Go Back   Forums > Abandonia.com > Games Discussion
Memberlist Forum Rules Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read
Search Forums:
Click here to use Advanced Search

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 25-10-2011, 05:14 PM   #11
MrFlibble
Hero Gamer
 
MrFlibble's Avatar

 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Weiherhof, Germany
Posts: 496
Default

Yay, thankees!
__________________
FED2k Forums - Westwood Studios' Dune games and more
MrFlibble is offline                         Send a private message to MrFlibble
Reply With Quote
Old 25-10-2011, 07:15 PM   #12
Japo
Autonomous human
 
Japo's Avatar


 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: ,
Posts: 4,507
Default

There was another DirectX version for Windows 95 reportedly from id Soft over there, but I'm not going to upload it or recommend it. I managed to run it in Vista x64 (LOL!), forcing resolution to 640x480 in the compatibility tab, but the aspect ratio was wrong (presumably because the game is 320x200?), and there was a blank space below the image, and a blinking rectangle surrounding all of it. Oddly enough, when I tried to run in in Windows 95 inside Virtual PC at 640x480, there was no image whatsoever--although the game was running, judging from the sound. Admittedly I didn't try very hard with VPC, I suppose it should be possible to run it.

The DOS version is run like a dream within DOSBox by any modern computer, and then there are the decent fan-made source ports.
__________________
Life starts every day anew. Prospects not so good...

Last edited by Japo; 25-10-2011 at 10:13 PM.
Japo is offline                         Send a private message to Japo
Reply With Quote
Old 26-10-2011, 05:09 PM   #13
RRS
(Gaming) History Buff
 
RRS's Avatar


 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: Gdansk, Poland
Posts: 586
Default

I was playing recently the collector's edition (Win 95 port), on WinXP the only bug I noticed was with spectres/invisibility, and this was solved via -emulate command line parameter.
http://doom.wikia.com/wiki/Doom95
RRS is offline                         Send a private message to RRS
Reply With Quote
Old 28-10-2011, 06:57 PM   #14
Japo
Autonomous human
 
Japo's Avatar


 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: ,
Posts: 4,507
Default

I only had to change the resolution in that ugly starter form that I hadn't bothered to look. I see you can also change the resolution. Now it works in my Vista x64! So I think I'll upload it too.

This was programmed for the first or second version of DirectX and, except that it allows resolutions that aren't even supported any longer, it still works as intended. Amazing backwards compatibility. By the way...



PS: Bill Gates sucks at Doom...
__________________
Life starts every day anew. Prospects not so good...

Last edited by Japo; 28-10-2011 at 07:44 PM.
Japo is offline                         Send a private message to Japo
Reply With Quote
Old 28-10-2011, 08:05 PM   #15
TheChosen
"I" in the Team
 
TheChosen's Avatar

 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Lappeenranta, Finland
Posts: 2,236
Default

But at least he's playing it on a superior computer
TheChosen is offline                         Send a private message to TheChosen
Reply With Quote
Old 28-10-2011, 11:04 PM   #16
Japo
Autonomous human
 
Japo's Avatar


 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: ,
Posts: 4,507
Default

It's bound to be a top notch computer by 1995 standards. Probably up to 32 MB of RAM...?

And he's wearing a trench coat, that's what I too always imagined Mars marines would wear in campaign.

By the way, this Windows port wasn't made by id Software as I presumed, but by Microsoft themselves, to promote Windows 95 and DirectX. #TheMoreYouKnow
__________________
Life starts every day anew. Prospects not so good...
Japo is offline                         Send a private message to Japo
Reply With Quote
Old 29-10-2011, 09:28 AM   #17
Scatty
Treasure hunter
 
Scatty's Avatar

 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Little big small world
Posts: 1,860
Default

He still sucks at Doom. He's using cheats. What a shame.

If you set in DosBox a variable "DMXOPTION" with one of the two possible options "-opl3" and "-phase" before starting the game, and using any of the Soundblaster cards for music, you'll get better music or sound.
Since the music in Doom, it seems, was programmed for original Soundblaster OPL2 MIDI emulation, that's what the game uses by default, but the option "-opl3" enhanced the Soundblaster MIDI a bit so it sounds better. The option "-phase" makes the stereo of sound effects a bit more extreme and surround-like, which is best noticeable if you're using headphones.
You might probably be able to use both options but not sure if it will work then. I always use only "-phase" since I use the Sound Canvas option for music card.

The correct writing of the command would be as follows:
set dmxoption=-phase
or
set dmxoption=-opl3
or
set dmxoption=-opl3-phase (in case you would want to try using both options)

This variable with the two options also works in Doom II, Strife, Heretic and maybe Hexen, with even stronger noticeable effect than in original Doom especially in Heretic. In other words, in all games which used the Doom engine.
Scatty is offline                         Send a private message to Scatty
Reply With Quote
Old 29-10-2011, 04:24 PM   #18
Japo
Autonomous human
 
Japo's Avatar


 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: ,
Posts: 4,507
Default

I'd guess this was the first time whoever recorded that was playing Doom, and probably the last one. This guy is better:

__________________
Life starts every day anew. Prospects not so good...
Japo is offline                         Send a private message to Japo
Reply With Quote
Old 18-09-2012, 04:33 PM   #19
RRS
(Gaming) History Buff
 
RRS's Avatar


 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: Gdansk, Poland
Posts: 586
Default

Speaking of recording: do you remember Doom supported recording own replays ("demos") to a file?
Do you recall any other game with similar feature - other than those I listed here?

The recent years took a toll on my playing capabilities, but at least I still remember how to play Doom - today I've finished Episode 1 in one sitting, without saving, at Ultra-Violence skill. For a moment I felt ~18 years younger...
RRS is offline                         Send a private message to RRS
Reply With Quote
Old 04-10-2012, 09:43 PM   #20
SpiDoL
Game Wizzard

 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: Traverse City, United States
Posts: 261
Default

First off:
I'M BACK!

Back on topic:
We need to fix the Source Ports section on the info page. Skulltag (which I recommended for playing DOOM online) has been discontinued, so I need to replace it with its successor, Zandronum.

Zandronum
A port that allows you to play DOOM online with people around the world:
http://zandronum.com/

I also wanna throw in three other source ports:

ZDOOM
The granddaddy of all DOOM source ports:
http://zdoom.org/News

DOOMsday (a.k.a. JDOOM)
Like Risen3D, but has multiplayer and support for more graphic and audio mods:
http://dengine.net/

ZDaemon
Another online version of DOOM in case you don't like Zandronum:
http://www.zdaemon.org/

How soon do you think the section can be updated?
SpiDoL is offline                         Send a private message to SpiDoL
Reply With Quote
Reply


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Doom 2 Kosta Games Discussion 59 21-06-2008 05:31 PM
Doom Vs Doom 3 verek_22 Gaming Zone 47 23-09-2007 01:32 AM
Gl Doom 2 HighProtein Forum Games 0 05-01-2006 11:07 PM

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump
 


The current time is 03:02 PM (GMT)

 
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.1
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.