Go Back   Forums > Abandonia.com > Games Discussion
Memberlist Forum Rules Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read
Search Forums:
Click here to use Advanced Search

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 30-05-2004, 12:23 PM   #1
Kosta
10 GOSUB Abandonia
20 GOTO 10
 
Kosta's Avatar


 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: Ranelagh, Ireland
Posts: 1,577
Default Ultima 7 - The Black Gate

Feel free to comment and discuss this game here. Also, if you have any useful tips or tricks don't hesitate to share them with the others! Thanks!

Review

Last edited by Luchsen; 22-01-2008 at 01:13 PM.
Kosta is offline                         Send a private message to Kosta
Reply With Quote
Old 30-05-2004, 01:05 PM   #2
FreeFreddy
Guest
Default

Hey, did I mention that I have all 4 parts of Ultima VII? The three other are: Ultima 7 - Forge of Virtue (expansion for Black Gate), Ultima VII Part 2 - Serpent Isle and Ultima VII - The Silver Seed (expansion for Serpent Isle). Would be perhaps good additive to the one already there.
                       
Reply With Quote
Old 30-05-2004, 04:37 PM   #3
mika
Games Master
 
mika's Avatar

 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: Johannesburg, South Africa
Posts: 308
Default

Cool! I only have Serpents Isle (and was gonna post that next). I definitely think the others should go in too! This is considered the best Ultima engine by most people and that's probably why there are 4 games written using it.
mika is offline                         Send a private message to mika
Reply With Quote
Old 04-12-2006, 11:28 PM   #4
Guest
Guest
Default

<div class='quotetop'>QUOTE(mika @ May 30 2004, 04:37 PM) [snapback]2566[/snapback]</div>
Quote:
Cool! I only have Serpents Isle (and was gonna post that next). I definitely think the others should go in too! This is considered the best Ultima engine by most people and that's probably why there are 4 games written using it.
[/b]
There are only two games written for it, the others are expansion packs for their respective games. This download includes Forge of Virtue; if it did not, there would be no earthquake at the beginning of the game. I have not yet checked the Serpend Isle file, and would not know how to tell.
                       
Reply With Quote
Old 30-05-2004, 08:25 PM   #5
LotharGR
Super Freak

 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: ,
Posts: 165
Default

Yes it is considered as so, and many other games have been based on this engine too. Even some of the first massive multiplayer RPGs had.
LotharGR is offline                         Send a private message to LotharGR
Reply With Quote
Old 31-05-2004, 06:27 AM   #6
Anonymous
Guest
Default

I can't play teh game in DOS. Says somthing like "remove your expanded memory manager before running ultima VII"????

Can't play the game in windows XP either, says my "system is in protected mode".
                       
Reply With Quote
Old 28-05-2007, 04:07 PM   #7
Guest_Brian_*
Guest
Default

<div class='quotetop'>QUOTE(Anonymous @ May 31 2004, 07:27 AM) [snapback]2592[/snapback]</div>
Quote:
I can't play teh game in DOS. Says somthing like "remove your expanded memory manager before running ultima VII"????

Can't play the game in windows XP either, says my "system is in protected mode".
[/b]

I got your answer. email me at *EMAIL REMOVED*

Ill be glad to help you

                       
Reply With Quote
Old 31-05-2004, 06:46 AM   #8
mika
Games Master
 
mika's Avatar

 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: Johannesburg, South Africa
Posts: 308
Default

I mentioned in the review: try using Exult (http://exult.sourceforge.net/). It's much better than in dosbox. Although you can play in dosbox but you need to go into the config file (dosbox.conf) and change the line that says "ems=true" to "ems=false"
mika is offline                         Send a private message to mika
Reply With Quote
Old 31-05-2004, 09:04 AM   #9
Stroggy
Home Sweet Abandonia

 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Cambridge, England
Posts: 1,342
Default

yeh I'm playing it in exult now
great game
I played it before but the only help I got for the copy protection was a poorly scanned map (so I couldn't read the longtitude or latitude... if I could even decypher the names on the map)
Stroggy is offline                         Send a private message to Stroggy
Reply With Quote
Old 31-05-2004, 04:18 PM   #10
mika
Games Master
 
mika's Avatar

 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: Johannesburg, South Africa
Posts: 308
Default

Well I included 2 maps, 1 just scanned and 1 (same as first) on which I translated the locations. The latitudes and longitudes are visible (although barely) too. Actually it was quite fun to translate as I didn't have the runes with me so I could remember 1 or 2 from memory (from Ultima 6) so I started from there and just figured out the rest.

Yeah. The good ol' days when I had time
mika is offline                         Send a private message to mika
Reply With Quote
Reply


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Death Gate Luchsen D 6 14-09-2012 04:50 AM
Baldurs Gate [GoG] Reaperman Invalid Requests 15 08-07-2009 11:26 AM
Baldur's Gate Mighty Midget Gaming Zone 29 24-02-2007 02:07 PM
Problem With U7 The Black Gate jsarcadia Troubleshooting 1 26-09-2006 07:13 AM
Baldurs Gate I And Ii Stroggy Gaming Zone 35 25-01-2005 08:03 PM

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump
 


The current time is 03:45 AM (GMT)

 
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.1
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.