Go Back   Forums > Abandonia.com > Troubleshooting
Memberlist Forum Rules Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read
Search Forums:
Click here to use Advanced Search

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 30-06-2011, 10:31 PM   #1
Toofy
Newbie

 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: Wethersfield, United States
Posts: 2
Default Wing Commander Privateer

Hey all, I downloaded the iso from the iso cellar and have been trying to install it using DosBox 0.74, when I try to install it (using DaemonTools to mount the iso) in the installation screen it does not allow me to change where I install it to, just tries to install to the CD drive and I cant change it, anyone know what I can do?
Toofy is offline                         Send a private message to Toofy
Reply With Quote
Old 01-07-2011, 01:19 AM   #2
KrazeeXXL
BORG

 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Dog City, Cayman Islands
Posts: 107
Default

I had the same problem with WC4.

It's some years ago but I'm pretty sure you needed a FAT32 partition to install it.
KrazeeXXL is offline                         Send a private message to KrazeeXXL
Reply With Quote
Old 01-07-2011, 06:44 AM   #3
hunvagy
Thread Necromancer
 
hunvagy's Avatar

 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Hajduszoboszlo, Hungary
Posts: 489
Send a message via MSN to hunvagy
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Toofy View Post
Hey all, I downloaded the iso from the iso cellar and have been trying to install it using DosBox 0.74, when I try to install it (using DaemonTools to mount the iso) in the installation screen it does not allow me to change where I install it to, just tries to install to the CD drive and I cant change it, anyone know what I can do?
If you only mounted the iso, and no C drive, then there's no other destination drive the installer could choose from. Essential, your DOS would only have a CD drive and no hard drive. Did you mount a folder as the C drive?
__________________
Angelus Errare, where angels lose their way
hunvagy is offline                         Send a private message to hunvagy
Reply With Quote
Old 12-07-2011, 02:22 PM   #4
Tymas
Lurker

 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Posts: 1
Default

ok, let me say this first, THIS is my first post, thank you thank you

But i *just* installed and have been playing WC Privateer, only days ago, and i LOVE it! first of all, you have to set up mount points in DOSBox, go to the mounts tab to do so, i setup a hard drive with 500MB free, mounted as c:\*user*\privateer -t dir -freesize 500

and you also have to mount the ISO to set up, i dont use daemontool, no need for another program when DOSBox does it all for ya

i have it as ingmount D "C:\*user*\privateer.ISO" -t iso

oh, i also forgot to mention, i am using a nifty GUI for DOSBox, called DOSBox Game Launcher - love it give it a 12 rating on a scale of 1-10, its phenomenal, i have so many games setup in it, and they run beautifully, the GUI allows you to change the hardware with a nice GUI and none of this text editor junk =p

but that's how i got Privateer to work for me - sorry, i dont remember the site's URL off hand for the DOSBox gamel launcher, but use google, that's what its there for.

Have a good day fellow gamer!
Tymas is offline                         Send a private message to Tymas
Reply With Quote
Old 15-10-2011, 12:39 AM   #5
dumbo0815
Newbie

 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Posts: 7
Default Privateer ISO Broken !

hello

about the directory/install problem

the privateer iso here is damaged !!
(someone modified the iso so it is useless !!!)


i own the cd version
and it is labeled "priv"

not "wc" like the iso here
and on the iso form iso cellar are additional cfg files dated from 2008 which don't belong onto the cd !!!


with normal iso u can select a directory where to install the game
and default is c:\privateer
with the broken iso here default is same as iso drive and u cannot change it

the iso here is broken and useless !


i will upload a working iso tomorrow
dumbo0815 is offline                         Send a private message to dumbo0815
Reply With Quote
Reply


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Wing Commander - Privateer [GoG] Anonymous Invalid Requests 25 02-06-2011 09:00 PM
Wing Commander - Privateer - Righteous Fire Ieremiou Approved Requests 15 02-06-2010 04:33 AM
Wing Commander Privateer firehawk455 Tech Corner 11 22-05-2005 03:58 AM
Trouble With Wing Commander :privateer Hkizzle Troubleshooting 19 18-05-2005 05:40 PM

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Forum Jump
 


The current time is 06:21 AM (GMT)

 
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.1
Copyright ©2000 - 2023, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.