Go Back   Forums > Abandonia.com > Games Discussion
Memberlist Forum Rules Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read
Search Forums:
Click here to use Advanced Search

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 04-12-2010, 02:09 PM   #121
Professor Oak
Home Sweet Abandonia
 
Professor Oak's Avatar


 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: Now Only:$349.95, Japan
Posts: 939
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Guest View Post
I am trying to install the game but it won't let me.
I am running windows vista 64-bit.
I have copied all the system files into my system32 file.

However i still get the original error:

"application has failed to start because WING32.dll was not found."

Just to check i'm am not making a fundamental error, to instal the game, I am clicking on the file labeled:
"GMP2" and it is an "application" and the size is "1,614Kb"

Is this the correct way to install the game?

Thanks.
Here is your solution, enjoy!
Professor Oak is offline                         Send a private message to Professor Oak
Reply With Quote
Old 04-12-2010, 02:14 PM   #122
Guest
Guest
Default Help please!

Hey Professor Oak,

I've just tried the solution. I tried installing wing10, and i got this message:

"This version of this file is not compatible with the version of Windows your're running. Check your computers system information to see whether you need and x86 (32-bit) or x64 (64-bit) version of the program, and then contact the software publisher."

What should I do now?

I am assuming i would need a 64-bit, given that my Vista is 64bit?

Thanks for the help. I can't wait to play this game again.
                       
Reply With Quote
Old 04-12-2010, 03:09 PM   #123
dosraider
Dismembered.
 
dosraider's Avatar

 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Dixmuide, Belgium
Posts: 2,767
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Guest View Post
I am running windows vista 64-bit.
VPC 2007
__________________

Not a member of The Victorious People's Shoutbox Liberation Army.
Not a member of the GAG Guerrilla. Don't get A Grip!
FOR RENT
*Advertising space*
dosraider is offline                         Send a private message to dosraider
Reply With Quote
Old 04-12-2010, 03:16 PM   #124
Guest
Guest
Default Help please!

Quote:
Originally Posted by dosraider View Post
Ok thanks. What do I do with this now?

I get that it creates a 'virtual pc' allowing me to emulate any operating system.

What do I do etc. and how do I run the game through it? If that is what I am to do.

Thanks.
                       
Reply With Quote
Old 04-12-2010, 03:27 PM   #125
Guest
Guest
Default Help please!

Also, for some reason when I go to instal the VPC, it comes up with a warning that I am not running a supported operating system.

But right clicking on 'My Computer' it tells me I am running:

"Windows Vista Home Premium" 64-bit Operating System.

Any ideas?

Thanks.
                       
Reply With Quote
Old 04-12-2010, 03:28 PM   #126
Guest
Guest
Default Help please!

Quote:
Originally Posted by Guest View Post
Also, for some reason when I go to instal the VPC, it comes up with a warning that I am not running a supported operating system.

But right clicking on 'My Computer' it tells me I am running:

"Windows Vista Home Premium" 64-bit Operating System.

Any ideas?

Thanks.

But it allows me to continue to install the program. Is this ok?
                       
Reply With Quote
Old 04-12-2010, 03:28 PM   #127
dosraider
Dismembered.
 
dosraider's Avatar

 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Dixmuide, Belgium
Posts: 2,767
Default

You download VPC2007 for 64 bit Windows, install it, and then you also need W98SE or XP to install in virtual PC.
Once that done you can run most of them old games in it without problems.
A few that needs full 3D support won't run in it as VPC doesn't support real 3D, but luckily most games from that era can run in what's usually called 'software mode' or similar.

A fast testrun on Vista 64/XPC2007/W98SE with GPM2 shows that it runs flawless.




I just was to lazy to set W98SE desktop res to 640x480, but VPC can also run full screen if wanted.

[Edit]
Quote:
Originally Posted by Guest View Post
Also, for some reason when I go to instal the VPC, it comes up with a warning that I am not running a supported operating system.
You may ignore that warning, I'm on ultimate, but have already installed it on home 64 bits, it works.
It's just that MS likes to sell the costly high end versions.
__________________

Not a member of The Victorious People's Shoutbox Liberation Army.
Not a member of the GAG Guerrilla. Don't get A Grip!
FOR RENT
*Advertising space*
dosraider is offline                         Send a private message to dosraider
Reply With Quote
Old 04-12-2010, 03:58 PM   #128
Guest
Guest
Default Help please!

[quote=dosraider;418372]You download VPC2007 for 64 bit Windows, install it, and then you also need W98SE or XP to install in virtual PC.

Here are you just talking about selecting W98 from the list when selecting operating system when creating my new virtual machine?

And do I create a new virtual harddisk?

Then how do I install the game?

The anticipation and excitment is killing me now.

Thanks
                       
Reply With Quote
Old 04-12-2010, 04:02 PM   #129
Guest
Guest
Default Help please!

I have tried starting the VPC, and I have got the black screen and it says:

"Reboot and select proper boot device or insert boot media in selected boot device"

Thanks
                       
Reply With Quote
Old 04-12-2010, 04:23 PM   #130
The Fifth Horseman
FUTURE SCIENCE BASTARD
 
The Fifth Horseman's Avatar


 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: Opole, Poland
Posts: 14,268
Default

There is no 64-bit version. WinG has been discontinued after DirectX 1 was released.
The best thing I could suggest is that you use DOSBox combined with this: http://www.abandonia.com/vbullet/sho...48&postcount=2
(but read the instructions...)
__________________

"God. Can't you people see I'm trying to commit a crime against science and nature here?"
-- Reed Richards
The Fifth Horseman is offline                         Send a private message to The Fifth Horseman
Reply With Quote
Reply


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Can't Play Grand Prix Manager 2 Mark A. Troubleshooting 8 04-03-2015 02:34 PM
Grand Prix 2 racer Approved Requests 2 28-03-2010 05:56 PM
Grand Prix Manager 2 And M A X Richard Troubleshooting 4 10-12-2007 05:51 AM
Grand Prix 500 2 Tom Henrik Games Discussion 10 10-08-2007 08:23 AM
Grand Prix Manager darkstyl Approved Requests 3 28-03-2006 06:58 PM

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump
 


The current time is 08:22 AM (GMT)

 
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.1
Copyright ©2000 - 2021, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.