Go Back   Forums > Community Chatterbox > Tech Corner
Memberlist Forum Rules Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read
Search Forums:
Click here to use Advanced Search

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 17-01-2012, 02:23 PM   #1
yoga
10 GOSUB Abandonia
20 GOTO 10
 
yoga's Avatar

 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Asenovgrad, Bulgaria
Posts: 2,518
Talking Skyrim video problem

Hi, all,
I installed and started my new Skyrim game. Nice.
But because of poor video ram of my Video card ATI Radeon 300/550/1050 Series - 128 MB game started but stopped.
The minimal game requirements of video RAM are 512 MB.

Principal questions:
Is it possible to buy another 384 MB Ram and add to available 128 MB on the chip or not?
If the above variant is impossible would be so kind recommend me another good video card?

Thank You for your help and time.

yoga
__________________
Do not make personal remarks - said Alice.
yoga is offline                         Send a private message to yoga
Reply With Quote
Old 17-01-2012, 03:00 PM   #2
DarthHelmet86
SuperFishMod
 
DarthHelmet86's Avatar




 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Perth, Australia
Posts: 1,830
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Japo View Post
The minimum system requirements for PC TESV are as follows…
• Windows 7/Vista/XP PC, 32 or 64 bit
• Dual Core 2.0GHz or equivalent processor
• 2GB System RAM
• 7GB free HDD Space
• Direct X 9.0c compliant video card with 512 MB of RAM
• Internet access for Steam activation
Yoga have you actually checked your PC against this list? How many other parts of this list does your computer not meet? Not to mention for anyone to be able to help you they are going to need to know everything about your PCs hardware.

And no you can not get 384mb of ram added to your graphics card...that is not a number ram comes in and you can't add ram to video cards normally.
DarthHelmet86 is offline                         Send a private message to DarthHelmet86
Reply With Quote
Old 17-01-2012, 03:07 PM   #3
Paco
10 GOSUB Abandonia
20 GOTO 10
 
Paco's Avatar



 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Zurich, Switzerland
Posts: 2,988
Send a message via ICQ to Paco Send a message via MSN to Paco Send a message via Yahoo to Paco
Default

you can check if your System meet the Requirement of the Game or not here.
__________________
Legends will never die.

Check here for Maps i made
Paco is offline                         Send a private message to Paco
Reply With Quote
Old 18-01-2012, 06:09 AM   #4
hunvagy
Thread Necromancer
 
hunvagy's Avatar

 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Hajduszoboszlo, Hungary
Posts: 489
Send a message via MSN to hunvagy
Default

- Direct X 9.0c compliant video card with 512 MB of RAM

Would also point out that though this line never mentions it, ever since Fallout 3 the Gamebyro requires a DX9 card with Shader 2.0b support. Notice the b at the end, so Radeons older then say an X700 are out of the game.
__________________
Angelus Errare, where angels lose their way
hunvagy is offline                         Send a private message to hunvagy
Reply With Quote
Old 18-01-2012, 06:39 AM   #5
yoga
10 GOSUB Abandonia
20 GOTO 10
 
yoga's Avatar

 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Asenovgrad, Bulgaria
Posts: 2,518
Talking Danke

Quote:
Originally Posted by Paco View Post
you can check if your System meet the Requirement of the Game or not here.

My deepest thanks for your kind, competent and prompt help to You both!

OK.
My System information for PC:
Version: 6.1.7. 7600 build 7600
OS: Win 7 Ultimate, 32-bit
Processor: AMD Semprom Processor 2500+, 1406MHz, 1core, 1 Locigal Processor
SMBIOS version: 2.3
Total ph. Memory:1,5 GB RAM

Monitor:
21 inches
MyltiSinc LCD 2170NX

Optical mouse

My actions:
1.The game TES V Skyrim was installed without problems.
2.Was created shortcut on the desktop of the file Skyrim Launcher.exe
3.Click on above shortcut.
4.B&W window appeared: With
Play
Option
Data files – non active
Tech support
Exit
5.Click on Play
6.The following note appeared: Failed to initialize renderer. ShaderModel3 requirement but not supported by your video card. OK. Enter ….and Kaput
__________________
Do not make personal remarks - said Alice.

