Go Back   Forums > Abandonia.com > Troubleshooting
Memberlist Forum Rules Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read
Search Forums:
Click here to use Advanced Search

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 01-05-2013, 03:50 PM   #1
Deamento
Newbie

 
Join Date: May 2013
Posts: 9
Unhappy Goldbox games don't save

Hello everyone.
So I tried to play Pool of Radiance via dosbox, when I made a character, the game asked me to insert disk 3 and then froze.
I thought this was just a bug for that game so I tried Champions of Krynn.
Did the same thing, it gave me an error.
Is there any kind of fix for this?
Cheers!
Deamento is offline                         Send a private message to Deamento
Reply With Quote
Old 01-05-2013, 04:43 PM   #2
Japo
Autonomous human
 
Japo's Avatar


 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: ,
Posts: 4,453
Default

What exact error is Champions of Krynn producing?

Quote:
Originally Posted by The_Mofo View Post
Whenever I try and create a character it says "unexpected error during save: 3hali" I've tried everything I know to do, anyone know how to help? :help:
Quote:
Originally Posted by Krysty View Post
These old games are picky about where you put them in the directory. Make sure your COK folder is under your main directory C:\COK. The save error should resolve.
Dunno about Pool of Radiance because we don't have it (do you want to review it? ), but it may be the same.
__________________
Life starts every day anew. Prospects not so good.
Japo is offline                         Send a private message to Japo
Reply With Quote
Old 01-05-2013, 04:54 PM   #3
Deamento
Newbie

 
Join Date: May 2013
Posts: 9
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Japo View Post
What exact error is Champions of Krynn producing?




Dunno about Pool of Radiance because we don't have it (do you want to review it? ), but it may be the same.
it says: unexpected error during save: 3hali
and i might review pool of radiance =D
Deamento is offline                         Send a private message to Deamento
Reply With Quote
Old 01-05-2013, 05:24 PM   #4
Japo
Autonomous human
 
Japo's Avatar


 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: ,
Posts: 4,453
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Deamento View Post
and i might review pool of radiance =D
That would be neato!

Quote:
Originally Posted by Deamento View Post
it says: unexpected error during save: 3hali
and i might review pool of radiance =D
So your solution is in the second quote below: the game folder must be mounted inside DOSBox as "C:\COK\"

If you don't know how to do this, tell us how you're starting the game and DOSBox and we'll help you.
__________________
Life starts every day anew. Prospects not so good.
Japo is offline                         Send a private message to Japo
Reply With Quote
Old 01-05-2013, 05:29 PM   #5
Deamento
Newbie

 
Join Date: May 2013
Posts: 9
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Japo View Post
That would be neato!


So your solution is in the second quote below: the game folder must be mounted inside DOSBox as "C:\COK\"

If you don't know how to do this, tell us how you're starting the game and DOSBox and we'll help you.
i start the game by typing this
MOUNT C: C:\COK
C:
START

Last edited by Deamento; 01-05-2013 at 05:51 PM.
Deamento is offline                         Send a private message to Deamento
Reply With Quote
Old 01-05-2013, 05:54 PM   #6
Japo
Autonomous human
 
Japo's Avatar


 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: ,
Posts: 4,453
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Deamento View Post
i start the game by typing this
MOUNT C: C:\COK
C:
START
That's the problem.

- Create a new folder "C:\Krynn"

- Move "COK" into that new folder, so you now have "C:\Krynn\COK"

- Start the game by typing:
Code:
mount c c:\krynn
c:
cd cok
start
It will work
__________________
Life starts every day anew. Prospects not so good.

Last edited by Japo; 05-05-2013 at 09:00 AM.
Japo is offline                         Send a private message to Japo
Reply With Quote
Old 01-05-2013, 06:01 PM   #7
Deamento
Newbie

 
Join Date: May 2013
Posts: 9
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Japo View Post
That's the problem.

- Create a new folder "C:\Krynn"

- Move "COK" into that new folder, so you now have "C:\Krynn\COK"

- Start the game by typing:
Code:
mount c: c:\krynn
c:
cd cok
start
It will work
I did what you said, still the same
could you show me your CFG file please?

