Go Back   Forums > Abandonia.com > Troubleshooting
Memberlist Forum Rules Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read
Search Forums:
Click here to use Advanced Search

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 29-05-2005, 01:07 PM   #1
iratefive
Newbie

 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: ,
Posts: 7
Default

Okay I am downloading a copy of Pax Imperium II from HOTU and it says in the tech notes it is a CD Rip version.....

Can some kind soul give me a step by step process on how to get this bad boy up and running?
iratefive is offline                         Send a private message to iratefive
Reply With Quote
Old 29-05-2005, 01:18 PM   #2
BeefontheBone
10 GOSUB Abandonia
20 GOTO 10
 
BeefontheBone's Avatar

 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Leeds, England
Posts: 2,166
Default

first up, you should be asking hotu not us - we're different sites, you know. secondly that shouldn't be a problem - just means it was taken from the CD (possibly with some of the movies etc removed to save space), and thirdly wouldn't it have been an idea to try and get it going yourself before asking for help?
BeefontheBone is offline                         Send a private message to BeefontheBone
Reply With Quote
Old 29-05-2005, 01:41 PM   #3
omg
Games Master

 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: ,
Posts: 303
Default

agreeing with beef here man, jus search the hotu tech help forum, dont use more than one word for the search though.
omg is offline                         Send a private message to omg
Reply With Quote
Old 29-05-2005, 03:56 PM   #4
iratefive
Newbie

 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: ,
Posts: 7
Default

I was talking in general about CD ripped games...I have gotten a number of them that tell me to put the CD in. It seemed to me that the forums here have a higher level of knowledge then HOTU..sorry to have asked.
iratefive is offline                         Send a private message to iratefive
Reply With Quote
Old 29-05-2005, 04:00 PM   #5
Eagle of Fire
Friendly Fire
 
Eagle of Fire's Avatar

 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: Valleyfield, Canada
Posts: 4,892
Default

It really depend for each CD-Rip since they are all similar but ripped differently. More often than not there is an help file which come with the rip (sometimes not .txt) which should explain to you how to make it work.

If it's a .cue, .bin or similar file you should burn the CD yourself before playing the game.
__________________
I'm on a hot streak... Literally.
Proud member of The Abandoned since 2005.
Eagle of Fire is offline                         Send a private message to Eagle of Fire
Reply With Quote
Old 29-05-2005, 05:06 PM   #6
BeefontheBone
10 GOSUB Abandonia
20 GOTO 10
 
BeefontheBone's Avatar

 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Leeds, England
Posts: 2,166
Default

It'll vary from game to game like EoF says. You can also mount the .cue files with Daemon tools or in DOSBox to save burning a CD if it is a CD image.
BeefontheBone is offline                         Send a private message to BeefontheBone
Reply With Quote
Old 29-05-2005, 06:12 PM   #7
omg
Games Master

 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: ,
Posts: 303
Default

also some games need patches to allow cd location under nfts , may sound odd but for
dos games for which i have the cd to just get the installer running i ususally have to make an image, mount it into deaomon tools then install it via deomen tools, then install a patch so the game can find the cd image to verify copyright ...
not often it happens, but it happens
omg is offline                         Send a private message to omg
Reply With Quote
Old 29-05-2005, 08:02 PM   #8
Eagle of Fire
Friendly Fire
 
Eagle of Fire's Avatar

 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: Valleyfield, Canada
Posts: 4,892
Default

That would be called a "crack", not a "patch".
__________________
I'm on a hot streak... Literally.
Proud member of The Abandoned since 2005.
Eagle of Fire is offline                         Send a private message to Eagle of Fire
Reply With Quote
Old 29-05-2005, 11:39 PM   #9
iratefive
Newbie

 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: ,
Posts: 7
Default

Bah I ended up hitting the wrong thing doing the download from HOTU and get like seven segments going at once and they banned me for a week or so LOL.

I got ranked Enemy of the Site...so now I have to wait to try all the advice

Thanks for the help anyway
iratefive is offline                         Send a private message to iratefive
Reply With Quote
Old 30-05-2005, 12:02 AM   #10
omg
Games Master

 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: ,
Posts: 303
Default

OMG when they say 1 download at a time they mean it.

LOL about having to crack games i own the original cds for, dam xp, im getting temepted to go back to a duel boot sys, with a win 95, or 98 drive for old school dx games.
omg is offline                         Send a private message to omg
Reply With Quote
Reply


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
What Is Ripped? Vip Content? caffeine Old Suggestions 9 22-11-2005 07:29 PM

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Forum Jump
 


The current time is 07:32 AM (GMT)

 
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.1
Copyright ©2000 - 2022, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.