Go Back   Forums > Community Chatterbox > Tech Corner
Memberlist Forum Rules Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read
Search Forums:
Click here to use Advanced Search

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 16-02-2008, 09:22 PM   #1
Tulac
Union Leader



 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Zagreb, Croatia
Posts: 1,867
Default Routers and port forwarding

Well I got two PC's and I use uTorrent 1.7.7 as a client on both.

I used port forwarding on my router to assure connectivity (in uTorrent) but the problem is that only the desktop PC is connectible and the laptop is not. I tried changing ports and IP adresses but nothing helps, also I tried turning off the firewall but nothing.

Rest of the internet works fine on both.

Anyone can help me out here?
Tulac is offline                         Send a private message to Tulac
Reply With Quote
Old 16-02-2008, 09:26 PM   #2
_r.u.s.s.
I'm not Russ
but an ex-alektorophobic
 
_r.u.s.s.'s Avatar


 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: Nitra, Slovakia
Posts: 6,533
Default

since your nb has different mac, maybe you forgot to setup something in your rooter settings
__________________
_r.u.s.s. is offline                         Send a private message to _r.u.s.s.
Reply With Quote
Old 19-02-2008, 06:46 AM   #3
Japo
Autonomous human
 
Japo's Avatar


 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: ,
Posts: 4,546
Default

If torrents work in one computer but not in other and both are under the same router, and even disabling the (router's?) firewall didn't help, I guess it's likely that the problem isn't with the router. Are both Windows machines, what firewall do you use in them?
__________________
Life starts every day anew. Prospects not so good...
Japo is offline                         Send a private message to Japo
Reply With Quote
Old 19-02-2008, 07:48 AM   #4
Icewolf
Il Lupone
 
Icewolf's Avatar

 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Teufelsbruck, Germany
Posts: 1,338
Send a message via ICQ to Icewolf
Default WOW! You still have that problem?!

We already talked about that ... like ... eight months ago? :confused:

Japo has a point here:
Your router releases the IPs by DHCP, right? You tried to switch the ports and give manual IP adresses to check the connection.
If the problem stays with the laptop the prob has to be on the laptop.
Here's something:
There was this workstation in the domain at work and it would always refuse to keep up the Citrix-connection (ica-protocol).
Solution was replacing the facy ass onboard network card (with an integrated FW and loads of shitty stuff) with a usual network card.
Now, replacing the NW-card on a laptop is difficult... PCMCIA could be a solution...?

Hope this helps.
__________________
Icewolf is offline                         Send a private message to Icewolf
Reply With Quote
Old 19-02-2008, 08:56 AM   #5
Japo
Autonomous human
 
Japo's Avatar


 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: ,
Posts: 4,546
Default

It may be a difficult problem or a simple one. Even if you're using only the Windows firewall, if it's set to "not allow exceptions" it will block all incoming requests. Exceptions must be allowed, and of course your torrent client (µTorrent) must be in the exceptions list.
__________________
Life starts every day anew. Prospects not so good...
Japo is offline                         Send a private message to Japo
Reply With Quote
Old 20-02-2008, 12:39 PM   #6
Tulac
Union Leader



 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Zagreb, Croatia
Posts: 1,867
Default

Yeah it's on the exceptions list and it isn't even turned on anyway.

BTW I also have a problem in LAN via that router. My desktop PC recognizes and can manipulate all the shared folders on the laptop but that isn't possible vice versa, it says access denied when I tried to do the same from laptop to desktop.

What bugs me is that I used that laptop on a another LAN and there it recognized and shared files normally. (didn't try internet there, it was a lan party)

Last edited by Tulac; 20-02-2008 at 12:42 PM.
Tulac is offline                         Send a private message to Tulac
Reply With Quote
Old 20-02-2008, 12:57 PM   #7
Geezer
Abandonia Homie
 
Geezer's Avatar

 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Brooklyn, United States
Posts: 667
Default

Edited: Stupid request.

Doesn't your port forwarding setup force all traffic over that port to one IP address? Mine does. Maybe I am missing something here.
__________________
"The gadfly has returned! Thou simpering, whining stable dropping. I have defeated thee repeatedly and still thou darest crawl back for more punishment. Chastise thee I shall. Thy stature is insignificant and thy name moronic. Brother to the vole! Offspring of money grubbing know nothings!" ... Spellcraft: Aspects of Valor
Geezer is offline                         Send a private message to Geezer
Reply With Quote
Old 20-02-2008, 01:07 PM   #8
Tulac
Union Leader



 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Zagreb, Croatia
Posts: 1,867
Default

Nope I can forward different ports to different ip adresses. For example:

192.168.1.45 to port 56784
192.168.1.78 to port 48305
Tulac is offline                         Send a private message to Tulac
Reply With Quote
Old 20-02-2008, 01:11 PM   #9
Geezer
Abandonia Homie
 
Geezer's Avatar

 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Brooklyn, United States
Posts: 667
Default

Ok, I'm with you now. I thought you were trying to monitor the same port on two different PCs.

Obviously you have changed the configuration of each client to lock into the specific port that is being forwarded from the router. (turned off randomizing) Have you tried reversing the port listening configuration between the two machines? Did the problem stay on the laptop even under the other forwarded port configuration?

Are you using Norton on the laptop?
__________________
"The gadfly has returned! Thou simpering, whining stable dropping. I have defeated thee repeatedly and still thou darest crawl back for more punishment. Chastise thee I shall. Thy stature is insignificant and thy name moronic. Brother to the vole! Offspring of money grubbing know nothings!" ... Spellcraft: Aspects of Valor
Geezer is offline                         Send a private message to Geezer
Reply With Quote
Old 20-02-2008, 03:12 PM   #10
Icewolf
Il Lupone
 
Icewolf's Avatar

 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Teufelsbruck, Germany
Posts: 1,338
Send a message via ICQ to Icewolf
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by JMB View Post
[...]Are you using Norton on the laptop?
That would explain a lot!!! :laugh:

If you are releasing a folder on your laptop, you have to allow the network-users access. Otherwise it won't work. Don't just release the folder, check the authorisations.

BTW are you using WIN XP home or professional?
__________________
Icewolf is offline                         Send a private message to Icewolf
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump
 


The current time is 12:33 PM (GMT)

 
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.1
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.