Go Back   Forums > Abandonia.com > Troubleshooting
Memberlist Forum Rules Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read
Search Forums:
Click here to use Advanced Search

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 12-01-2005, 03:49 AM   #1
thecat1433
Guest
Thumbs up

i download games and when i try to install/run them, it turns the whole screen black....then when i go into task manager, it says the name of the game followed by FROZEN...what do i do?
                       
Reply With Quote
Old 12-01-2005, 06:41 AM   #2
Eagle of Fire
Friendly Fire
 
Eagle of Fire's Avatar

 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: Valleyfield, Canada
Posts: 4,892
Default

Assuming you use Windows XP, use DOSBox or VDMSound with the program.
__________________
I'm on a hot streak... Literally.
Proud member of The Abandoned since 2005.
Eagle of Fire is offline                         Send a private message to Eagle of Fire
Reply With Quote
Old 12-01-2005, 06:45 AM   #3
The Fifth Horseman
FUTURE SCIENCE BASTARD
 
The Fifth Horseman's Avatar


 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: Opole, Poland
Posts: 14,276
Default

Yep, DosBox should solve it all. You see, all of these games were created back in time before Microsoft came up with Windows XP or 98. Hell, some of them were made way back before Windows 3.x. Because of that, they are coded in a completely different way and most of them require a DOS emulator to work.

Here is the link, so don't jump out with a newb question like "how to download". Everything you need is written in the readme.
__________________

"God. Can't you people see I'm trying to commit a crime against science and nature here?"
-- Reed Richards
The Fifth Horseman is offline                         Send a private message to The Fifth Horseman
Reply With Quote
Old 12-01-2005, 06:57 AM   #4
Eagle of Fire
Friendly Fire
 
Eagle of Fire's Avatar

 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: Valleyfield, Canada
Posts: 4,892
Default

Most games on this site been designed for DOS, which came way before any other operating system since DOS was the first OS on the PC.
__________________
I'm on a hot streak... Literally.
Proud member of The Abandoned since 2005.
Eagle of Fire is offline                         Send a private message to Eagle of Fire
Reply With Quote
Old 12-01-2005, 07:41 AM   #5
thecat1433
Guest
Default

i downloaded DosBox, and it didnt do anything...and if it did, it was the same thing...the only thing i have gotten to work is KQ1&2...
                       
Reply With Quote
Old 12-01-2005, 07:50 AM   #6
Eagle of Fire
Friendly Fire
 
Eagle of Fire's Avatar

 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: Valleyfield, Canada
Posts: 4,892
Default

Could you give us more details? Like which game you are trying to run, what is the specs of your computer and which OS exactly you are using?

We can't help you much without.
__________________
I'm on a hot streak... Literally.
Proud member of The Abandoned since 2005.
Eagle of Fire is offline                         Send a private message to Eagle of Fire
Reply With Quote
Old 12-01-2005, 07:57 AM   #7
thecat1433
Guest
Default

yeah, sorry...i am trying to run KQ3,4,5, lemmings, TIC, alone in the dark, etc...
im on a PC with windows 2000...my dad is the director of IT for a large company, and he cant even figure it out...
                       
Reply With Quote
Old 12-01-2005, 08:20 AM   #8
Eagle of Fire
Friendly Fire
 
Eagle of Fire's Avatar

 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: Valleyfield, Canada
Posts: 4,892
Default

Those are all adventure games so I can't really help you here. Better wait for someone else with knowledge in those games to log in to help you.

I do know that Windows 2000 have awfull compatibility tough.
__________________
I'm on a hot streak... Literally.
Proud member of The Abandoned since 2005.
Eagle of Fire is offline                         Send a private message to Eagle of Fire
Reply With Quote
Old 12-01-2005, 08:30 AM   #9
The Fifth Horseman
FUTURE SCIENCE BASTARD
 
The Fifth Horseman's Avatar


 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: Opole, Poland
Posts: 14,276
Default

Did you ran these games from DosBox? This is they key thing to do...

However, it might happen that your download has been corrupted and you simply have to d/l these titles again.
__________________

"God. Can't you people see I'm trying to commit a crime against science and nature here?"
-- Reed Richards
The Fifth Horseman is offline                         Send a private message to The Fifth Horseman
Reply With Quote
Reply


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
how do you get the games to work? joshua999 Troubleshooting 19 23-01-2009 07:03 PM
Will This Work ? FISHCHAIR Forum Games 643 02-03-2007 07:43 AM
I Have Downloaded Games But I Can't Get Them To Work Katherine Troubleshooting 2 02-02-2007 12:27 PM
Net-work Help Bp103 Tech Corner 20 20-03-2006 06:56 PM
How To Get More Comples Games To Work In Winxp Koen Troubleshooting 19 04-01-2005 11:15 PM

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Forum Jump
 


The current time is 10:21 AM (GMT)

 
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.1
Copyright ©2000 - 2024, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.