Go Back   Forums > Abandonia.com > Troubleshooting
Memberlist Forum Rules Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read
Search Forums:
Click here to use Advanced Search

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 02-02-2008, 01:23 AM   #1
Shredder
Newbie

 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Queretaro, Mexico
Posts: 5
Default Ufo enemy unknown screen is moved

The game screen is "moved" to the rigth, there is a piece of the screen I cant see, any idea what causes this or how to fix it?
Shredder is offline                         Send a private message to Shredder
Reply With Quote
Old 02-02-2008, 01:26 AM   #2
_r.u.s.s.
I'm not Russ
but an ex-alektorophobic
 
_r.u.s.s.'s Avatar


 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: Nitra, Slovakia
Posts: 6,533
Default

and you want us to guess your pc specs and how did you actually run it?
__________________
_r.u.s.s. is offline                         Send a private message to _r.u.s.s.
Reply With Quote
Old 02-02-2008, 01:35 AM   #3
Eagle of Fire
Friendly Fire
 
Eagle of Fire's Avatar

 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: Valleyfield, Canada
Posts: 4,892
Default

Try DOSBox.

Cause of the problem might be multiple. Your screen not able to take the resolution is one possibility, as well as your graphic card, drivers and/or something else in your system not able to compel with the resolution. Or it might simply refuse to work because it's a DOS game.

It's quite difficult to try to put the finger on the problem until you give us more information about your system.
__________________
I'm on a hot streak... Literally.
Proud member of The Abandoned since 2005.
Eagle of Fire is offline                         Send a private message to Eagle of Fire
Reply With Quote
Old 02-02-2008, 07:25 AM   #4
Shredder
Newbie

 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Queretaro, Mexico
Posts: 5
Default

Guessing is fun,

Windows XP profesional
Pentium 4, 2 Ghz
224 Mb RAM
S3 ProSavage DDR video card

And is the windows version.
Shredder is offline                         Send a private message to Shredder
Reply With Quote
Old 02-02-2008, 11:37 AM   #5
Eagle of Fire
Friendly Fire
 
Eagle of Fire's Avatar

 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: Valleyfield, Canada
Posts: 4,892
Default

So... Did you try DOSBox?
__________________
I'm on a hot streak... Literally.
Proud member of The Abandoned since 2005.
Eagle of Fire is offline                         Send a private message to Eagle of Fire
Reply With Quote
Old 02-02-2008, 03:29 PM   #6
_r.u.s.s.
I'm not Russ
but an ex-alektorophobic
 
_r.u.s.s.'s Avatar


 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: Nitra, Slovakia
Posts: 6,533
Default

lol, didn't he say windows version?
anyways if i were you (and i had crt monitor) i'd simply try readjusting screen on monitor (it's always different with different refresh rates so don't worry)
__________________
_r.u.s.s. is offline                         Send a private message to _r.u.s.s.
Reply With Quote
Old 02-02-2008, 03:58 PM   #7
The Fifth Horseman
FUTURE SCIENCE BASTARD
 
The Fifth Horseman's Avatar


 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: Opole, Poland
Posts: 14,268
Default

This question was asked in this forum a few times before - you need to run the game through the fixed executable (there are two in the game directory) and disable scaling in the control panel for your graphics card.
__________________

"God. Can't you people see I'm trying to commit a crime against science and nature here?"
-- Reed Richards
The Fifth Horseman is offline                         Send a private message to The Fifth Horseman
Reply With Quote
Old 02-02-2008, 09:12 PM   #8
Shredder
Newbie

 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Queretaro, Mexico
Posts: 5
Default

Scaling? I dont know how to find that option (I use spanish sofware) if you can be so kind to write the directions for that option.

And I tried to search for this, but is pretty hard to find UFO when the forums wants 4 characters minimum for a search.
Shredder is offline                         Send a private message to Shredder
Reply With Quote
Old 02-02-2008, 10:25 PM   #9
dosraider
Dismembered.
 
dosraider's Avatar

 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Dixmuide, Belgium
Posts: 2,767
Default

Use the search function in the red bar above, ****>
(sometimes you must hit your HOME key to see it .....)
-> advanced search
-> keywords : enemy
-> under the 'keywords' field: 'search titles only'
-> forum : troubleshooting
__________________

Not a member of The Victorious People's Shoutbox Liberation Army.
Not a member of the GAG Guerrilla. Don't get A Grip!
FOR RENT
*Advertising space*

Last edited by dosraider; 02-02-2008 at 10:27 PM.
dosraider is offline                         Send a private message to dosraider
Reply With Quote
Old 03-02-2008, 02:40 AM   #10
Eagle of Fire
Friendly Fire
 
Eagle of Fire's Avatar

 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: Valleyfield, Canada
Posts: 4,892
Default

Quote:
lol, didn't he say windows version?
About the game? Not to my knowledge. I don't know why people keep trying to play the Windows version of UFO anyways... The DOS version is the original one, much better as far as I know and less prone to crashes and problems when used in DOSBox...

I was going to suggest to use Windows compatibility options, but 5th seems to know very well what the problem is. I'd follow his advices if I were you.
__________________
I'm on a hot streak... Literally.
Proud member of The Abandoned since 2005.
Eagle of Fire is offline                         Send a private message to Eagle of Fire
Reply With Quote
Reply


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
UFO enemy unknown PintOfBass General compatibility fixes 2 13-04-2008 09:16 PM
Ufo Enemy Unknown, Win Xp DuckMan Troubleshooting 10 26-02-2006 05:06 AM
I Need Help With Ufo - Enemy Unknown Dime Troubleshooting 14 25-09-2005 08:48 PM
Black Screen On Ufo Enemy Unknown jp Troubleshooting 1 28-02-2005 02:29 PM
UFO - Enemy Unknown JoM General compatibility fixes 41 14-12-2004 03:33 PM

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Forum Jump
 


The current time is 08:20 AM (GMT)

 
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.1
Copyright ©2000 - 2021, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.