Go Back   Forums > Abandonia.com > Troubleshooting
Memberlist Forum Rules Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read
Search Forums:
Click here to use Advanced Search

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 11-09-2008, 11:43 PM   #1
Tamrhind
Newbie

 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: Abbotsford, Australia
Posts: 19
Default New game. Any Ideas?

Picked up a CDROM of "Microcosm" - by all appearances, based on Asimov's novel (& follow-up movie) "Fantastic Voyage" about a micromini-sub travelling through a body. Seems it might be a worthwhile game.
Except I cant Install it! It either doesn't recognise the directory I put want to put it in (D:\DOS, already extant) or it says I need to install MSCDEX. Since I'm using DosBox on XP, this shouldn't be a prob., should it?

For info, I attach part of dosconf:

"[fullscreen=false
fulldouble=true
fullfixed=false
fullresolution=800x600
output=surface
hwscale=1.00
autolock=true
sensitivity=100
waitonerror=true
priority=higher,normal
mapperfile=mapper.txt

[dosbox]
language=
machine=vga
captures=capture
memsize=64

[render]
frameskip=15
aspect=false
scaler=normal2x

[cpu]
core=dynamic
cycles=5000
cycleup=200
cycledown=200"

Thanks in advance
Tamrhind is offline                         Send a private message to Tamrhind
Reply With Quote
Old 12-09-2008, 12:03 AM   #2
DoomYoshi
Abandonia nerd
 
DoomYoshi's Avatar

 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Saint Catharines, Canada
Posts: 56
Default

NVM... perhaps I should research before I post

Last edited by DoomYoshi; 12-09-2008 at 12:16 AM.
DoomYoshi is offline                         Send a private message to DoomYoshi
Reply With Quote
Old 12-09-2008, 12:12 AM   #3
_r.u.s.s.
I'm not Russ
but an ex-alektorophobic
 
_r.u.s.s.'s Avatar


 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: Nitra, Slovakia
Posts: 6,533
Default

well mobygames said that there's also a dos version? are you sure it's dos version, tamrhind?

also, what exactly was you typing out when trying to install it? what drive letter is your cdrom?
__________________
_r.u.s.s. is offline                         Send a private message to _r.u.s.s.
Reply With Quote
Old 12-09-2008, 05:10 AM   #4
dosraider
Dismembered.
 
dosraider's Avatar

 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Dixmuide, Belgium
Posts: 2,767
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Tamrhind View Post
.....or it says I need to install MSCDEX. Since I'm using DosBox on XP, this shouldn't be a prob., should it?
Typical message for a wrong CD mount, did you even mount your CD drive?
That game apparently need the CD.

-> mount a virtual C: and
-> mount your CD drive as D:
mount d x:\ -t cdrom

Replace the x:\ by your real CD drive letter under windows.

Install the game from d: on c: IN dosbox.

BTW, weren't you the one on a crappy PC? Then you'd better make an ISO from your CD and mount that one, works a bit faster in dosbox.
You mount your image as this:
imgmount d x:\path\image.iso -t iso
Or if you use bin/cue:
imgmount d x:\path\image.cue -t iso

[Edit]
BTW, edit your dosboxconf and set:
core=auto
cycles=max
__________________

Not a member of The Victorious People's Shoutbox Liberation Army.
Not a member of the GAG Guerrilla. Don't get A Grip!
FOR RENT
*Advertising space*

Last edited by dosraider; 12-09-2008 at 05:16 AM. Reason: It's raining.
dosraider is offline                         Send a private message to dosraider
Reply With Quote
Old 12-09-2008, 02:03 PM   #5
Tamrhind
Newbie

 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: Abbotsford, Australia
Posts: 19
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by dosraider View Post
Typical message for a wrong CD mount, did you even mount your CD drive?
That game apparently need the CD.

-> mount a virtual C: and
-> mount your CD drive as D:
mount d x:\ -t cdrom

Replace the x:\ by your real CD drive letter under windows.

Install the game from d: on c: IN dosbox.

BTW, weren't you the one on a crappy PC? Then you'd better make an ISO from your CD and mount that one, works a bit faster in dosbox.
You mount your image as this:
imgmount d x:\path\image.iso -t iso
Or if you use bin/cue:
imgmount d x:\path\image.cue -t iso

[Edit]
BTW, edit your dosboxconf and set:
core=auto
cycles=max
As far as I know, I've done all that; never had any probs with DB before (except with Daggerfall but that's another tale).

Here's my Autoexec:

"[autoexec]
# Lines in this section will be run at startup.
mount C C:\
mount D D:\DOS\ -freesize 512
mount E E:\ -t cdrom ioctl
[imgmount d x:\path\image.iso -t iso] *just added now*
D:
CLS"
Tamrhind is offline                         Send a private message to Tamrhind
Reply With Quote
Old 12-09-2008, 02:56 PM   #6
dosraider
Dismembered.
 
dosraider's Avatar

 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Dixmuide, Belgium
Posts: 2,767
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Tamrhind View Post
"[autoexec]
# Lines in this section will be run at startup.
mount C C:\
mount D D:\DOS\ -freesize 512
mount E E:\ -t cdrom
[imgmount d x:\path\image.iso -t iso] *just added now*
D:
CLS"
You mount a virtual C: first as harddrive,
then you mount over that a virtual D: as harddrive,
then you mount a CDdrive as E:
and over that you mount a image as CD drive D:


mount C D:\DOS\ -freesize 512
mount D E:\ -t cdrom

Or
mount C D:\DOS\ -freesize 512
[imgmount d x:\path\image.iso -t iso] *just added now*

would be more like it, so you will have a virtual C:as harddrive and D: as CDdrive.
And please get rid of that CLS, so you would see the dosbox devs put
Don't mount your real C: as C in dosbox or something shouting right in ya face, and for good reasons.
That -ioctl is pretty useless with dosbox 0.72, and if you're on Vista it's -noioctl you will -(MAYBE)- need NOT -ioctl.
__________________

Not a member of The Victorious People's Shoutbox Liberation Army.
Not a member of the GAG Guerrilla. Don't get A Grip!
FOR RENT
*Advertising space*

Last edited by dosraider; 12-09-2008 at 02:59 PM.
dosraider is offline                         Send a private message to dosraider
Reply With Quote
Reply


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Ideas for AB game Saccade Programming 72 30-05-2010 12:21 PM
Ideas For A Game TheChosen Gaming Zone 3 13-07-2009 10:21 PM
Ideas? DOSGamar Programming 8 20-12-2006 01:26 AM
Any Ideas? Skumpaq Blah, blah, blah... 18 15-09-2005 12:24 PM

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Forum Jump
 


The current time is 06:34 AM (GMT)

 
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.1
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.