Go Back   Forums > Community Chatterbox > Tech Corner
Memberlist Forum Rules Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read
Search Forums:
Click here to use Advanced Search

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 12-11-2005, 03:52 PM   #1
Tiger-Heli
Newbie

 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: ,
Posts: 16
Default

I also posted this here - http://forum.arcadecontrols.com/index.php?topic=43849.0, but since this is more of a gaming forum, I thought someone here might know.

Basically, I am running WinXP but have some old games that only send audio to the PC speaker. I would like to re-route this to my on-board sound.

I know there is a way to do it with wires and resistors, or with a different soundcard, but I was hoping there was a program or Windows setting that could accomplish the same thing through software.

Thanks in advance!!!
Tiger-Heli is offline                         Send a private message to Tiger-Heli
Reply With Quote
Old 15-11-2005, 10:49 AM   #2
The Fifth Horseman
FUTURE SCIENCE BASTARD
 
The Fifth Horseman's Avatar


 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: Opole, Poland
Posts: 14,264
Default

I don't think you can do it with software only.
DosBox works somewhat in this manner, though - everything PC Speaker would produce is re-routed through the main sound system.
__________________

"God. Can't you people see I'm trying to commit a crime against science and nature here?"
-- Reed Richards
The Fifth Horseman is offline                         Send a private message to The Fifth Horseman
Reply With Quote
Old 15-11-2005, 12:24 PM   #3
Nikson
Game Wizzard

 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Cairns, Australia
Posts: 260
Default

DosBox using the D-fend front-end has an option to emulate PC Speaker through your sound card. In fact it does it by default.
Nikson is offline                         Send a private message to Nikson
Reply With Quote
Old 15-11-2005, 01:22 PM   #4
Data
retired
 
Data's Avatar


 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Jan Mayen, Svalbard and Jan Mayen
Posts: 2,167
Default

in fact you can't even get the sound of your pc speaker even if you wanted to
it always goes to your soundcard.
__________________
Flowing with the stream of life
Data is offline                         Send a private message to Data
Reply With Quote
Old 15-11-2005, 01:29 PM   #5
Tiger-Heli
Newbie

 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: ,
Posts: 16
Default

Thanks for the tips. That looks like exactly what I was looking for.

I have one quick question - The download page for DosBox also has a link for a program called VDMSound. Are you familiar with this? All the games I am having problems with have Adlib and Roland support, and run fine, just only play sound through the PC speaker rather than the soundcard.

I am think VDMSound seems like a simpler solution than installing an entire OS emulation and then a frontend to access it, unless you have both "been there, done that" and know some reason that I would want to steer clear of VDMSound.

Thanks again!!!
Tiger-Heli is offline                         Send a private message to Tiger-Heli
Reply With Quote
Old 15-11-2005, 01:40 PM   #6
Data
retired
 
Data's Avatar


 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Jan Mayen, Svalbard and Jan Mayen
Posts: 2,167
Default

adlib games that play through your pcspeaker

don't think that happends with a lot of people. let alone with somebody.
are you certain you are correct ?


vdmsound emulates a adlib/soundblaster card for you. no pc speaker.
__________________
Flowing with the stream of life
Data is offline                         Send a private message to Data
Reply With Quote
Old 15-11-2005, 01:45 PM   #7
The Fifth Horseman
FUTURE SCIENCE BASTARD
 
The Fifth Horseman's Avatar


 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: Opole, Poland
Posts: 14,264
Default

VDMSound doesn't work for some of the games, but if you managed to run your stuff in pure XP, this gives them a high chance of working with VDMS.

Installation & running might be a b***h, but after you get them sorted out (using a batch file is a very convenient way to simplify operation and running your fave games, BTW), all the rest is pretty straightforward.
__________________

"God. Can't you people see I'm trying to commit a crime against science and nature here?"
-- Reed Richards
The Fifth Horseman is offline                         Send a private message to The Fifth Horseman
Reply With Quote
Old 15-11-2005, 01:58 PM   #8
Tiger-Heli
Newbie

 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: ,
Posts: 16
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by Data@Nov 15 2005, 01:40 PM
adlib games that play through your pcspeaker

don't think that happends with a lot of people. let alone with somebody.
are you certain you are correct ?


vdmsound emulates a adlib/soundblaster card for you. no pc speaker.
I'm correct, but I worded it poorly.

The game supports (through different drivers) either the AdLib, Roland, or PC Speaker sound cards. The only one that currently works is the IBM sound driver which plays through the PC internal speaker, not the speakers attached to the sound card.

What I meant to ask was since VDMSound is supposed to emulate AdLib, and since the game supports Adlib, couldn't I just set it up to use VDMSound and have it play through the speakers attached to the soundcard, and is there some drawback to this over an install of DosBox and Dfend?

Also - slightly different question - Could I write a batch file to call DosBox and then the game, rather than launching through Dfend? (I saw something in the tutorial about DosBox only reading Autoexec.bat when launched from the start menu . . .)

Thanks again.

Also, really straying from the topic - These are basically all Microprose titles - F-19, F-117A, and Gunship, (and maybe Gunship 2000).

I have actual copies of F-19 and Gunship.

The technical supplement for F-19 says to use the /D1 /D2 or /D3 flags for detail adjust and the /AA /AI /AR or /AN flags for soundcard selection, but these flags don't work with F-117A and I have been unable to locate the F-117A Technical Supplement online. Does anyone know the appropriate settings for F-117A?
Tiger-Heli is offline                         Send a private message to Tiger-Heli
Reply With Quote
Old 15-11-2005, 02:42 PM   #9
Shrek
Abandonia Ogre


 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Lisboa, Portugal
Posts: 506
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by Tiger-Heli@Nov 15 2005, 02:58 PM

Also - slightly different question - Could I write a batch file to call DosBox and then the game, rather than launching through Dfend?* (I saw something in the tutorial about DosBox only reading Autoexec.bat when launched from the start menu . . .)
Yes, you can... just copy the "dosbox.conf" located at the DOSBox instalation folder, and edit it; at the end there are lines saying:

[autoexec]
# Lines in this section will be run at startup.

there you can place the comand lines - example, if you have F-19 game in folder c:\games\f-19

mount c c:\games
c:
cd f-19
f-19.exe
exit

In this file you can also change CPU settings, fullscreen mode, etc...

Then you just create a .bat file with this command inside:
dosbox -conf c:\games\f-19\dosbox.conf
Shrek is offline                         Send a private message to Shrek
Reply With Quote
Old 15-11-2005, 02:42 PM   #10
Data
retired
 
Data's Avatar


 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Jan Mayen, Svalbard and Jan Mayen
Posts: 2,167
Default

vdmsound would/could work in that case. (it may go fast)


The game doesn't play adlib sound through your pc speaker.
it plays pcspeaker sound through your pcspeaker, but can support adlib as well.

__________________
Flowing with the stream of life
Data is offline                         Send a private message to Data
Reply With Quote
Reply


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Vdm Sound thebes Troubleshooting 2 12-07-2006 02:14 AM
Sound Set Up Guest Troubleshooting 4 23-06-2006 09:54 AM
Vdm Sound mayank Troubleshooting 5 13-03-2006 05:56 AM
Vdm Sound Help Rugz Tech Corner 1 23-04-2005 04:54 PM
What Do You Sound Like Ioncannon Blah, blah, blah... 82 14-11-2004 10:02 AM

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump
 


The current time is 11:15 PM (GMT)

 
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.1
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.