Go Back   Forums > Abandonia.com > Troubleshooting
Memberlist Forum Rules Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read
Search Forums:
Click here to use Advanced Search

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 04-10-2009, 04:40 PM   #1
Glyphstone
Newbie

 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: Philadelphia, United States
Posts: 3
Default Ascendancy - Cannot Find CD

Reposted out of the General Ascendancy thread, to here where it's more appropriate:



I'd love to be able to play Ascendancy again, it was one of the highlights of my long-ago gaming past, but it doesn't seem to be working. I downloaded and installed the game, downloaded DOSBOX, and followed the excellent how-to guide for setting it up. It worked perfectly, attempting to run Ascendancy exactly how my XP computer does - including the CD check, where it aborted and told me to insert my Ascendancy CD. I'm pretty sure this means I need to follow the alternate DOSBOX setup where it reads off a CD-image, but does anyone know where to find one?
Glyphstone is offline                         Send a private message to Glyphstone
Reply With Quote
Old 05-10-2009, 06:49 AM   #2
Eagle of Fire
Friendly Fire
 
Eagle of Fire's Avatar

 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: Valleyfield, Canada
Posts: 4,892
Default

The games on Abandonia are usually already preinstalled. There is no need to install them or to use strange subterfuge.

If memory serve well, you simply need to either hit enter or ignore the error message. However, I also clearly remember that you should not have this kind of problem with our version of Ascendancy since it works fine in Windows XP, without the use of DOSBox. And I also regularly used DOSBox to play Ascendancy to get over the slow mouse problem, so I know that it works flawlessly without problems. Which lead me to think that you either try to run another version of this game, downloaded elsewhere, or you are trying to run Ascendancy thru an original disk.

If you still have problems then please post back describing in details how you tryied to run the game. This will help us to find out if you did something wrong with DOSBox.

-EoF
__________________
I'm on a hot streak... Literally.
Proud member of The Abandoned since 2005.
Eagle of Fire is offline                         Send a private message to Eagle of Fire
Reply With Quote
Old 05-10-2009, 09:11 AM   #3
_r.u.s.s.
I'm not Russ
but an ex-alektorophobic
 
_r.u.s.s.'s Avatar


 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: Nitra, Slovakia
Posts: 6,533
Default

weird, just mounted the ascendancy directory as c, ran ascend.exe and it just worked
__________________
_r.u.s.s. is offline                         Send a private message to _r.u.s.s.
Reply With Quote
Old 05-10-2009, 09:42 AM   #4
dosraider
Dismembered.
 
dosraider's Avatar

 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Dixmuide, Belgium
Posts: 2,767
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Glyphstone View Post
.... I downloaded and installed the game ....
It's ready to run in dosbox.
__________________

Not a member of The Victorious People's Shoutbox Liberation Army.
Not a member of the GAG Guerrilla. Don't get A Grip!
FOR RENT
*Advertising space*
dosraider is offline                         Send a private message to dosraider
Reply With Quote
Old 11-10-2009, 02:15 AM   #5
Glyphstone
Newbie

 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: Philadelphia, United States
Posts: 3
Default

Sorry, I should have used more accurate wording - I downloaded and extracted the game as-is. When I referred to my XP machine, I meant that the game functions fine there, including the CD check, but since I actually have said CD in the drive when using that machine (currently several states away from me), it works. Specifically, I followed these steps:

1) Downloaded Ascendancy from this website, Abandonia.com....I've never found it available for download anywhere else.
2) Extracted it into a new folder, C:\OLDGAMES
3) Downloaded and installed DOSBOX 0.73.
4) Ran DOSBOX, and obeyed the excellent wiki-help guide to mount C:\OLDGAMES as my local C: Drive. I followed the guide verbatim, except for substituting ASCEND wherever the example guide uses TESTDRIV, and substituting ASCEND.EXE in place of TDGCA.EXE.
5) Followed the wiki's instructions through C: to C:\ASCEND, the directory storing ASCEND.EXE.

