Go Back   Forums > Abandonia.com > Troubleshooting
Memberlist Forum Rules Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read
Search Forums:
Click here to use Advanced Search

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 24-05-2009, 01:41 PM   #1
Guest
Guest
Default Syndicate Plus, sound not working.

I run DOSBox on Vista and use daemontools to mount a Syndicate Plus ISO-file. But the sound isn't working. I've tried running the game from the harddrive but the sound still doesn't work. I also tried converting the ISO-file into bin/cue but that didn't help either.

Anyone here experience a similar problem? And perhaps even worked it out?
                       
Reply With Quote
Old 24-05-2009, 01:47 PM   #2
_r.u.s.s.
I'm not Russ
but an ex-alektorophobic
 
_r.u.s.s.'s Avatar


 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: Nitra, Slovakia
Posts: 6,533
Default

have you configured the sound first?
__________________
_r.u.s.s. is offline                         Send a private message to _r.u.s.s.
Reply With Quote
Old 24-05-2009, 01:51 PM   #3
Guest
Guest
Default

Now that you mention it there was a setup screen the first time I ran the game. Is there a way to access it again? It doesn't show up when I start the game.
                       
Reply With Quote
Old 24-05-2009, 01:59 PM   #4
_r.u.s.s.
I'm not Russ
but an ex-alektorophobic
 
_r.u.s.s.'s Avatar


 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: Nitra, Slovakia
Posts: 6,533
Default

maybe there are more excutables? are there? what are their names?
i can't tell since i don't have the iso
__________________
_r.u.s.s. is offline                         Send a private message to _r.u.s.s.
Reply With Quote
Old 24-05-2009, 02:01 PM   #5
dosraider
Dismembered.
 
dosraider's Avatar

 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Dixmuide, Belgium
Posts: 2,767
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by _r.u.s.s. View Post
maybe there are more excutables?
Probably a setsound, setup, install, setmain ..... something.
Do a dir /w/p in your games dir and look what you get.
__________________

Not a member of The Victorious People's Shoutbox Liberation Army.
Not a member of the GAG Guerrilla. Don't get A Grip!
FOR RENT
*Advertising space*
dosraider is offline                         Send a private message to dosraider
Reply With Quote
Old 24-05-2009, 02:29 PM   #6
Guest
Guest
Default

These are the exe files in the directory:

acroread.exe (acrobat reader?, won't run anyway windows only)
dos4gw.exe (not sure, but it doesn't run, fatal error message)
installa.exe (installs something called document reader, probably adobe)
synd.exe (runs the game)


I have found a Synd.inf file in folder created by the game, the folder contains two folders for savegames and this file.

The files contain the following info:
main /c0 /iirq7 /idma1 /iio240

I'm pretty sure iirq7 have to do with the sound but I'm not sure about the rest.
                       
Reply With Quote
Old 24-05-2009, 02:33 PM   #7
_r.u.s.s.
I'm not Russ
but an ex-alektorophobic
 
_r.u.s.s.'s Avatar


 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: Nitra, Slovakia
Posts: 6,533
Default

just run installa.exe and setup your sound
__________________
_r.u.s.s. is offline                         Send a private message to _r.u.s.s.
Reply With Quote
Old 24-05-2009, 02:34 PM   #8
Guest
Guest
Default

I got it working! A removed the .inf and the setup came up when I ran the game.

Thanks alot guys! I wouldn't have started looking if you hadn't asked for other exe-files.
                       
Reply With Quote
Old 24-05-2009, 05:34 PM   #9
Japo
Autonomous human
 
Japo's Avatar


 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: ,
Posts: 4,525
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Guest View Post
I run DOSBox on Vista and use daemontools to mount a Syndicate Plus ISO-file.
Instead of mounting the image file as virtual drive in Windows and then mounting that drive as CD drive in DOSBox, it's better if you do it in one step in DOSBox, it can mount image files (ISOs or CUE/BIN) directly:

Code:
IMGMOUNT DRIVE [imagefile] -t [image_type]
__________________
Life starts every day anew. Prospects not so good...
Japo is offline                         Send a private message to Japo
Reply With Quote
Reply


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Syndicate Sound DeathCore Troubleshooting 12 14-01-2010 10:16 AM
syndicate not working ysorian Troubleshooting 5 01-12-2008 12:21 AM
Sound Not Working Faq Nyerguds Troubleshooting 1 06-06-2005 06:07 AM
Sound not working FAQ The Fifth Horseman Troubleshooting Archive 0 25-02-2005 02:18 PM
Problem with sound in Syndicate & some other problems Anonymous Troubleshooting 5 12-03-2004 07:27 AM

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Forum Jump
 


The current time is 03:27 PM (GMT)

 
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.1
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.