31 AM (GMT)

 
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.1
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.