Go Back   Forums > Abandonia.com > Troubleshooting
Memberlist Forum Rules Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read
Search Forums:
Click here to use Advanced Search

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 08-04-2009, 09:42 AM   #1
Pex
Game Wizzard
 
Pex's Avatar


 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Sydney, Australia
Posts: 249
Default Celtic Tales - how to make sound effects work?

I run this game in dosbox and I set my cicles to 20000. Game speed is good and music plays very well (although I turn it off cause it's annoying), but sound effects won't work. They're there, but they're too fast and nothing they should be.

I played the game ages ago on my 486 and I know I had to meddle with autoexec.bat, to set some buffers or something, but if I remember correctly, that was just to see the final animation, after you kill Balor.

And I know you can play the game without sound effect perfectly, but I really used to like them. I remember that yawning sound when you order a hero to rest always annoyed my sister

So, can anyone help me?
Pex is offline                         Send a private message to Pex
Reply With Quote
Old 08-04-2009, 11:33 AM   #2
The Fifth Horseman
FUTURE SCIENCE BASTARD
 
The Fifth Horseman's Avatar


 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: Opole, Poland
Posts: 14,276
Default

Did you run the game's sound setup? Set it to Sound Blaster, IRQ 7, DMA 1, Adress 220.
__________________

"God. Can't you people see I'm trying to commit a crime against science and nature here?"
-- Reed Richards
The Fifth Horseman is offline                         Send a private message to The Fifth Horseman
Reply With Quote
Old 08-04-2009, 01:10 PM   #3
_r.u.s.s.
I'm not Russ
but an ex-alektorophobic
 
_r.u.s.s.'s Avatar


 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: Nitra, Slovakia
Posts: 6,533
Default

if they're too fast try turning cycles down? you can use ctrl f11 for that
__________________
_r.u.s.s. is offline                         Send a private message to _r.u.s.s.
Reply With Quote
Old 08-04-2009, 10:39 PM   #4
Eagle of Fire
Friendly Fire
 
Eagle of Fire's Avatar

 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: Valleyfield, Canada
Posts: 4,892
Default

The way you worded your post tend to suggest to me that you are not using the last DOSBox version.

Did you try ver. 0.72?
__________________
I'm on a hot streak... Literally.
Proud member of The Abandoned since 2005.
Eagle of Fire is offline                         Send a private message to Eagle of Fire
Reply With Quote
Old 09-04-2009, 05:18 AM   #5
Pex
Game Wizzard
 
Pex's Avatar


 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Sydney, Australia
Posts: 249
Default

I'm using 0.72 version.

Game runs normally with the set number of cycle (music, speed of heroes, animations, etc). It's just that sound effects don't work right.

As for the sound setup, it only gives you possibillity to select different sound cards (and there I select Sound Blaster), not addresses or channels.
Pex is offline                         Send a private message to Pex
Reply With Quote
Old 09-04-2009, 09:15 PM   #6
_r.u.s.s.
I'm not Russ
but an ex-alektorophobic
 
_r.u.s.s.'s Avatar


 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: Nitra, Slovakia
Posts: 6,533
Default

ahh i remember now. there were other people having "problems" with sound of our version of celtic tales in games discussion. this is a rip. there are practically no sounds except some walking ones, that sound like when you put a popcorn inside your bicycle wheel
__________________
_r.u.s.s. is offline                         Send a private message to _r.u.s.s.
Reply With Quote
Old 10-04-2009, 02:29 AM   #7
Pex
Game Wizzard
 
Pex's Avatar


 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Sydney, Australia
Posts: 249
Default

Hmm, I never tried to put a popcorn inside my bycicle wheel, but I imagine sound would've been similar to what I hear in the game.

So, I guess, there's no point playing with settings, sound effects just won't happen? A pitty. I wonder if I would be able to dig out my old copy of the game...
Pex is offline                         Send a private message to Pex
Reply With Quote
Old 10-04-2009, 02:59 AM   #8
_r.u.s.s.
I'm not Russ
but an ex-alektorophobic
 
_r.u.s.s.'s Avatar


 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: Nitra, Slovakia
Posts: 6,533
Default

i believe you could also find some copies around the net if you look properly=P
__________________
_r.u.s.s. is offline                         Send a private message to _r.u.s.s.
Reply With Quote
Old 22-10-2013, 08:59 AM   #9
marko river
10 GOSUB Abandonia
20 GOTO 10





 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: Beograd, Serbia and Montenegro
Posts: 2,838
Default

Thx to guest ixltixl for his post, I tried it and it works
IRQ=5 yeah baby

And I was sure that I uploaded the old version I had and there were sound effects on old Pentium. Now that I think of it, it was always strange why default SB setting for IRQ in DOSBox is 7, because in Serbia in times of Pentiums and 486s, we all used 5. I thought that is default, that only some games use 7 for whatever reason. Later when I got used to DOSBox, I start thinking that it doesn't really matter, but I'm glad to see 5 again, it does bring back some memories.

(Naturally I still have no clue what IRQ is, I guess it takes only one step - search it on the net, but I'll leave it this way for now)
marko river is offline                         Send a private message to marko river
Reply With Quote
Old 22-10-2013, 11:35 AM   #10
The Fifth Horseman
FUTURE SCIENCE BASTARD
 
The Fifth Horseman's Avatar


 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: Opole, Poland
Posts: 14,276
Default

7 is more common in my experience.
__________________

"God. Can't you people see I'm trying to commit a crime against science and nature here?"
-- Reed Richards
The Fifth Horseman is offline                         Send a private message to The Fifth Horseman
Reply With Quote
Reply


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Celtic Tales - Balor Of The Evil Eye Kosta Games Discussion 99 07-01-2016 07:32 PM
Celtic Tales: Balor Of The Evil Eye El_loco Troubleshooting 5 12-07-2009 06:20 AM
trying to make Frontier first encounters work in dosbox Airgedok Troubleshooting 11 13-03-2008 10:05 AM
Running Celtic Tales With Vdm Sound lgonggr Troubleshooting 0 06-06-2005 08:21 AM

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Forum Jump
 


The current time is 12:17 AM (GMT)

 
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.1
Copyright ©2000 - 2024, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.