Go Back   Forums > Abandonia.com > Troubleshooting
Memberlist Forum Rules Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read
Search Forums:
Click here to use Advanced Search

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 17-08-2008, 01:17 AM   #1
fred67
Newbie

 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Posts: 2
Default ecoquest help

hi, i am having trouble playing the game ecoquest 2: lost secrets of the rainforest. I am using dosbox on vista and when i try to start the game dosbox freezes and i have to shut it down, no error message comes up. I have no clue about computers what so ever so its probably something really obvious that i dont get.

I would really appreciate any help as this is my fav game from childhood!

oh also, for other games how do you figure out the command to actually start the game?

thanks
fred67 is offline                         Send a private message to fred67
Reply With Quote
Old 17-08-2008, 02:20 AM   #2
dosraider
Dismembered.
 
dosraider's Avatar

 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Dixmuide, Belgium
Posts: 2,767
Default

Dosbox 0.72.
Unzipped all files in folder eco2.
No problems at all, runs fine when inputting sierra or rain.

So maybe you could give some details?
Like:
Dosbox version?
Your mount lines?
How you try to run the game?
If you runned install? (If you did: delete your folder and start over from scratch, you probably screwed the configuration file).

As how to launch 'all' the games: look for a *.bat, *.exe.
You can search them by inputting
dir *.exe and dir *.bat
whilst in the game folder in dosbox. usually a start, go, or something looking as the game name or related to.
There isn't a 'magical' input, look and you'll find.

As most games on AB are ready to run in dosbox you'd better don't run install or setup. Not all, but most will run directly.
__________________

Not a member of The Victorious People's Shoutbox Liberation Army.
Not a member of the GAG Guerrilla. Don't get A Grip!
FOR RENT
*Advertising space*
dosraider is offline                         Send a private message to dosraider
Reply With Quote
Old 17-08-2008, 03:30 AM   #3
fred67
Newbie

 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Posts: 2
Default

your right i screwed up the configuration! so simple! works perfectly now!

thanks so much for your help!!!
fred67 is offline                         Send a private message to fred67
Reply With Quote
Old 17-08-2008, 10:53 AM   #4
dosraider
Dismembered.
 
dosraider's Avatar

 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Dixmuide, Belgium
Posts: 2,767
Default

You're welcome.
__________________

Not a member of The Victorious People's Shoutbox Liberation Army.
Not a member of the GAG Guerrilla. Don't get A Grip!
FOR RENT
*Advertising space*
dosraider is offline                         Send a private message to dosraider
Reply With Quote
Old 11-05-2010, 06:38 AM   #5
RSwindon
Newbie

 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: ,
Posts: 2
Default

I need help! I installed VDMSound to run EcoQuest 2, but it comes up with an error about VDMSound's CPU? I don't have the exact error message with me (left it at home), but do you suggest I rather use DosBox?
RSwindon is offline                         Send a private message to RSwindon
Reply With Quote
Old 11-05-2010, 10:17 AM   #6
dosraider
Dismembered.
 
dosraider's Avatar

 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Dixmuide, Belgium
Posts: 2,767
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by dosraider View Post
Unzipped all files in folder eco2.
No problems at all, runs fine when inputting sierra or rain.
As stated 3 posts (3 !!) above yours, run the game in dosbox.

DOSBOX
and:
TUTORIALS
__________________

Not a member of The Victorious People's Shoutbox Liberation Army.
Not a member of the GAG Guerrilla. Don't get A Grip!
FOR RENT
*Advertising space*
dosraider is offline                         Send a private message to dosraider
Reply With Quote
Old 13-05-2010, 05:29 PM   #7
RSwindon
Newbie

 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: ,
Posts: 2
Default

Sorry! Jeez...have some patience for the newb!
Thanks, have downloaded it and will try now.
RSwindon is offline                         Send a private message to RSwindon
Reply With Quote
Reply


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
EcoQuest I Error 4 fender178 Troubleshooting 22 26-01-2009 11:17 PM
Computer Died During Ecoquest godspoet Troubleshooting 7 09-01-2007 04:52 PM
Ecoquest 2 woutielion Troubleshooting 2 26-07-2005 12:35 PM

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Forum Jump
 


The current time is 10:21 AM (GMT)

 
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.1
Copyright ©2000 - 2022, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.