Last edited by yoga; 18-01-2012 at 08:29 AM.
yoga is offline                         Send a private message to yoga
Reply With Quote
Old 18-01-2012, 07:38 AM   #6
The Fifth Horseman
FUTURE SCIENCE BASTARD
 
The Fifth Horseman's Avatar


 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: Opole, Poland
Posts: 14,264
Default

... And that just proves my point people need to learn to READ the minimum system requirements for their games. And that automatic system spec tests should be a mandatory part of the installation process.
Bottom line? You don't have a "graphics" problem. You have a "not meeting the minimum specs" problem. Your graphics card, RAM and CPU are well below minimum requirements for the game. That PC was outdated five years ago, and it's even doubtful you could upgrade it to meet the specs needed for Skyrim (hard to say for sure without knowing the exact motherboard make and model).
Quote:
Originally Posted by yoga View Post
My System information for PC:
Version: 6.1.7. 7600 build 7600
OS: Win 7 Ultimate, 32-bit
Processor: AMD Semprom Processor 2500+, 1406MHz, 1core, 1 Locigal Processor
SMBIOS version: 2.3
Total ph. Memory:1,5 GB RAM
__________________

"God. Can't you people see I'm trying to commit a crime against science and nature here?"
-- Reed Richards

Last edited by The Fifth Horseman; 18-01-2012 at 08:41 AM.
The Fifth Horseman is offline                         Send a private message to The Fifth Horseman
Reply With Quote
Old 19-01-2012, 05:00 AM   #7
yoga
10 GOSUB Abandonia
20 GOTO 10
 
yoga's Avatar

 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Asenovgrad, Bulgaria
Posts: 2,518
Default

Sure.
But in year 2011 with this outdated PC I did 12 games:

1.Ultima Underworld II - The labyrinth of worlds
2.Ravenloft
3.Stone Prophet
4.Elder Scrolls 2 – Daggerfall
5.Fallout 2
6.Fallout 1
7.LBA 1
8.Baldur Gate 1
9.Baldur Gate 2
10.IWD 1
11.IWD 2 (last battle still to be done)
12.Elder Scrolls 1 - Arena

Anyway I will find the solution of my hardware problem: or upgrade of the whole system or something ...
__________________
Do not make personal remarks - said Alice.
yoga is offline                         Send a private message to yoga
Reply With Quote
Old 19-01-2012, 05:48 AM   #8
hunvagy
Thread Necromancer
 
hunvagy's Avatar

 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Hajduszoboszlo, Hungary
Posts: 489
Send a message via MSN to hunvagy
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by yoga View Post
Sure.
But in year 2011 with this outdated PC I did 12 games:

1.Ultima Underworld II - The labyrinth of worlds
2.Ravenloft
3.Stone Prophet
4.Elder Scrolls 2 – Daggerfall
5.Fallout 2
6.Fallout 1
7.LBA 1
8.Baldur Gate 1
9.Baldur Gate 2
10.IWD 1
11.IWD 2 (last battle still to be done)
12.Elder Scrolls 1 - Arena

Anyway I will find the solution of my hardware problem: or upgrade of the whole system or something ...
There is no or. You will have to upgrade if you want to play Skyrim, because your computer doesn't meet the minimum requirements. Not the recommended, but the least you need to play. The Shader error message just proves that even if you had enough VRAM your card wouldn't be able to run Skyrim. As for the nice list you compiled, none of the games require the computing power that Skyrim does, actually all of them are around 10 years older then your computer, so I kinda fail to see your point. And just a general tip for you, if you ask for help, then bloody read and comprehend the answers, not just nod and write something completely different. Or if you don't care, then don't ask.
__________________
Angelus Errare, where angels lose their way
hunvagy is offline                         Send a private message to hunvagy
Reply With Quote
Old 19-01-2012, 06:57 AM   #9
The Fifth Horseman
FUTURE SCIENCE BASTARD
 
The Fifth Horseman's Avatar


 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: Opole, Poland
Posts: 14,264
Default

Quote:
But in year 2011 with this outdated PC I did 12 games
That's not the point. Nobody argues that your PC can run games published in lat 90's and early 2000's. But that doesn't mean anything for its' ability to run recent games, as evidenced by Skyrim.
__________________

"God. Can't you people see I'm trying to commit a crime against science and nature here?"
-- Reed Richards
The Fifth Horseman is offline                         Send a private message to The Fifth Horseman
Reply With Quote
Reply


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
DosBox 0.74 video codec problem yoga Tech Corner 4 22-06-2011 05:44 PM
Nvidia video card with video-in support Pellaeon Tech Corner 5 01-07-2009 07:24 PM
Music Video Help ReamusLQ Blah, blah, blah... 0 03-08-2007 06:10 AM
Video Graphics Problem! vipin Tech Corner 4 24-02-2006 05:19 PM
Spilitting Video Sameeralord Tech Corner 4 07-07-2005 12:22 AM

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump
 


The current time is 05:48 PM (GMT)

 
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.1
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.