Go Back   Forums > Community Chatterbox > Tech Corner
Memberlist Forum Rules Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read
Search Forums:
Click here to use Advanced Search

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 08-04-2006, 08:22 PM   #1
win98
In the loop on hardware.
 
win98's Avatar

 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Wellington, New Zealand
Posts: 890
Default

Okay this ani't about cpu but I have made a list on what you need to make certian versions of windows fly on hardware with a certian amount of ram I did not have time for cpu speed but the minum requirements are not what you want to use.
windows 3.11 and Ms-dos 6.22 16-24MB Ram
Windows 95 osr 2.5 32MB RAM use 64MB if you have the spare ram it is a minor speed increase
Windows 98SE 128MB Ram huge optimistation 96MB Ram little optimisation 64mb little as well 32mb optimsiation is a must 16mb don't even think about it
WindowsME 128mb ram more If you need sercirity software
Windows NT4 96MB 128 If you want to run lots of things at once.
Windows 2000 256MB
Windows XP 256MB Ram basic 512MB Advanced 1024MB Extream.
win98 is offline                         Send a private message to win98
Reply With Quote
Old 10-04-2006, 07:02 PM   #2
The Fifth Horseman
FUTURE SCIENCE BASTARD
 
The Fifth Horseman's Avatar


 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: Opole, Poland
Posts: 14,270
Default

Win 3.1 & DOS work perfectly on 4 MB of RAM.
Win95 will work on 4, but 8 is a big leap in its speed.
Win98SE runs fast on 128 MB... BUT 256 is even better.
__________________

"God. Can't you people see I'm trying to commit a crime against science and nature here?"
-- Reed Richards
The Fifth Horseman is offline                         Send a private message to The Fifth Horseman
Reply With Quote
Old 11-04-2006, 04:47 AM   #3
win98
In the loop on hardware.
 
win98's Avatar

 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Wellington, New Zealand
Posts: 890
Default

O okay but windows 98 only needs 128mb to be fast 256mb is for powerusers and they would run win2000 or xp.
win98 is offline                         Send a private message to win98
Reply With Quote
Old 12-04-2006, 09:50 AM   #4
The Fifth Horseman
FUTURE SCIENCE BASTARD
 
The Fifth Horseman's Avatar


 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: Opole, Poland
Posts: 14,270
Default

Neh. 2K is notorious for its compatibility problems, and XP would turtle.
256 MB is good when you are doing a few things at once, for example running a P2P client (eMule in my case) and several browser windows.
__________________

"God. Can't you people see I'm trying to commit a crime against science and nature here?"
-- Reed Richards
The Fifth Horseman is offline                         Send a private message to The Fifth Horseman
Reply With Quote
Old 12-04-2006, 10:40 AM   #5
Rogue
10 GOSUB Abandonia
20 GOTO 10
 
Rogue's Avatar

 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Afrim, Albania
Posts: 2,113
Default

Calculation is easy:

more memory = less pagefile use = faster performance

MS-DOS and Win311 / Wfw3.11 all work fine with 32MB/64MB.
Rogue is offline                         Send a private message to Rogue
Reply With Quote
Old 12-04-2006, 04:05 PM   #6
chickenman
Hero Gamer

 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Shella, Kenya
Posts: 417
Default

Windows XP works best with 2GB of RAM, Windows Vista 2-3GB
chickenman is offline                         Send a private message to chickenman
Reply With Quote
Old 12-04-2006, 04:07 PM   #7
Icewolf
Il Lupone
 
Icewolf's Avatar

 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Teufelsbruck, Germany
Posts: 1,338
Send a message via ICQ to Icewolf
Default

AFAIK Win XP is not able to use use more than 1 GB of RAM.
At least so I was told so...
__________________
Icewolf is offline                         Send a private message to Icewolf
Reply With Quote
Old 12-04-2006, 04:12 PM   #8
chickenman
Hero Gamer

 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Shella, Kenya
Posts: 417
Default

Windows XP can use far more than 1GB
chickenman is offline                         Send a private message to chickenman
Reply With Quote
Old 12-04-2006, 04:31 PM   #9
Icewolf
Il Lupone
 
Icewolf's Avatar

 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Teufelsbruck, Germany
Posts: 1,338
Send a message via ICQ to Icewolf
Default

Quote:
Windows XP can use far more than 1GB
Oh, really?
My workmate told me that everything above 1GB RAM would slow XP down because of some sort of memory management error...
He read that in a IT-news page. Have you heard something like that?
__________________
Icewolf is offline                         Send a private message to Icewolf
Reply With Quote
Old 12-04-2006, 04:53 PM   #10
plix
Game freak

 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: ,
Posts: 113
Default

XP has a hard limit of 4GB which is a hardware limitation as well as a software one. 32 bit processors simply cannot address more than 4GB (2^32 bits) and while I believe there are some Intel-specific extensions to deal with enlarging the address space, I double checked the Microsoft documentation of the issue and all 32b versions of Windows are still subject to this limit.

While the address size increases considerably with 64 bit processors (to the tune of 18 exabytes), I'm fairly certain that 64b Windows imposes a far lower software-level limit.
plix is offline                         Send a private message to plix
Reply With Quote
Reply


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Can Someone Guide Me? ianfreddie07 Tech Corner 8 20-11-2007 04:23 PM
dosbox guide help noob needs help Troubleshooting 4 29-10-2007 05:09 PM
X64 - A Guide For Fools Abi79 Tech Corner 5 26-06-2007 09:57 PM
The Guide Grinder General compatibility fixes 19 08-01-2007 08:01 PM
Windows Xp - Windows Explorer Search Braindead Tech Corner 2 05-01-2005 09:41 PM

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump
 


The current time is 07:21 AM (GMT)

 
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.1
Copyright ©2000 - 2021, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.