Go Back   Forums > Abandonia.com > Troubleshooting
Memberlist Forum Rules Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read
Search Forums:
Click here to use Advanced Search

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 17-02-2006, 10:57 PM   #1
AVls
Guest
Default

Hello. I just recently pulled an old computer of mine back out and reinstalled Win98 on it so that I could run older games without having to worry about emulation problems. When I first reinstalled, my recovery disk made two logical partitions on my HD, C: and D: and it set my CDROM drive to G:. After trying to install Stonekeep from within Windows, and then getting an error during sound setup about missing files, I figured that Stonekeep was probably looking at the D drive instead of G. So I removed my D: partition and reassigned my CDROM drive to D:. But now when I boot into DOS I get an "Invalid Drive Specification" when I try to change to D:. I've edited my autoexec.bat and config.sys files for DOS and I have support for everything I should, I believe. Here are copies of those files:


AUTOEXEC.BAT
------------------
SET WINBOOTDIR=C:\WINDOWS
LH C:\WINDOWS\AU30DOS.COM
@ECHO OFF
LH /L:1 C:\DOS\MOUSE.COM
SET BLASTER=A220 I5 D3 T4
PROMPT $P$G
REM
REM The following lines have been created by Windows. Do not modify them.
REM
C:
CD C:\WINDOWS
CALL C:\WINDOWS\COMMAND.COM
C:\WINDOWS\WIN.COM /WX


CONFIG.SYS
---------------
NUMLOCK=ON
BREAK=ON
DOS=HIGH,UMB,NOAUTO
FILESHIGH=40
FCBSHIGH=1,0
BUFFERSHIGH=30,0
LASTDRIVEHIGH=J
STACKSHIGH=9,256

DEVICE=C:\DOS\HIMEM.SYS /V
DEVICE=C:\DOS\EMM386 RAM /MIN=0 IB000-B7FF /V
DEVICE=C:\WINDOWS\SYSTEM\OAKCDROM.SYS /D:MSC000
SHELL=C:\DOS\COMMAND.COM C:\ /E:1024 /P


I tried the boot disk from this site, in fact that's where most of the content of my autoexec.bat and config.sys came from. I just copied all the files from the boot disk into c:\dos. I would appreciate any help anyone could give me.
                       
Reply With Quote
Old 20-02-2006, 09:41 AM   #2
The Fifth Horseman
FUTURE SCIENCE BASTARD
 
The Fifth Horseman's Avatar


 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: Opole, Poland
Posts: 14,264
Default

Quote:
DEVICE=C:\WINDOWS\SYSTEM\OAKCDROM.SYS /D:MSC000
I think that's where the problem lies, though don't take my word for it.
__________________

"God. Can't you people see I'm trying to commit a crime against science and nature here?"
-- Reed Richards
The Fifth Horseman is offline                         Send a private message to The Fifth Horseman
Reply With Quote
Old 20-02-2006, 10:15 AM   #3
Data
retired
 
Data's Avatar


 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Jan Mayen, Svalbard and Jan Mayen
Posts: 2,167
Default

well you do load a cdrom driver
but you don't load mscdex.exe

__________________
Flowing with the stream of life
Data is offline                         Send a private message to Data
Reply With Quote
Old 20-02-2006, 12:03 PM   #4
Rogue
10 GOSUB Abandonia
20 GOTO 10
 
Rogue's Avatar

 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Afrim, Albania
Posts: 2,113
Default

Avoid editing autoexec.bat and config.sys files, and create your self a shortcut. Saves a lot of problems you might get with windows, and once in the DOS mode, only when you type exit it will boot windows.

Check this link.
Rogue is offline                         Send a private message to Rogue
Reply With Quote
Reply


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Z Drive Not C ? catfishingharry Tech Corner 4 24-06-2007 06:04 PM
Cd Drive RemX Tech Corner 10 27-09-2006 08:46 AM
Cd Drive Errors Sandtrooper Tech Corner 5 07-04-2006 07:19 PM
Cd-rom Drive TheChosen Tech Corner 29 26-02-2006 07:57 AM
Another Way To Emulate Cd With Drive Or Dir platformer General compatibility fixes 3 05-01-2006 06:14 AM

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Forum Jump
 


The current time is 02:34 PM (GMT)

 
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.1
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.