Go Back   Forums > Abandonia.com > Troubleshooting
Memberlist Forum Rules Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read
Search Forums:
Click here to use Advanced Search

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 28-09-2006, 05:34 PM   #1
newbie sarah
Guest
Default

Hullo all! I'm hoping that someone will know what I'm talking about here. So... I'm running dosbox on Linux (Ubuntu, in specific) and things go great until I try to play Champions of Krynn. I remember_buying_ this one at Radioshack when it came out on floppy . Still have it, actually.

ANYWAY, the dreaded 3hali error pops up, but I know how to fix that.... in Windows. Doing the standard save folder move to the "c" directory is how I would have resolved it... so, what I did was move it to what I thought the "c" (as main directory) equivalent was, which was directly under the "dosprog" folder. Now, the "save" folder is showing up in the same listing as my "games" folder (which it wasn't before), but I still get the same 3hali error. All my folder names are in lowercase letters... the game itself runs fine so I don't think it's anything wonky I've done installing dosbox... I just haven't been able to find any resources for Linux in terms for dealing with this. Any takers?
                       
Reply With Quote
Old 28-09-2006, 07:12 PM   #2
BeefontheBone
10 GOSUB Abandonia
20 GOTO 10
 
BeefontheBone's Avatar

 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Leeds, England
Posts: 2,166
Default

Never set up DOSBox on Linux, but I'd make sure the save folder is in the C drive as mounted in DOSBox (or wherever it needs to be) - that's probably what you've already tried, though.
BeefontheBone is offline                         Send a private message to BeefontheBone
Reply With Quote
Old 28-09-2006, 07:22 PM   #3
newbie sarah
Guest
Default

QUOTE(BeefontheBone @ Sep 28 2006, 07:12 PM) [snapback]258011[/snapback]
Quote:
Never set up DOSBox on Linux, but I'd make sure the save folder is in the C drive as mounted in DOSBox (or wherever it needs to be) - that's probably what you've already tried, though.
[/b]
Yeah, that's the move I was talking about. Thank you for the suggestion, though.
                       
Reply With Quote
Old 28-09-2006, 07:41 PM   #4
Data
retired
 
Data's Avatar


 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Jan Mayen, Svalbard and Jan Mayen
Posts: 2,167
Default

did you try mounting the games folder ?
DOSBox essentially works the same under windows as under linux.
The differerences are minor and shouldn't affect you.
__________________
Flowing with the stream of life
Data is offline                         Send a private message to Data
Reply With Quote
Old 28-09-2006, 09:01 PM   #5
Guest
Guest
Default

QUOTE(Data @ Sep 28 2006, 07:41 PM) [snapback]258019[/snapback]
Quote:
did you try mounting the games folder ?
DOSBox essentially works the same under windows as under linux.
The differerences are minor and shouldn't affect you.
[/b]
That's it exactly! Man, now I feel kinda silly for overlooking that... ^^;

Thank you so much for youe help!
                       
Reply With Quote
Reply


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Tips and Tricks: Abandonware Games on Linux SlowCoder Old Suggestions 12 24-10-2008 04:59 PM
How to run old games in linux ubuntu 8.4 using Wine i_am_nallen Troubleshooting 3 05-08-2008 05:01 PM
Dosbox In Linux Sebatianos Troubleshooting 1 01-04-2006 01:45 AM
My New Linux Games Site chickenman Blah, blah, blah... 12 14-05-2005 10:01 AM
Linux Games! chickenman Forum Games 11 26-04-2005 10:12 AM

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Forum Jump
 


The current time is 12:57 PM (GMT)

 
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.1
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.