Go Back   Forums > Community Chatterbox > Tech Corner
Memberlist Forum Rules Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read
Search Forums:
Click here to use Advanced Search

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 02-04-2007, 07:14 PM   #11
Mighty Midget
Pox Vobiscum
 
Mighty Midget's Avatar


 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: Krakeroy, Norway
Posts: 3,014
Default

It's NTFS alright. Question is what version and if that version differs too much from the XP version.
__________________
Je Suis Charlie
Mighty Midget is offline                         Send a private message to Mighty Midget
Reply With Quote
Old 02-04-2007, 10:16 PM   #12
Scatty
Treasure hunter
 
Scatty's Avatar

 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Little big small world
Posts: 1,861
Default

If I would be you I would take on this step and install everything from scratch, first XP then Vista. You don't need to backup all your data on the HD though, just defragment the drive and see if you can "cut off" some smaller part of your HD for a second partition without losing the data on the HD, before beginning with re-installing everything. If successful, all you need is just to delete all system and other folders that have to do with Vista, keeping all files in your own documents folder and everything else. Then install XP first and Vista after.

The advantages of re-installing both operating systems anew are:
- A fresh installation of both, not burdened with all installed programs and countless registry entries yet.
- Best guarantees of both operating systems working well together after such step, without need to worry about "re-animating" Vista after Windows XP has been installed

The disadvantage is clear - takes much time, work and patience. But maybe still worth it.
Scatty is offline                         Send a private message to Scatty
Reply With Quote
Old 02-04-2007, 10:19 PM   #13
Japo
Autonomous human
 
Japo's Avatar


 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: ,
Posts: 4,516
Default

I think NTFS is one and the same... I'm no expert though. I only forgot to say that what you've been said is a guess, you should inform yourself preferably from Microsoft.

I mean, it's known that this can be done installing Win95 then Win98 then WinXP etc... The most recent version detects the older one and installs a boot manager, that's why you must do it in the right order because an older version cannot detect a more recent version. So (I heard) Win98 detected Win95 and gave you the option to keep it, WinXP detected Win98... BUT nobody here has positively assured that Vista does the same with older versions. It's a fairly reasonable assumption but in my opinion you should inform yourself at Microsoft itself before starting to hack at your hard drive.
__________________
Life starts every day anew. Prospects not so good...
Japo is offline                         Send a private message to Japo
Reply With Quote
Old 03-04-2007, 06:40 AM   #14
gregor
Home Sweet Abandonia
 
gregor's Avatar

 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: Agalli, Albania
Posts: 1,021
Default

bah you can always use LILO or something like that for bootloader...

i had WIN98 and then i installed Red Hat linux. Worked ok.

1. defrag (so you don't lose any data
2. make partitions on emtpy space using a program like Partition magic (doesn't format the drive). whaever pleases you Fat 32, Fat 16, NTFS...
3. install desired system on the newly created partition.

item 3 - see my post above: system should be placed on first 5 or 6 GB of HDD. at least that goes for linux. but you can always check on microsoft how does that go for Win XP.
__________________
Crantius Colto: Fear not. You are safe here with me.
Lifts-Her-Tail: I must finish my cleaning, sir. The mistress will have my head if I do not!
Crantius Colto: Cleaning, eh? I have something for you. Here, polish my spear.
Lifts-Her-Tail: But it is huge! It could take me all night!
Crantius Colto: Plenty of time, my sweet. Plenty of time.
From The Lusty Argonian Maid by Crassius Curio found in TES3: Morrowind
gregor is offline                         Send a private message to gregor
Reply With Quote
Old 04-04-2007, 07:48 PM   #15
Mighty Midget
Pox Vobiscum
 
Mighty Midget's Avatar


 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: Krakeroy, Norway
Posts: 3,014
Default

SOLVED:

Partition: NTFS (actually, XP will format the partition if it's not)
Installed XP and drivers
Downloaded .NET 2.0 from Microsoft (needed to run VistaBootPRO)
Ran VistaBootPRO (free) via XP and fixed Vista
(the next steps "shouldn't" be neseccary if only everything worked. Of course it didn't, so: )
Copied NTLDR from Vista to the root of the XP partition
Copied NTDETECT from Vista to the root of the XP partition

Works like a charm and I have full access to both partitions in both Vista and XP.
__________________
Je Suis Charlie
Mighty Midget is offline                         Send a private message to Mighty Midget
Reply With Quote
Old 05-04-2007, 04:53 AM   #16
win98
In the loop on hardware.
 
win98's Avatar

 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Wellington, New Zealand
Posts: 890
Default

Well done. After hearing about your experience with vista I am going to stay awayfrom it no matter what.
win98 is offline                         Send a private message to win98
Reply With Quote
Old 05-04-2007, 08:32 AM   #17
Scatty
Treasure hunter
 
Scatty's Avatar

 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Little big small world
Posts: 1,861
Default

Same here :P
I don't see any need to install Vista as I have no troubles with XP. And with Vista come more then enough troubles. I would be stupid to want Vista
Scatty is offline                         Send a private message to Scatty
Reply With Quote
Old 05-04-2007, 12:00 PM   #18
Mighty Midget
Pox Vobiscum
 
Mighty Midget's Avatar


 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: Krakeroy, Norway
Posts: 3,014
Default

Agree that you don't need/want Vista, but I'll keep it since it's a legal version and MS will check your OS when you visit them. Beside: I don't know for a fact they won't fix the problems, and so I'll keep it waiting for any patches/service packs.
__________________
Je Suis Charlie
Mighty Midget is offline                         Send a private message to Mighty Midget
Reply With Quote
Old 05-04-2007, 08:40 PM   #19
win98
In the loop on hardware.
 
win98's Avatar

 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Wellington, New Zealand
Posts: 890
Default

Yeah I heard next year they are going to try and release a vista service pack. So maybe I will look at getting it again then.
win98 is offline                         Send a private message to win98
Reply With Quote
Reply


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Dual Boot Win9x/dos - How To? The Fifth Horseman Tech Corner 11 19-06-2006 01:01 PM
Windows Pro X64 And Dual Core Cpus efthimios Tech Corner 2 08-12-2005 03:22 PM
Onboard Audio+dual Boot Xp/dos Problem Hermann Tech Corner 12 07-06-2005 02:25 PM
Dual Boot With Dos WhiteKrAkRBOi Tech Corner 5 23-03-2005 09:44 PM
Sony In Dual Shock Trial JJXB Blah, blah, blah... 13 15-01-2005 10:18 AM

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump
 


The current time is 08:03 PM (GMT)

 
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.1
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.