Go Back   Forums > Abandonia.com > Games Discussion
Memberlist Forum Rules Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read
Search Forums:
Click here to use Advanced Search

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 01-12-2006, 12:59 AM   #11
Frodo
One ring to rule them all...
 
Frodo's Avatar

 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: Edinburgh, Scotland
Posts: 1,490
Default

Hmm, that's strange.
I just downloaded it, and started it with no problems with VDM Sound.

Maybe try downloading it again, and see if that helps?

__________________
Please click on the baby dragon eggs to help them grow -














Frodo is offline                         Send a private message to Frodo
Reply With Quote
Old 01-12-2006, 01:12 AM   #12
Guest
Guest
Default



Well tried setting up with some different settings and tried unzipping outside my Dosgames folder... nothing.. Running it from C:\Dragonsphere generates a critical error from VDMSound.. running it from C:\Dosgames\Dragonsphere it opens the VDMSound window, goes to a black full screen and crashes to the desktop with no errors.

I may see if that Digitized voice version comes through and see if that works.

((oh yeah.. I am actually a member here... just been so long I don't even remember my login :tai: LOL ))

Last edited by arete; 29-10-2009 at 06:59 AM. Reason: :)'s
                       
Reply With Quote
Old 01-12-2006, 01:30 AM   #13
rabadi
New(bie) Kid on the Linux Users' Block
 
rabadi's Avatar

 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Irving, United States
Posts: 499
Default

Nice one. I played it back in 1994 or 1995, along with Police Quest IV. I had to purchase a hint book, 'cause I could not solve it by my own. Recommended to adventure game fans. I love the story twist in the middle of the game

BTW, don't want to be a nitpick here, but IIRC the character name is Callash, not Callosh.

I must say I'm surprised to see Dragonsphere here, though. I remember the request being rejected in the past due to ESA protection. If it is okay for Dragonsphere, perhaps we can get Rex Nebular next (unless it is considered as a mature game)? Or, is it already hosted on Abandonia as well? (Too lazy to search)
rabadi is offline                         Send a private message to rabadi
Reply With Quote
Old 01-12-2006, 07:40 AM   #14
Alancer
Newbie

 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: ,
Posts: 2
Default

I just beat the sorceror and am trying to heal Lanie, but anytime I use an object it shuts down as soon as I am done using the object and in dos says

An error has occured, check to see if it is installed properally

Error "VariantLoadFailure" in module "<object>" data: 5108 5040

Most recent memory check: 31248
Most recent dos error: 2
Stack use indicator: 1174


And when i load up the game again, and resume, it takes me right to where i was wiht the object used and everything, but as soon as i use another object, it shuts me down again



This is an enjoyable game and I would love to keep playing, any help is appreciated.
Alancer is offline                         Send a private message to Alancer
Reply With Quote
Old 01-12-2006, 02:52 PM   #15
Frodo
One ring to rule them all...
 
Frodo's Avatar

 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: Edinburgh, Scotland
Posts: 1,490
Default

@ ScytheKnight
I don't know what is causing your problems. I have had no problems using VDM Sound.
Can you try using DosBox, and see it that makes a difference?



@ Alancer
What are you using to run the game. It doesn't work in Windows, you need DoxBox or VDM Sound. k:


__________________
Please click on the baby dragon eggs to help them grow -














Frodo is offline                         Send a private message to Frodo
Reply With Quote
Old 01-12-2006, 03:10 PM   #16
Kosta
10 GOSUB Abandonia
20 GOTO 10
 
Kosta's Avatar


 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: Ranelagh, Ireland
Posts: 1,577
Default

Added the speech pack to the extras section! Many thanks to red_avatar for providing it! I've kept the game archive without it for people with slower connections. Also, the new archive is from red_avatar so people that had problems, try re-downloading this one, perhaps it will be more compatible!
__________________


Kosta is offline                         Send a private message to Kosta
Reply With Quote
Old 01-12-2006, 04:24 PM   #17
The Fifth Horseman
FUTURE SCIENCE BASTARD
 
The Fifth Horseman's Avatar


 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: Opole, Poland
Posts: 14,264
Default

Quote:
If it is okay for Dragonsphere, perhaps we can get Rex Nebular next (unless it is considered as a mature game)?
According to Oldwarez list it's Abandonware.
I think I'll go and review it.
__________________

"God. Can't you people see I'm trying to commit a crime against science and nature here?"
-- Reed Richards

Last edited by arete; 29-10-2009 at 07:00 AM. Reason: fixed code
The Fifth Horseman is offline                         Send a private message to The Fifth Horseman
Reply With Quote
Old 01-12-2006, 04:48 PM   #18
Mighty Midget
Pox Vobiscum
 
Mighty Midget's Avatar


 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: Krakeroy, Norway
Posts: 3,014
Default

I'm running it with VDMSound, and after setting the correct irq, I got it working but: No speech. I unpacked the speechpack into the directory and selected SB16 for speech at 220, 5, 1. (I/O, irq, dma). I have an AC97 audio.
__________________
Je Suis Charlie
Mighty Midget is offline                         Send a private message to Mighty Midget
Reply With Quote
Old 01-12-2006, 06:07 PM   #19
Alancer
Newbie

 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: ,
Posts: 2
Default

VDM Sound, but I guess I will try Dos Box and see if it makes a difference.


THe entire game worked up until now.
Alancer is offline                         Send a private message to Alancer
Reply With Quote
Old 01-12-2006, 08:48 PM   #20
red_avatar
Administrator
 
red_avatar's Avatar


 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Roeselare, Belgium
Posts: 1,441
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by Mighty Midget @ Dec 1 2006, 05:48 PM

I'm running it with VDMSound, and after setting the correct irq, I got it working but: No speech. I unpacked the speechpack into the directory and selected SB16 for speech at 220, 5, 1. (I/O, irq, dma). I have an AC97 audio.
VDMSound will NOT work for speech. Dragonsphere and other Microprose adventure games (for example, Return of the Phantom) had problems with speech on both VDMS and Dosbox. The programmers for DOSBOX found the solution, however, and since 0.65 these games will now fully function WITH sound.

The archive I uploaded is pre-set up and you should not change anything so PLEASE DON'T before making sure the sound works or not.
__________________


Last edited by arete; 29-10-2009 at 07:00 AM. Reason: html removed
red_avatar is offline                         Send a private message to red_avatar
Reply With Quote
Reply


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Dragonsphere Luchsen D 1 07-05-2011 08:28 AM
Ems Issues With Dragonsphere? Lozzenger2 Troubleshooting 14 13-12-2006 02:22 PM
Dragonsphere mario1245 Old Suggestions 1 13-05-2006 05:10 PM
Running Dragonsphere Without Cd Guest Troubleshooting 3 29-04-2006 03:20 AM
problem with Dragonsphere wendymaree Troubleshooting 23 27-09-2004 09:08 AM

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump
 


The current time is 11:37 AM (GMT)

 
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.1
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.