Go Back   Forums > Abandonia.com > Games Discussion
Memberlist Forum Rules Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read
Search Forums:
Click here to use Advanced Search

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 08-10-2010, 06:00 PM   #21
dosraider
Dismembered.
 
dosraider's Avatar

 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Dixmuide, Belgium
Posts: 2,767
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by jfritzyb View Post
Ok, I downloaded Dosboxstars.rar; now what?
http://www.7-zip.org/ ? Yes?
__________________

Not a member of The Victorious People's Shoutbox Liberation Army.
Not a member of the GAG Guerrilla. Don't get A Grip!
FOR RENT
*Advertising space*
dosraider is offline                         Send a private message to dosraider
Reply With Quote
Old 09-10-2010, 04:11 AM   #22
jfritzyb
Forum hobbit


 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: Greenville, United States
Posts: 39
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by dosraider View Post
Yep...everything is unpacked and in a folder.
jfritzyb is offline                         Send a private message to jfritzyb
Reply With Quote
Old 09-10-2010, 07:26 AM   #23
dosraider
Dismembered.
 
dosraider's Avatar

 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Dixmuide, Belgium
Posts: 2,767
Default

Included readme:
Quote:
Readme file for DOSBox Stars by Gible

This requires DOSBox to work. Get it here: http://www.dosbox.com/

After installing DOSBox edit the (end of) dosbox.conf supplied to correct the path in the line "mount c c:\dosboxc"

To run Stars! in DOSBox, either:
1) (recommended) associate .conf files with DOSBox (with XP I just run(double-click)the .conf file supplied and choose the dosbox.exe from the application/file selector)
or 2) create a shortcut with the following command: "C:\Program Files\DOSBox-0.72\dosbox.exe" -conf "C:\DOSBoxC\dosbox.conf"

Stars! command-line options are defined near the end of dosbox.conf (under [AUTOEXEC.BAT]). AFAIK there is no way to pass commandline options from your system(VISTA or whatever) through dosbox (and wfw311) to Stars so they must be added in dosbox.conf. If you want to setup short cuts to multiple games, make multiple copies of dosbox.conf (game1.conf, game2.conf etc)
After installing DOSBox edit the (end of) dosbox.conf supplied to correct the path in the line "mount c c:\dosboxc"

Replace c:\dosboxc by the correct path/folder where you have your stuff.

If you're on Vista/Win7 read the tutorials.
http://www.abandonia.com/vbullet/forumdisplay.php?f=90
__________________

Not a member of The Victorious People's Shoutbox Liberation Army.
Not a member of the GAG Guerrilla. Don't get A Grip!
FOR RENT
*Advertising space*
dosraider is offline                         Send a private message to dosraider
Reply With Quote
Old 09-10-2010, 09:06 AM   #24
jfritzyb
Forum hobbit


 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: Greenville, United States
Posts: 39
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by dosraider View Post
Included readme:


After installing DOSBox edit the (end of) dosbox.conf supplied to correct the path in the line "mount c c:\dosboxc"

Replace c:\dosboxc by the correct path/folder where you have your stuff.

If you're on Vista/Win7 read the tutorials.
http://www.abandonia.com/vbullet/forumdisplay.php?f=90
K; it all worked out fine and game works. However, shortcut thingie doesn't seem to work. I am probably not doing something right though.
jfritzyb is offline                         Send a private message to jfritzyb
Reply With Quote
Old 09-10-2010, 09:23 AM   #25
dosraider
Dismembered.
 
dosraider's Avatar

 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Dixmuide, Belgium
Posts: 2,767
Smile

Glad to hear it works, it's a nice game, enjoy.

Shortcut trick works if you fill in the correct paths and don't make tipooz.
Notice:
Latest release is dosbox 0.74, not 0.72
If you're on a 64 bit OS dosbox will be in 'program files (x86)', adapt accordingly.
Easiest is to use the 'search target' option when creating the shortcut.

But of course you don't really need that shortcut trick, a couple of clicks extra to launch the game won't hurt ya.
__________________

Not a member of The Victorious People's Shoutbox Liberation Army.
Not a member of the GAG Guerrilla. Don't get A Grip!
FOR RENT
*Advertising space*
dosraider is offline                         Send a private message to dosraider
Reply With Quote
Old 31-01-2011, 06:40 PM   #26
Eagle of Fire
Friendly Fire
 
Eagle of Fire's Avatar

 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: Valleyfield, Canada
Posts: 4,892
Default

Well, a little late but I am here nonetheless.

