Go Back   Forums > Abandonia.com > Games Discussion
Memberlist Forum Rules Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read
Search Forums:
Click here to use Advanced Search

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 15-12-2007, 11:26 PM   #501
Mr. Svinlesha
Newbie

 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 2
Default

Hey,

I just managed to get the game to work with DOSBox, I've never played it before, it looks like great fun. One question: can I get it to run full-screen? I've scanned the last ten pages or so of this thread but haven't found an answer to that question yet.

Any help greatly appreciated.

S.
Mr. Svinlesha is offline                         Send a private message to Mr. Svinlesha
Reply With Quote
Old 16-12-2007, 07:37 AM   #502
Scatty
Treasure hunter
 
Scatty's Avatar

 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Little big small world
Posts: 1,906
Default

Press ALT+Enter while in DosBox, that should switch it to full screen. Or change the dosbox.conf file with Notepad under:

[sdl]
fullscreen=false


to

[sdl]
fullscreen=true


to start DosBox each time in full screen.
Scatty is offline                         Send a private message to Scatty
Reply With Quote
Old 16-12-2007, 07:51 AM   #503
Mr. Svinlesha
Newbie

 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 2
Default

Great!

Thanks for the tip.
Mr. Svinlesha is offline                         Send a private message to Mr. Svinlesha
Reply With Quote
Old 17-12-2007, 09:10 PM   #504
Driderman
Newbie

 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: ,
Posts: 23
Default

You guys know what sucks?
Finding spellbooks for a new school of magic AFTER you started researching the Spell Of Mastery. Which will take me another 260 turns to complete, approximately. THEN I can research web

On another note, my game seems to run slowly, even though I'm using the newest version of dosbox and so forth. I've tried adjusting speed with ctrl+F12 but it's still rather sluggy. Any suggestions?
Driderman is offline                         Send a private message to Driderman
Reply With Quote
Old 18-12-2007, 12:08 AM   #505
Scatty
Treasure hunter
 
Scatty's Avatar

 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Little big small world
Posts: 1,906
Default

Is your computer the newest and fastest too?
Scatty is offline                         Send a private message to Scatty
Reply With Quote
Old 18-12-2007, 05:12 PM   #506
Japo
Autonomous human
 
Japo's Avatar


 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: ,
Posts: 4,613
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Driderman View Post
On another note, my game seems to run slowly, even though I'm using the newest version of dosbox and so forth. I've tried adjusting speed with ctrl+F12 but it's still rather sluggy. Any suggestions?
First of all, use dynamic mode instead of normal for core emulation.
Japo is offline                         Send a private message to Japo
Reply With Quote
Old 18-12-2007, 06:38 PM   #507
Driderman
Newbie

 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: ,
Posts: 23
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Japofran View Post
First of all, use dynamic mode instead of normal for core emulation.
Would it reflect poorly on me if I said I have no idea what you're talking about?
Driderman is offline                         Send a private message to Driderman
Reply With Quote
Old 18-12-2007, 09:00 PM   #508
Japo
Autonomous human
 
Japo's Avatar


 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: ,
Posts: 4,613
Default

Yes you're banned. :P

No, just edit dosbox.conf and change "core=auto" to "core=dynamic", then save. A few games crash sometimes in dynamic mode, but not MoM as far as I know.

There are other things you can do to get more speed, for example setting "aspect=" to "false".
Japo is offline                         Send a private message to Japo
Reply With Quote
Old 18-12-2007, 09:46 PM   #509
Driderman
Newbie

 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: ,
Posts: 23
Default

Right, I did as you said. Not yet sure if there's any change, as I just booted up the game but I'll soon find out. I've encountered a somewhat odd error, to say the least.
I play as High Men and have just built myself a shipyard, wanting to build a galley. But when I click the galley it is shown as an invisible ship and to have all sorts of weird abilities, like regeneration, resistance to all and meld with node, among others. When I leave the city screen, my gold and food are set to 0, my mana to -228!!! and my when I click on my cities I can't access as they register like neutral or enemy cities does.
As long as I don't click the galley there's no problem, but I'd much prefer galleys to triremes... Any ideas?
Driderman is offline                         Send a private message to Driderman
Reply With Quote
Old 19-12-2007, 12:32 AM   #510
Scatty
Treasure hunter
 
Scatty's Avatar

 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Little big small world
Posts: 1,906
Default

That might probably happen if you already can build the paladins. Not sure if that's the reason, because in the latest version of the game you simply can't see any galleys or warships anymore to be selected, but it has to do with too many units to be available for producing and not all of them fit into the selection on the right side. That happens only with High Men and some other race yet, can't remember which right now, all other races have no such problem.
Try to sell the military buildings until you can only build the pike men, and eventually the Wizard's Tower too, and see if that solves the problem with the galley.
Scatty is offline                         Send a private message to Scatty
Reply With Quote
Reply


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Master of Magic won't install earlofwessex Troubleshooting 2 21-04-2008 03:34 PM
Master Of Magic pratputajao Troubleshooting 0 03-07-2007 05:33 AM
Master Of Magic kiotee Troubleshooting 1 08-05-2006 11:49 PM
Master Of Magic TyLord Troubleshooting 1 09-04-2005 08:23 AM
Master Of Magic Multiplayer Help caesar007 Forum Games 0 22-02-2005 11:25 PM

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump
 


The current time is 09:53 AM (GMT)

 
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.1
Copyright ©2000 - 2023, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.