Go Back   Forums > Abandonia.com > Games Discussion
Memberlist Forum Rules Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read
Search Forums:
Click here to use Advanced Search

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 26-01-2007, 07:54 AM   #41
Guest_Ben_*
Guest
Default

HI - don't know if anyone is still checking this forum, but I'm wondering if anyone has found a site that can run Gold Rush or any of these old DOS games with a Mac. I'm running a brand new Macbook and this may be an absurd question, but just looking at those screenshots makes me want to run out and buy an old computer just so I can play these again.

Thanks,
                       
Reply With Quote
Old 26-01-2007, 09:19 AM   #42
Data
retired
 
Data's Avatar


 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Jan Mayen, Svalbard and Jan Mayen
Posts: 2,167
Default

Try dosbox.sf.net
it has a mac port.
__________________
Flowing with the stream of life
Data is offline                         Send a private message to Data
Reply With Quote
Old 26-01-2007, 07:09 PM   #43
Guest_Ben_*
Guest
Default

<div class='quotetop'>QUOTE(Data @ Jan 26 2007, 10:19 AM) [snapback]276540[/snapback]</div>
Quote:
Try dosbox.sf.net
it has a mac port.
[/b]

Excellent - downloaded it and it's up and running, but having trouble installing Gold Rush... or rather, I install it and it goes through the "insert disk 1" "disk 2" thing and then I am back at the prompt and I can't find a run file. Any ideas? It tries to create a "Sierra" folder, and there's a file called "GR" (which I remember is the run file from a long time ago) but I type it and just get the prompt again. Don't know if I installed it incorrectly or what.

Thanks for your help,

Ben
                       
Reply With Quote
Old 17-02-2007, 09:22 PM   #44
Aluria
Guest
Default

I'm having problems with running Goldrush. Can't get any sound at all. I followed the tutorial on using dosbox and started running the game using sierra as suggested above but no sound what so ever. Any help?
                       
Reply With Quote
Old 19-02-2007, 01:50 PM   #45
The Fifth Horseman
FUTURE SCIENCE BASTARD
 
The Fifth Horseman's Avatar


 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: Opole, Poland
Posts: 14,264
Default

Did you run the game's sound setup? Default values emulated by DosBox are:
Sound Blaster 16
IRQ 7
DMA 1
Adress 220h
__________________

"God. Can't you people see I'm trying to commit a crime against science and nature here?"
-- Reed Richards
The Fifth Horseman is offline                         Send a private message to The Fifth Horseman
Reply With Quote
Old 22-03-2007, 12:16 AM   #46
Naquai
Lurker

 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: ,
Posts: 1
Default

When I attempt to follow my mule I get the following error:

sound (21):
Sound not loaded

The sound seems to be working everywhere else.

When I get the error it shuts me down.

HELP!!!! I can not get any further without following but I can not follow.



Naquai is offline                         Send a private message to Naquai
Reply With Quote
Old 22-03-2007, 06:35 AM   #47
The Fifth Horseman
FUTURE SCIENCE BASTARD
 
The Fifth Horseman's Avatar


 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: Opole, Poland
Posts: 14,264
Default

What operating system you have? Are you using VDMSound or DosBox to run the game?
__________________

"God. Can't you people see I'm trying to commit a crime against science and nature here?"
-- Reed Richards
The Fifth Horseman is offline                         Send a private message to The Fifth Horseman
Reply With Quote
Old 27-03-2007, 12:34 PM   #48
Guest
Guest
Default

I really didn't like this game. I liked the graphics and it had an interesting premise, but it was way too short and the different routes are very gimmicky. If the routes were much longer and represented the bulk of the game, then it would be much more interesting. Instead, they're just a few screens long. Too much of the game is focused on being in California and searching for gold. Panning for gold in the stream is especially boring. I would've enjoyed more survival and exploration instead of random luck finding gold and repeating the same action over and over.
                       
Reply With Quote
Old 21-06-2007, 12:19 AM   #49
Guest
Guest
Default

The version hosted on this site is the cracked version, which is blocked from ScummVM. Can anybody direct me to the non-cracked version?
                       
Reply With Quote
Old 22-06-2007, 11:21 PM   #50
futaris
Lurker

 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: ,
Posts: 1
Default

<div class='quotetop'>QUOTE(Guest @ Jun 21 2007, 10:19 AM) [snapback]295402[/snapback]</div>
Quote:
The version hosted on this site is the cracked version, which is blocked from ScummVM. Can anybody direct me to the non-cracked version?
[/b]
I think only the "GRDIR" file has been replaced in the cracked version. See http://www.tawmis.com/collector/Misc/Goldr...Protection.html
futaris is offline                         Send a private message to futaris
Reply With Quote
Reply


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Below the Root mrpeenut24 Approved Requests 18 24-09-2009 11:12 PM
Tetris Gold Luchsen Games Discussion 8 06-06-2009 01:08 PM
Going for the gold. Geezer Blah, blah, blah... 0 22-08-2008 02:30 PM
X-wing Gold & Tie Gold WildZeppelin Troubleshooting 0 18-02-2006 03:14 AM
Road Rush heLL0 Gaming Zone 7 06-11-2005 04:22 PM

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump
 


The current time is 02:13 PM (GMT)

 
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.1
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.