Go Back   Forums > Abandonia.com > Troubleshooting
Memberlist Forum Rules Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read
Search Forums:
Click here to use Advanced Search

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 29-05-2006, 08:57 PM   #1
sunkenstate
Newbie

 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: ,
Posts: 3
Default

I've installed dosbox, and installed U8 from the original cdrom to a folder in dosbox: cddrive or something to that effect. I just followed the tutorial for dosbox from this website.

When I try to run u8.exe it starts to load, displaying 'Origin 1994' and all that, then simply says:

Filename =
Mode = readwrite
error =2001
DOS error=0000
source =flex\flex.c (66)
Program halted by code.
Rest avatar...you will need it!


Any advice would be really appreciated, because I've had this game for ages and never actually beat it. I even had the original game box, which i just threw away. In retrospect, I maybe should have kept it. At least I still have the orginal silk map.
sunkenstate is offline                         Send a private message to sunkenstate
Reply With Quote
Old 29-05-2006, 09:17 PM   #2
_r.u.s.s.
I'm not Russ
but an ex-alektorophobic
 
_r.u.s.s.'s Avatar


 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: Nitra, Slovakia
Posts: 6,533
Default

have you tried unchecking "read only" option of the files in ultima directory?
__________________
_r.u.s.s. is offline                         Send a private message to _r.u.s.s.
Reply With Quote
Old 30-05-2006, 04:22 AM   #3
sunkenstate
Newbie

 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: ,
Posts: 3
Default

Alright, So I've got u8 running, using Ron Windeyer's patch. However, its pretty sluggish and there is no sound. Any suggestions?
sunkenstate is offline                         Send a private message to sunkenstate
Reply With Quote
Old 30-05-2006, 06:50 AM   #4
Guest
Guest
Default

QUOTE(sunkenstate @ May 30 2006, 03:22 AM) [snapback]233145[/snapback]
Quote:
Alright, So I've got u8 running, using Ron Windeyer's patch. However, its pretty sluggish and there is no sound. Any suggestions?
[/b]
Yes. You need to run Ultima 8 first after it's installed with a boot-disc or in Dos-Mode of Windows 98 or 95 so it can unpack the shapes file without problems. In DosBox it doesn't unpack it correctly, and in Windows no matter the version the game doesn't even start. Once the shapes file is unpacked succesfully you can play the game without any problems in DosBox and increase the speed however you like for the game to be faster.
                       
Reply With Quote
Old 09-06-2006, 09:51 PM   #5
chainsoar
Master Debater
 
chainsoar's Avatar


 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: London, England
Posts: 326
Default

I'm having a similiar problem..I've got the game running fine and I even have music but it's really slow and sluggish, I mean REALLY slow. Any helpful suggestions?
__________________
Quote:
Originally Posted by baruko View Post
How I download the game?
Quote:
Originally Posted by dosraider View Post
You click on 'Download this game'.
chainsoar is offline                         Send a private message to chainsoar
Reply With Quote
Old 09-06-2006, 10:34 PM   #6
Scatty
Treasure hunter
 
Scatty's Avatar

 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Little big small world
Posts: 1,860
Default

In DosBox? Try to increase the CPU cycles to around 7000-8000 with CTRL+F12 and see if that helps. Increase more in case it's not enough (should be enough, though).
Scatty is offline                         Send a private message to Scatty
Reply With Quote
Old 09-06-2006, 10:38 PM   #7
chainsoar
Master Debater
 
chainsoar's Avatar


 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: London, England
Posts: 326
Default

I've tried increasing the cycles and it doesn't help. I'm just hoping it's not my pc that's the problem, as I'm not getting a new one for a while yet. I'm having the same trouble with all the games I run on dosbox, even Dune 2 is really slow.

Edit: I've changed some of the settings in dosbox.conf and it's running at a pretty good speed now, but I'm still having one problem with it - if I have the frameskip rate set to 0 the picture is all choppy, if I set it to 10 it's slow as hell, and there doesn't appear to be a perfect medium. Any ideas?
__________________
Quote:
Originally Posted by baruko View Post
How I download the game?
Quote:
Originally Posted by dosraider View Post
You click on 'Download this game'.
chainsoar is offline                         Send a private message to chainsoar
Reply With Quote
Old 10-06-2006, 09:50 AM   #8
Scatty
Treasure hunter
 
Scatty's Avatar

 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Little big small world
Posts: 1,860
Default

First you would need to tell about your PC's specs, I guess. If it's too slow, no settings in DosBox will help, might you try anything too.
Also increasing the CPU cycles above what your PC can handle will slow the emulation down again instead of helping. There's a certain maximum that differs for every computer.
Scatty is offline                         Send a private message to Scatty
Reply With Quote
Old 10-06-2006, 02:09 PM   #9
chainsoar
Master Debater
 
chainsoar's Avatar


 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: London, England
Posts: 326
Default

My pc is a Pentium 3 - 650mhz, 14.2gb HD and 128mb ram. I know it's crap. But is it too crap to run these games?
__________________
Quote:
Originally Posted by baruko View Post
How I download the game?
Quote:
Originally Posted by dosraider View Post
You click on 'Download this game'.
chainsoar is offline                         Send a private message to chainsoar
Reply With Quote
Old 10-06-2006, 02:53 PM   #10
Scatty
Treasure hunter
 
Scatty's Avatar

 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Little big small world
Posts: 1,860
Default

QUOTE(chainsoar @ Jun 10 2006, 01:09 PM) [snapback]235613[/snapback]
Quote:
My pc is a Pentium 3 - 650mhz, 14.2gb HD and 128mb ram. I know it's crap. But is it too crap to run these games?
[/b]
Oh mate, with that computer you can forget DosBox almost completely. Only the oldest weakest games would run on such computer in DosBox with sufficient speed. At least Pentium 4 with 2Ghz would be needed to play Ultima 8 in DosBox with good speed.
You might want to get a second HD or to split the one you have into two partitions and install Windows 98 on the second one. In that one you can play the Dos games without much trouble once you customized the autoexec.bat and config.sys files more appropriate, and play the games in Dos-Mode (Quit Windows - Start in Dos-Mode). Might need an old Soundblaster-default compatible soundcard though, like Soundblaster Live! that has the necessary drivers for the Dos environment.
Scatty is offline                         Send a private message to Scatty
Reply With Quote
Reply


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Ultima IV Blood-Pigggy On site 8 05-10-2008 10:54 AM
How About Ultima Ix? Prephax Gaming Zone 11 22-04-2007 11:37 PM
Ultima 4 TheChosen Gaming Zone 0 12-08-2005 01:14 PM
Ultima Vii Gun Man Troubleshooting 3 29-01-2005 10:40 PM
Ultima 7 Kestral Gaming Zone 4 31-12-2004 02:18 PM

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Forum Jump
 


The current time is 08:52 AM (GMT)

 
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.1
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.