Go Back   Forums > Community Chatterbox > Tech Corner
Memberlist Forum Rules Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read
Search Forums:
Click here to use Advanced Search

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 07-02-2008, 07:44 PM   #1
madcrow
Forum hobbit

 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Boston, United States
Posts: 36
Default Your dream DOS box...

If you could have any classic PC model for DOS gaming use, what would it be?

Mine would have to be the IBM PS/2 Model 95 with the "Type 4" CPU complex (the Socket 7 version)...
madcrow is offline                         Send a private message to madcrow
Reply With Quote
Old 07-02-2008, 08:03 PM   #2
The Coop
Super Freak
 
The Coop's Avatar

 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Truxton, United States
Posts: 151
Send a message via AIM to The Coop
Default

This is an area I know little about, as I didn't get my first PC until May of 2001 with Windows ME. The money simply was never there until then. Most of my friends didn't own an IBM either, as their systems were C64s, C128s, Amigas and Tandy's... few of which I ever actually got to play anything on. My first PC-ish thing was my Atari XE, which I still have (and play games on). I know it had an early version of DOS made for it, but I never got it, so I did most of my tinkering in Atari Basic.

Anyway, there's my short story. Since ME didn't have a true DOS environment, I didn't use that aspect of it too much. As a result, DOSBox was my first real taste of DOS a few years ago. So really, I've no clue what a dream DOS box would be :amused:

Last edited by The Coop; 07-02-2008 at 11:51 PM.
The Coop is offline                         Send a private message to The Coop
Reply With Quote
Old 07-02-2008, 08:20 PM   #3
Geezer
Abandonia Homie
 
Geezer's Avatar

 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Brooklyn, United States
Posts: 667
Default

Any 486 with at least 4 ISA slots. I have a Compaq Pentium 90 that works pretty well. It only has two ISA slots, though.
__________________
"The gadfly has returned! Thou simpering, whining stable dropping. I have defeated thee repeatedly and still thou darest crawl back for more punishment. Chastise thee I shall. Thy stature is insignificant and thy name moronic. Brother to the vole! Offspring of money grubbing know nothings!" ... Spellcraft: Aspects of Valor
Geezer is offline                         Send a private message to Geezer
Reply With Quote
Old 07-02-2008, 08:57 PM   #4
madcrow
Forum hobbit

 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Boston, United States
Posts: 36
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by JMB View Post
Any 486 with at least 4 ISA slots. I have a Compaq Pentium 90 that works pretty well. It only has two ISA slots, though.
Why so many ISA slots? PCI (and even AGP) graphics cards seem to work great in DOS. It's just sound cards that are a pain in the ass...
madcrow is offline                         Send a private message to madcrow
Reply With Quote
Old 07-02-2008, 09:41 PM   #5
Geezer
Abandonia Homie
 
Geezer's Avatar

 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Brooklyn, United States
Posts: 667
Default

My 486 had sound, video, network and modem. PCI wasn't out yet when the 486 was introduced. Some of the later 486 machines could have had PCI I guess. Not sure. When I say ISA I should probably be saying ISA/EISA.

AGP was later. There was a bus named VLB, I believe, that was a high speed alternative to ISA.
__________________
"The gadfly has returned! Thou simpering, whining stable dropping. I have defeated thee repeatedly and still thou darest crawl back for more punishment. Chastise thee I shall. Thy stature is insignificant and thy name moronic. Brother to the vole! Offspring of money grubbing know nothings!" ... Spellcraft: Aspects of Valor
Geezer is offline                         Send a private message to Geezer
Reply With Quote
Old 07-02-2008, 10:31 PM   #6
madcrow
Forum hobbit

 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Boston, United States
Posts: 36
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by JMB View Post
My 486 had sound, video, network and modem. PCI wasn't out yet when the 486 was introduced. Some of the later 486 machines could have had PCI I guess. Not sure. When I say ISA I should probably be saying ISA/EISA.

AGP was later. There was a bus named VLB, I believe, that was a high speed alternative to ISA.
I knew that. I was talking about why you would need 4 ISA slots on the P90? VLB was basially to ISA what AGP was to PCI: a high-speed modification designed for video cards...
madcrow is offline                         Send a private message to madcrow
Reply With Quote
Reply


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
A dream Kugerfang Blah, blah, blah... 26 08-08-2008 10:00 AM
Elephants Dream plague Blah, blah, blah... 10 20-05-2006 08:51 PM
Dream Talk TheChosen Blah, blah, blah... 37 21-11-2005 02:02 PM

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump
 


The current time is 05:31 AM (GMT)

 
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.1
Copyright ©2000 - 2023, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.