Go Back   Forums > Community Chatterbox > Tech Corner
Memberlist Forum Rules Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read
Search Forums:
Click here to use Advanced Search

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 30-04-2005, 09:22 AM   #1
chickenman
Hero Gamer

 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Shella, Kenya
Posts: 417
Thumbs down

As the topic title says i can't get my mouse to work in MS-DOS, why i don't know but not long ago my restore CD for the computer broke as well so i had to you an old crappy Windows 98 second edition CD to reinstall.

So i had to get all my drivers again i don't think i got the mouse one because i don't know who made the mouse so all i am after is a mouse driver that will work with any windows mouse and work well in MS-DOS.
chickenman is offline                         Send a private message to chickenman
Reply With Quote
Old 30-04-2005, 11:54 AM   #2
NrmMyth
Hero Gamer

 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: ,
Posts: 454
Default

I'm not sure that DOS supports mouse, also remmember that I used mouse only under Norton Commander.
__________________
Never mess with me when I have a cougar, Never!
NrmMyth is offline                         Send a private message to NrmMyth
Reply With Quote
Old 30-04-2005, 11:59 AM   #3
Data
retired
 
Data's Avatar


 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Jan Mayen, Svalbard and Jan Mayen
Posts: 2,167
Default

well try cutemouse
cutemouse.sf.net

but if you have an usb mouse you are out of luck. as dos doesn't usb very well.
__________________
Flowing with the stream of life
Data is offline                         Send a private message to Data
Reply With Quote
Old 30-04-2005, 11:07 PM   #4
Ioncannon
Abandonia Homie

 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Mississauga, Canada
Posts: 558
Send a message via MSN to Ioncannon
Default

MS-DOS needs a mouse driver to detect your mouse. I sent the driver to kosta hoping he puts it on the driver page. Anyways, http://www.oldfiles.org.uk/powerload...ad/mouse82.exe and open the file. Take mouse.com, put it in your windows folder. Now (I am not sure if 98 has it, anyway) open up autoexec with a text editor, or edit.exe and direct a path to the driver. (ie
c:\windows\mouse.com) I am not sure if it detects usb but it does detect com and ps/2
Ioncannon is offline                         Send a private message to Ioncannon
Reply With Quote
Old 01-05-2005, 06:46 AM   #5
dr_st
Abandonia nerd

 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: ,
Posts: 98
Default

Cutemouse is a better driver.
dr_st is offline                         Send a private message to dr_st
Reply With Quote
Old 01-05-2005, 08:08 AM   #6
Jman4117
Game freak

 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: ,
Posts: 149
Default

and if you have a usb mouse...ps/2's are $8 at Walmart :P
Jman4117 is offline                         Send a private message to Jman4117
Reply With Quote
Old 01-05-2005, 08:25 PM   #7
win98
In the loop on hardware.
 
win98's Avatar

 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Wellington, New Zealand
Posts: 890
Default

CUTEMOUSE IS BETTER if you want it email mephilipmartelli@yahoo.co.nz it is on my pc some where.
win98 is offline                         Send a private message to win98
Reply With Quote
Old 01-05-2005, 09:01 PM   #8
Ioncannon
Abandonia Homie

 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Mississauga, Canada
Posts: 558
Send a message via MSN to Ioncannon
Default

the one I gave was the officail Microsoft mouse driver... never tried cute mouse...
Ioncannon is offline                         Send a private message to Ioncannon
Reply With Quote
Old 02-05-2005, 10:54 AM   #9
chickenman
Hero Gamer

 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Shella, Kenya
Posts: 417
Default

Thanks Ioncannon, i will try it out later
chickenman is offline                         Send a private message to chickenman
Reply With Quote
Old 03-05-2005, 01:35 PM   #10
Omuletzu
10 GOSUB Abandonia
20 GOTO 10

 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Shella, Kenya
Posts: 1,529
Send a message via MSN to Omuletzu Send a message via Yahoo to Omuletzu
Default

Cutemouse is the best
Omuletzu is offline                         Send a private message to Omuletzu
Reply With Quote
Reply


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
My Mouse Doesn't Work In Space Crusade! UG Troubleshooting 3 24-01-2024 05:49 PM
Mouse dosn't work in Dosbox elwadi Troubleshooting Archive 2 06-02-2008 01:06 PM
Slow Mouse Poppa Troubleshooting 2 05-07-2006 09:19 AM
Settlers 2 -> Mouse Doesn't Work loga Troubleshooting 1 29-03-2006 11:31 AM
Help! I Cant Get My Mouse To Work With Dos Box Gotthavok Troubleshooting 4 01-10-2005 12:09 AM

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump
 


The current time is 08:23 AM (GMT)

 
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.1
Copyright ©2000 - 2024, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.