Go Back   Forums > Abandonia.com > Troubleshooting
Memberlist Forum Rules Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read
Search Forums:
Click here to use Advanced Search

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 26-01-2009, 07:41 PM   #1
HSMomof4
Lurker

 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Posts: 1
Default Need help with possible vista problem

I tried downloading a few games and when I try to unzip it the error reads;
the folder is empty, however it has some info to show a sized folder. I have downloaded DOSBox and still I am having trouble opening it. Can someone help please?

Now I have fixed the unzip problem but I guess I'm not savvy enough to get the DOSBox to run a game, I have followed all the instructions in the tutorial and I'm getting frustrated with it all.

Last edited by HSMomof4; 26-01-2009 at 10:20 PM. Reason: I have a different problem now but fixed the first problem.
HSMomof4 is offline                         Send a private message to HSMomof4
Reply With Quote
Old 26-01-2009, 10:36 PM   #2
The Fifth Horseman
FUTURE SCIENCE BASTARD
 
The Fifth Horseman's Avatar


 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: Opole, Poland
Posts: 14,276
Default

1. Which tutorial (there are several)
2. At which point do you encounter problems exactly?
__________________

"God. Can't you people see I'm trying to commit a crime against science and nature here?"
-- Reed Richards
The Fifth Horseman is offline                         Send a private message to The Fifth Horseman
Reply With Quote
Old 26-01-2009, 10:38 PM   #3
Eagle of Fire
Friendly Fire
 
Eagle of Fire's Avatar

 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: Valleyfield, Canada
Posts: 4,892
Default

You need to mount the drive(s) first. The best way to go around this is to create a directory on your C: drive and use it as your root directory. DOS only use directory names up to 8 characters, so having short directories really help. I suggest you use c:\DOS.

So, mounting your c: drive is the first step. You should write something like "mount c:\ c:\dos". This will create a c: drive with the root directory showing as "C:\" on your DOSBox, but it truely will be your "c:\DOS" directory you'll have on your normal drive.

From there on you pretty much learned most of what you need to know. Simply unarchive the games in your "C:\DOS" directory (it doesn't matter if you do it in Vista before loading DOSBox, it's even recommended) with short directory names and you'll be ready to go.

You need to use the CD command (meaning Change Directory) to move directories. Once you get in the game directory you want to play, use the DIR command (probably mean something too, but I forgot) to show the files. Find the right file (you can spot them from Vista prior to using DOSBox too) and start it directly.

Should work easily that way.
__________________
I'm on a hot streak... Literally.
Proud member of The Abandoned since 2005.
Eagle of Fire is offline                         Send a private message to Eagle of Fire
Reply With Quote
Reply


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Cd Rom on Windows Vista Stinkin_Cheeze General compatibility fixes 10 05-03-2009 10:22 PM
DOS games on Vista (Fullscreen cmd problem) VoodooRay Troubleshooting 7 17-03-2008 03:31 PM
WPA-PSK for Vista? zirkoni Tech Corner 2 27-11-2007 08:02 AM
Vista Or No Vista Japo Tech Corner 46 20-11-2007 10:42 PM
Vista Sathanas General compatibility fixes 4 05-08-2007 03:48 PM

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Forum Jump
 


The current time is 10:11 AM (GMT)

 
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.1
Copyright ©2000 - 2022, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.