Go Back   Forums > Abandonia.com > Troubleshooting > General compatibility fixes
Memberlist Forum Rules Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read
Search Forums:
Click here to use Advanced Search

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 15-02-2006, 10:37 PM   #81
Rogue
10 GOSUB Abandonia
20 GOTO 10
 
Rogue's Avatar

 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Afrim, Albania
Posts: 2,113
Default

That's way to fast...
Rogue is offline                         Send a private message to Rogue
Reply With Quote
Old 16-02-2006, 01:36 PM   #82
The Fifth Horseman
FUTURE SCIENCE BASTARD
 
The Fifth Horseman's Avatar


 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: Opole, Poland
Posts: 14,264
Default

Yeah, about four times too fast. But these parameters would be great for older Win9x games, they'd run like a cheetah on fire.


Nobody got any idea about that RAM thing I asked about? I am really curious...
__________________

"God. Can't you people see I'm trying to commit a crime against science and nature here?"
-- Reed Richards
The Fifth Horseman is offline                         Send a private message to The Fifth Horseman
Reply With Quote
Old 25-02-2006, 09:54 PM   #83
win98
In the loop on hardware.
 
win98's Avatar

 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Wellington, New Zealand
Posts: 890
Default

Anubis,
Use the p133 It will run most games but and Run Grand Theft Auto well. If you don't wanna play Grand Theft Auto use the 100 or the 90 but keep in mind 486's are best.
win98 is offline                         Send a private message to win98
Reply With Quote
Old 27-02-2006, 05:23 PM   #84
The Fifth Horseman
FUTURE SCIENCE BASTARD
 
The Fifth Horseman's Avatar


 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: Opole, Poland
Posts: 14,264
Default

My upgrade plans ... once again ... went to hell.
Man, I f***ing love how Murphy's Law controls our lives...

Still, I finally got that audio-out socket soldered and ready. Time to check if it does actually work...
__________________

"God. Can't you people see I'm trying to commit a crime against science and nature here?"
-- Reed Richards
The Fifth Horseman is offline                         Send a private message to The Fifth Horseman
Reply With Quote
Old 01-03-2006, 05:11 AM   #85
win98
In the loop on hardware.
 
win98's Avatar

 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Wellington, New Zealand
Posts: 890
Default

Boo Murphys Law.
win98 is offline                         Send a private message to win98
Reply With Quote
Old 06-03-2006, 05:35 PM   #86
The Fifth Horseman
FUTURE SCIENCE BASTARD
 
The Fifth Horseman's Avatar


 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: Opole, Poland
Posts: 14,264
Default

Audio-socket: failure. Will have to find another part and start over.

Seems like I have some pretty faulty RAM here. Multiple errors during file copy processes, and the machine is not able to calculate two matching checksums for the same file.

Had that before.

I'll be running Memtest 86 today.

When I put different modules, the Crescent Hawks Inception suddenly started behaving like it should (ie working), same for Syndicate.
__________________

"God. Can't you people see I'm trying to commit a crime against science and nature here?"
-- Reed Richards
The Fifth Horseman is offline                         Send a private message to The Fifth Horseman
Reply With Quote
Old 07-03-2006, 01:55 AM   #87
win98
In the loop on hardware.
 
win98's Avatar

 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Wellington, New Zealand
Posts: 890
Default

Dam about those ram modules. My 166's ram the one I sold for 5 bucks is out of return time butthe ram has stated acting faulty me friends is demanding the money back but he can't return it anyore since we had an agreement on that so after buying it was only able to be return cause of faults for seven days after.
He says that if he could he would sue me. (why would that be worth it.)
Good thing it's not mine anymore k: About the sueing :roflol:.
win98 is offline                         Send a private message to win98
Reply With Quote
Old 07-03-2006, 01:19 PM   #88
The Fifth Horseman
FUTURE SCIENCE BASTARD
 
The Fifth Horseman's Avatar


 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: Opole, Poland
Posts: 14,264
Default

5 bucks is not a reason to sue, IMO.
If the chips were allright at the time of sale, the deal was fair. Since it was a second-hand purchase, there was no warranty of their function either.

AFAIK, though, most RAM manufacturers offer lifetime warranty... so your pal might want to try contacting the manufacturer.

I went through Memtest86 a few times, and - oddly - no errors popped up. (but I still have one pair of chips to test)

Maybe the problems were caused by combining EDO and normal SIMM chips in the same machine... altough my old 486 did not have a problem with that. But then it was a pretty tough construction too, and didn't need the RAM to be paired either (and it's built-in memory test was quite something).

Well, either way, I'll try installing only SIMMs and making the checksum test. If it still fails, then something must be wrong either with CPU or the HDD (or HDD controller).
We'll see.
__________________

"God. Can't you people see I'm trying to commit a crime against science and nature here?"
-- Reed Richards
The Fifth Horseman is offline                         Send a private message to The Fifth Horseman
Reply With Quote
Old 08-03-2006, 08:41 AM   #89
The Fifth Horseman
FUTURE SCIENCE BASTARD
 
The Fifth Horseman's Avatar


 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: Opole, Poland
Posts: 14,264
Default

It wasn't RAM. It was my bloody HDD.

This 800 meg Western Digital piece was with me for ages, and it seems that it's breaking down now.

The files copied to the other HDD checksum correctly every time, not to mention faster.

And the 800 meg one has had a fair number of failed initializations recently.

I've put the 32 MB of RAM back, and it looks like I'll have to get my 2.1 GB HDD back soon.

PS. Zombie Wars work on the machine, albeit are quite slow compared to what I am used to... must be difference between 95 and 98.
__________________

"God. Can't you people see I'm trying to commit a crime against science and nature here?"
-- Reed Richards
The Fifth Horseman is offline                         Send a private message to The Fifth Horseman
Reply With Quote
Old 10-03-2006, 02:04 AM   #90
win98
In the loop on hardware.
 
win98's Avatar

 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Wellington, New Zealand
Posts: 890
Default

Thats a shame weird the system I sold to my friend has got loads of bad sectors on the hdd I went there today. Strange but memtest says the ram is faulty.
The HDD is still hanging on thats good hey the floopy drive broke this PC is falling apart around my friend or is it he may be damaging it without knowing.
win98 is offline                         Send a private message to win98
Reply With Quote
Reply


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Google Custom Search mika Blah, blah, blah... 15 07-09-2007 09:01 AM
Custom Titles! Hadiel Blah, blah, blah... 29 31-03-2007 11:11 AM
Custom Dos Pc. Grinder General compatibility fixes 34 20-02-2007 11:23 AM
Custom Titles moogle Blah, blah, blah... 45 17-09-2005 04:47 AM
C++ Custom Class Typecasting twisted-mystic Programming 8 11-01-2005 08:15 AM

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump
 


The current time is 03:21 AM (GMT)

 
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.1
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.