Go Back   Forums > Community Chatterbox > Tech Corner
Memberlist Forum Rules Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read
Search Forums:
Click here to use Advanced Search

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 25-12-2005, 08:31 PM   #1
troop18546
Home Sweet Abandonia

 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Kaunas, Lithuania
Posts: 1,016
Default

OK. I'm trying to make a backup of a game protected by StarForce (I hate them already). Every saftware recorder I use - fails.
Are there any recording software out there that can make an exact cd copy, so that StarForce doesn't give me the same "insert the disk into another drive" bullsh*t??? :blink:
troop18546 is offline                         Send a private message to troop18546
Reply With Quote
Old 25-12-2005, 08:52 PM   #2
Tulac
Union Leader



 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Zagreb, Croatia
Posts: 1,867
Default

Sorry dude this'll get closed, in the meantime try sd4hide...
__________________
[14-12, 16:08] TotalAnarchy: but the greatest crime porn has done is the fact that it's all fake and emotionless, that's why I prefer anime hentai frankly
Tulac is offline                         Send a private message to Tulac
Reply With Quote
Old 26-12-2005, 07:03 AM   #3
gregor
Home Sweet Abandonia
 
gregor's Avatar

 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: Agalli, Albania
Posts: 1,021
Default

I have bought settlers 3 cause i liked that game so much. i liked to play it in multiplayer mode with my bro as well as single player. i am not sure if they are protected but i treated them as they were. and since for me they are really a great game i decided to make a backup of their CD's (just to be on the safe side). so i dont' think that troops request is unusual.


You can copy a CD using a programe called CDClone. This program can copy protected CD's as well. But it's ment to be used for backing up, not for copying illegal software.

__________________
Crantius Colto: Fear not. You are safe here with me.
Lifts-Her-Tail: I must finish my cleaning, sir. The mistress will have my head if I do not!
Crantius Colto: Cleaning, eh? I have something for you. Here, polish my spear.
Lifts-Her-Tail: But it is huge! It could take me all night!
Crantius Colto: Plenty of time, my sweet. Plenty of time.
From The Lusty Argonian Maid by Crassius Curio found in TES3: Morrowind
gregor is offline                         Send a private message to gregor
Reply With Quote
Old 26-12-2005, 08:35 AM   #4
troop18546
Home Sweet Abandonia

 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Kaunas, Lithuania
Posts: 1,016
Default

The game is a fully bought, licensed and original cd as they come.
All I want, is to make a copy for backup, so that the original cd is not damaged by playing too much (Max Payne got a cyclic redundancy error after 30 installs and 4 years in a row playing experiences).

Only problem here, is that I don't know how to create backups of StarForce protected games. It is really p*ssing me off :tai: . I've tried CloneCD - nothing. Tried Alcohol 120, but nothing. Somewhere I've read that you have to configure Alcohol in the options for protected games to be copied 1 on 1.

I don't see a problem making a backup copy for myself, not for illegalnessnessness. :whistle:

So, a little help there? Anyone??? :help:
troop18546 is offline                         Send a private message to troop18546
Reply With Quote
Old 26-12-2005, 02:50 PM   #5
troop18546
Home Sweet Abandonia

 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Kaunas, Lithuania
Posts: 1,016
Default

Ok ok ok... :whistle:

I officialy HATE StarForce, if anyone knows a way around it. Let me know by PM or posting here. :tai:

Just... just...F*CK!!! :ranting:
troop18546 is offline                         Send a private message to troop18546
Reply With Quote
Old 27-12-2005, 12:35 AM   #6
Titan
Gnome
 
Titan's Avatar

 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: Mullsj, Sweden
Posts: 1,602
Send a message via ICQ to Titan Send a message via MSN to Titan Send a message via Skype™ to Titan
Default

Aaaaaanyway... Your problem is this:

Even if you make an exact 1 to 1 copy and burn it, there might still be some differences.

I was helped by Atari's support to make a copy of Civ3, as the law here in sweden states i can copy it for personal starage regardless of what any other company tries to tell you with theire copyright-laws.

The problem was the copy-protection.

Making the copy was no problem.

Getting the program to accept it was different.

Someone above sugested sd4hide. I'd say give it a go if the game uses SafeDisc vers. 4, as the first thing the game will do when it starts, is to scan the systems IDE/SCSI-busses for phantom-drives (eg mounted drives).

Alcohol's forum is a goldmine for bypassing copy-protection, and I usualy read there whenever i have a problem with backing up any of my discs.
If you searh them for the specific game, i can assure you someone else have had the same problem, and probably figured out how to solve it.

No copy-protection is impassable.. if they where, you wouldn't be able to read the disc.
__________________
Meh....
Titan is offline                         Send a private message to Titan
Reply With Quote
Old 27-12-2005, 08:49 AM   #7
The Niles
10 GOSUB Abandonia
20 GOTO 10

 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: Shella, Kenya
Posts: 1,578
Default

Try searching for a program called "star*meep*er". Also you might want to take a look at a site called http://www.gamecopyworld.com/. There is information on how to beat the starforce copy protection. That is indeed the most effective on the market at the moment. It requires unmounting your CD/DVD drives if I recall correctly but it can be done.
__________________
Rabyd Rev -- 2 Timothy 2:15
The Niles is offline                         Send a private message to The Niles
Reply With Quote
Old 27-12-2005, 09:20 AM   #8
_r.u.s.s.
I'm not Russ
but an ex-alektorophobic
 
_r.u.s.s.'s Avatar


 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: Nitra, Slovakia
Posts: 6,533
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by danny
but if it get damaged because of some dirt or anything else while your computer is reading it (read: when you are playing) then cd's can be damaged only by playing
it's not just playng, it's just playng in non-ideal world with "dirts or something"=)


bt

Quote:
Someone above sugested sd4hide. I'd say give it a go if the game uses SafeDisc vers. 4, as the first thing the game will do when it starts, is to scan the systems IDE/SCSI-busses for phantom-drives (eg mounted drives).
once i had program which hid al your phantom drives, but i can't remember name..
__________________
_r.u.s.s. is offline                         Send a private message to _r.u.s.s.
Reply With Quote
Reply


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Making New Topic _r.u.s.s. Tech Corner 4 24-10-2006 02:55 PM
Orginial Copies Of Disks Fonzy Old Suggestions 0 17-02-2006 06:01 PM
Making Exact Copies Of Software bazbazbaz Tech Corner 2 29-10-2005 11:10 AM
Making An Rpg. Vince Gaming Zone 6 13-09-2005 10:00 AM
Making Ms-dos Bootdisk win98 Troubleshooting 7 26-04-2005 09:48 PM

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump
 


The current time is 12:47 PM (GMT)

 
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.1
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.