5) Tried to run Ascend.exe, and it functioned perfectly, right up until the part where it checks for the CD, and since it did not find said CD, it dumped me right back to my C:\> prompt without any opportunity to ignore or skip it.
Glyphstone is offline                         Send a private message to Glyphstone
Reply With Quote
Old 11-10-2009, 07:12 AM   #6
dosraider
Dismembered.
 
dosraider's Avatar

 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Dixmuide, Belgium
Posts: 2,767
Default

And what about this?
Quote:
Originally Posted by Glyphstone View Post
Cool site - I loved how much fluff went into the manual, and you've copied a lot of it in.

unfortunately, your fix doesn't seem to work for me, so I'm doing something wrong. I edited the .CFG file with HTML-KIT 292 to read the following:

ASCEND00.COB
ASCEND01.COB
ASCEND02.COB
E:\DATA\ASCEND02.COB

and it still wants the CD to run it. I also tried

ASCEND00.COB
ASCEND01.COB
ASCEND02.COB

removing Line 4 entirely, but the problem persisted.
Once again I repeat: the game runs fine in dosbox as is downable from AB.
The only thing I changed was the folder name, from ascedancy to ascend.
No problem whatsoever.
To conclude:
Delete your old folder and start over from scratch, you screwed up the cfg file.

[Edit]
Also tested: you even can dragdrop ascend.exe on the dosbox shortcut.
__________________

Not a member of The Victorious People's Shoutbox Liberation Army.
Not a member of the GAG Guerrilla. Don't get A Grip!
FOR RENT
*Advertising space*

Last edited by dosraider; 11-10-2009 at 07:19 AM.
dosraider is offline                         Send a private message to dosraider
Reply With Quote
Old 13-10-2009, 05:49 AM   #7
Eagle of Fire
Friendly Fire
 
Eagle of Fire's Avatar

 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: Valleyfield, Canada
Posts: 4,892
Default

The only thing I could say more to what already been said is that you should make sure that your unarchiver also create and unarchive subdirectories which could be included in the archive.

I did it countless times with a lot of different DOSBox versions in the past, including the newest version. It works with DOSBox as is.
__________________
I'm on a hot streak... Literally.
Proud member of The Abandoned since 2005.
Eagle of Fire is offline                         Send a private message to Eagle of Fire
Reply With Quote
Old 27-10-2009, 01:06 AM   #8
The_Glyphstone
Guest
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by dosraider View Post
And what about this?


Once again I repeat: the game runs fine in dosbox as is downable from AB.
The only thing I changed was the folder name, from ascedancy to ascend.
No problem whatsoever.
To conclude:
Delete your old folder and start over from scratch, you screwed up the cfg file.

[Edit]
Also tested: you even can dragdrop ascend.exe on the dosbox shortcut.
Really?

Hey, it worked. Problem solved then, thanks!
                       
Reply With Quote
Old 27-10-2009, 04:35 AM   #9
The Glyphstone
Guest
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by The_Glyphstone View Post
Really?

Hey, it worked. Problem solved then, thanks!
Sigh, forgot to log in, so I can't edit my above post or delete it.

Game is now working very smoothly, but I'd like to crank up the difficulty with the Antagonizer AI patch. After I copy Antag.exe into the ASCEND folder as instructed, is there anything special I'll have to do to make it work with the drag-and-drop method that dosraider pointed out? Do I keep drag-and-dropping ASCEND onto Dosbox, or do I have to drag-and-drop the Antag application instead?
                       
Reply With Quote
Old 27-10-2009, 05:46 AM   #10
The Fifth Horseman
FUTURE SCIENCE BASTARD
 
The Fifth Horseman's Avatar


 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: Opole, Poland
Posts: 14,264
Default

ANTAG.
__________________

"God. Can't you people see I'm trying to commit a crime against science and nature here?"
-- Reed Richards
The Fifth Horseman is offline                         Send a private message to The Fifth Horseman
Reply With Quote
Reply


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Ascendancy Kosta Games Discussion 615 16-10-2018 10:12 AM
Ascendancy I Mod legolas558 Programming 6 24-07-2012 06:05 AM
Ascendancy issue nate091878 Troubleshooting 7 08-01-2009 01:58 PM
Ascendancy jakepi Troubleshooting 3 15-02-2007 08:25 PM

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Forum Jump
 


The current time is 06:59 PM (GMT)

 
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.1
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.