You simply need to follow the instructions in the readme of that archive.

If it doesn't work, you'll need to figure out how to mount drives with DOSbox. We'll be happy to help you in Troubleshooting if you need help.

BTW, the STARS! Wiki site has moved since I made this review. You can now find it here.
__________________
I'm on a hot streak... Literally.
Proud member of The Abandoned since 2005.
Eagle of Fire is offline                         Send a private message to Eagle of Fire
Reply With Quote
Old 07-10-2011, 12:16 PM   #27
Oskatat
Game freak

 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: Amsterdam, Netherlands
Posts: 132
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Unregistered12345 View Post
I followed dosraider's advice and successfully launched the game. But after playing through the tutorial I am struck down by disorder. It prompts me to enter the serial code. I have tried all the codes from the download at Abandonia but none of them worked.

Thanks
Sometimes when playing with a costum race, or for some other reason, an earlier game may demand a password. In the game, open the file (game name).hst
This opens host options where you can set the password. Its usually something you set before anyway. This is not the same as the serial code, its a way to make sure noone can steal your race designs etc

As an edit, really read that wiki page, or those pages
this game is from a time when they had to make a game interesting in some other way than graphics and easy interface. With the wrong specs you'll have your back against the wall in no-time

And even on easy the AI expands fast, real fast, AND into your "territory" too


well, lets add some more
When you choose a major characteristic, think of this: Jack of all trades gives you big, big penetrating scanners. "no advanced scanners is no big deal
Inner strength... Transports in orbit will HELP your colony grow. A galleon minelayer with some defences is deadly to AI AND helps to build your colony
Build minelayers, lots of them
Beam Weapons are better than Missile in the beginning
Missiles rule as soon as you get better computers and the ships with the elect to hold em
Matter Packets hurt, get a defender with some transport capacity on all border planets. better, get 10
Matter packets HURT, send them to anyone you suspect of not being able to catch em. they get 1/3rd of the matter and suffer a big bomb. Unless you picked the major trait related to this, since your packets may terraform planets
Again, more minefields. 3 minelayers a place is better than one time 3

most things i picked are also on the wiki/help pages for this game, but i thought i make it shorter

Last edited by Oskatat; 07-10-2011 at 10:46 PM.
Oskatat is offline                         Send a private message to Oskatat
Reply With Quote
Old 20-10-2011, 07:19 PM   #28
Eagle of Fire
Friendly Fire
 
Eagle of Fire's Avatar

 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: Valleyfield, Canada
Posts: 4,892
Default

Then do not miss out about the main community of this game, on AutoHost.
__________________
I'm on a hot streak... Literally.
Proud member of The Abandoned since 2005.
Eagle of Fire is offline                         Send a private message to Eagle of Fire
Reply With Quote
Old 23-02-2012, 12:20 AM   #29
georgewmanley@comcast.net
Guest
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by TotalAnarchy View Post
Feel free to comment and discuss this game here. Also, if you have any useful tips or tricks don't hesitate to share them with the others! Thanks!

Review and Download (if available)
I've lost my pass code for Stars! I have the CD and label sleve from the case, but the pass code has long since fallen out of the game organizer pouch. Is there anything that can be done?
                       
Reply With Quote
Old 23-02-2012, 04:15 AM   #30
Eagle of Fire
Friendly Fire
 
Eagle of Fire's Avatar

 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: Valleyfield, Canada
Posts: 4,892
Default

Unfortunately no. Your code is likely gone forever... But you can always get a new code at autohost if you pay a small donation to keep the site running. Just make sure you are using the latest version of STARS!, I'm not entirely sure those codes can work for every version (but you can get the latest version anywhere for free anyways).

Here is the relevant link. You might need to subscribe to the forum to see it.
__________________
I'm on a hot streak... Literally.
Proud member of The Abandoned since 2005.
Eagle of Fire is offline                         Send a private message to Eagle of Fire
Reply With Quote
Reply


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Not 5 stars - for the love of God - not 5 stars! humorguy Abandoned Times 31 06-09-2013 07:34 AM
Stars! Professor Oak S 13 01-01-2010 10:38 AM
Stars juanml82 On site 79 01-01-2010 08:40 AM
New Trailer For Sword Of The Stars The Niles Gaming Zone 2 01-09-2005 02:04 PM

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump
 


The current time is 02:04 AM (GMT)

 
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.1
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.