Go Back   Forums > Abandonia.com > Games Discussion
Memberlist Forum Rules Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read
Search Forums:
Click here to use Advanced Search

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 22-01-2005, 08:34 AM   #1
wendymaree
Home Sweet Abandonia
 
wendymaree's Avatar

 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: Melbourne, Australia
Posts: 963
Default

Feel free to comment and discuss this game here. Also, if you have any useful tips or tricks don't hesitate to share them with the others! Thanks!

Review

Last edited by Luchsen; 23-01-2008 at 02:49 PM.
wendymaree is offline                         Send a private message to wendymaree
Reply With Quote
Old 22-01-2005, 08:43 AM   #2
Stroggy
Home Sweet Abandonia

 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Cambridge, England
Posts: 1,342
Default

Wow, what can I say but:

Want some rye? 'course ya do!
__________________
pat b
Stroggy is offline                         Send a private message to Stroggy
Reply With Quote
Old 22-01-2005, 08:47 AM   #3
wendymaree
Home Sweet Abandonia
 
wendymaree's Avatar

 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: Melbourne, Australia
Posts: 963
Default

I can dig it.
wendymaree is offline                         Send a private message to wendymaree
Reply With Quote
Old 22-01-2005, 09:03 AM   #4
Jingo James
Newbie

 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: ,
Posts: 15
Default

Wow! This sure does bring back lots of memories I just hope it will be able to play on my computer, unlike the CD-ROM version I have that doesn't work for some reason.
__________________
I used to say kill all the stupid people, but as I got older I began to realize just how immposible of a task that is.
Jingo James is offline                         Send a private message to Jingo James
Reply With Quote
Old 22-01-2005, 09:09 AM   #5
wendymaree
Home Sweet Abandonia
 
wendymaree's Avatar

 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: Melbourne, Australia
Posts: 963
Default

Err, this is the CD Rom version. But I hope it works for you. :whistle:
wendymaree is offline                         Send a private message to wendymaree
Reply With Quote
Old 22-01-2005, 09:09 AM   #6
Stroggy
Home Sweet Abandonia

 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Cambridge, England
Posts: 1,342
Default

I can play the CD version just fine on windows XP.
__________________
pat b
Stroggy is offline                         Send a private message to Stroggy
Reply With Quote
Old 22-01-2005, 09:36 AM   #7
Jingo James
Newbie

 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: ,
Posts: 15
Default

ok, so I tried to do the whole sound card stuff and when I tried to start the game it gave me this:

Illegal command: DRIVERS\PAUDIO.
Illegal command: MADECD.
Illegal command: DRIVERS\PAUDIO.

So do anyone knows what this means. Is it because it might not be the right I\O number and stuff? If so anyone know where I could find that information at? Thanks.
__________________
I used to say kill all the stupid people, but as I got older I began to realize just how immposible of a task that is.
Jingo James is offline                         Send a private message to Jingo James
Reply With Quote
Old 22-01-2005, 10:00 AM   #8
wendymaree
Home Sweet Abandonia
 
wendymaree's Avatar

 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: Melbourne, Australia
Posts: 963
Default

What sound card do you have? It's important to pick the right one, with the correct I/Os. I have a Sound Blaster Live and the first time around I picked the Sound Blaster option, without properly reading the list. I should have picked Sound Blaster 16. Nothing would work until I changed to the right option. I can only advise how to find the s/card addresses using Win98, but I gather it'd be pretty similar with XP. Here's what I do: find the way to the control panel. Then click on the System icon and then the Device Manager tab. Then from the list click on your sound card and from what appears choose your dos driver and click on it. Then it brings up the properties for the driver. Click on the Resources tab and there is a list of the I/Os.
wendymaree is offline                         Send a private message to wendymaree
Reply With Quote
Old 22-01-2005, 10:10 AM   #9
Jingo James
Newbie

 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: ,
Posts: 15
Default

Yep I believe I have the same card as you. Creative Sound Blaster Live. I found the resource tab and clicked on it and found the IRQ and I\O, however my I\O address is has letters and numbers in it (sorry don't know a lot about this stuff in computer). Also the DMA wasn't there, I wonder if it's 0 then. Still doesn't work for me i'll keep trying.
__________________
I used to say kill all the stupid people, but as I got older I began to realize just how immposible of a task that is.
Jingo James is offline                         Send a private message to Jingo James
Reply With Quote
Old 22-01-2005, 10:26 AM   #10
wendymaree
Home Sweet Abandonia
 
wendymaree's Avatar

 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: Melbourne, Australia
Posts: 963
Default

ok, this is what I have for mine:

I/O: 0220 - 022F (that means my I/O is 220)
I/O: 0330 - 0331 (I think this means the top of the range, however I always choose 220 and it works.)
Direct Memory Access: 01 (I choose 1 for the DMA)
Direct Memory Access: 05
Interrupt Request: 05 (I choose 5 for the IRQ)

However, using Win98, the game chose the DMA and the IRQ itself - as none! I only had to choose the I/O.
wendymaree is offline                         Send a private message to wendymaree
Reply With Quote
Reply


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Zork III - The Dungeon Master [GoG] dcoyle3 Invalid Requests 8 01-02-2011 01:40 PM
New Zork?! Saccade Gaming Zone 4 22-06-2009 04:20 AM
Legends of Zork Luchsen Gaming Zone 2 04-04-2009 09:33 AM
Zork Nemesis Help LuckyLlama Troubleshooting 2 18-04-2005 12:11 AM

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump
 


The current time is 10:16 PM (GMT)

 
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.1
Copyright ©2000 - 2021, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.