Last edited by Deamento; 01-05-2013 at 06:12 PM.
Deamento is offline                         Send a private message to Deamento
Reply With Quote
Old 01-05-2013, 07:19 PM   #8
Japo
Autonomous human
 
Japo's Avatar


 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: ,
Posts: 4,453
Default

First things first, check that when you type "start" the prompt looks like this:



If the prompt looks any different, for example "C:\>", you will get the error.

I don't think that's what you're missing, but my conf file for this test was the result of running "start menu > DOSBox-0.74 > Reset Options":

Code:
# This is the configurationfile for DOSBox 0.74. (Please use the latest version of DOSBox)
# Lines starting with a # are commentlines and are ignored by DOSBox.
# They are used to (briefly) document the effect of each option.

[sdl]
#       fullscreen: Start dosbox directly in fullscreen. (Press ALT-Enter to go back)
#       fulldouble: Use double buffering in fullscreen. It can reduce screen flickering, but it can also result in a slow DOSBox.
#   fullresolution: What resolution to use for fullscreen: original or fixed size (e.g. 1024x768).
#                     Using your monitor's native resolution with aspect=true might give the best results.
#                     If you end up with small window on a large screen, try an output different from surface.
# windowresolution: Scale the window to this size IF the output device supports hardware scaling.
#                     (output=surface does not!)
#           output: What video system to use for output.
#                   Possible values: surface, overlay, opengl, openglnb, ddraw.
#         autolock: Mouse will automatically lock, if you click on the screen. (Press CTRL-F10 to unlock)
#      sensitivity: Mouse sensitivity.
#      waitonerror: Wait before closing the console if dosbox has an error.
#         priority: Priority levels for dosbox. Second entry behind the comma is for when dosbox is not focused/minimized.
#                     pause is only valid for the second entry.
#                   Possible values: lowest, lower, normal, higher, highest, pause.
#       mapperfile: File used to load/save the key/event mappings from. Resetmapper only works with the defaul value.
#     usescancodes: Avoid usage of symkeys, might not work on all operating systems.

fullscreen=false
fulldouble=false
fullresolution=original
windowresolution=original
output=surface
autolock=true
sensitivity=100
waitonerror=true
priority=higher,normal
mapperfile=mapper-0.74.map
usescancodes=true

[dosbox]
# language: Select another language file.
#  machine: The type of machine tries to emulate.
#           Possible values: hercules, cga, tandy, pcjr, ega, vgaonly, svga_s3, svga_et3000, svga_et4000, svga_paradise, vesa_nolfb, vesa_oldvbe.
# captures: Directory where things like wave, midi, screenshot get captured.
#  memsize: Amount of memory DOSBox has in megabytes.
#             This value is best left at its default to avoid problems with some games,
#             though few games might require a higher value.
#             There is generally no speed advantage when raising this value.

language=
machine=svga_s3
captures=capture
memsize=16

[render]
# frameskip: How many frames DOSBox skips before drawing one.
#    aspect: Do aspect correction, if your output method doesn't support scaling this can slow things down!.
#    scaler: Scaler used to enlarge/enhance low resolution modes.
#              If 'forced' is appended, then the scaler will be used even if the result might not be desired.
#            Possible values: none, normal2x, normal3x, advmame2x, advmame3x, advinterp2x, advinterp3x, hq2x, hq3x, 2xsai, super2xsai, supereagle, tv2x, tv3x, rgb2x, rgb3x, scan2x, scan3x.

frameskip=0
aspect=false
scaler=normal2x

[cpu]
#      core: CPU Core used in emulation. auto will switch to dynamic if available and appropriate.
#            Possible values: auto, dynamic, normal, simple.
#   cputype: CPU Type used in emulation. auto is the fastest choice.
#            Possible values: auto, 386, 386_slow, 486_slow, pentium_slow, 386_prefetch.
#    cycles: Amount of instructions DOSBox tries to emulate each millisecond.
#            Setting this value too high results in sound dropouts and lags.
#            Cycles can be set in 3 ways:
#              'auto'          tries to guess what a game needs.
#                              It usually works, but can fail for certain games.
#              'fixed #number' will set a fixed amount of cycles. This is what you usually need if 'auto' fails.
#                              (Example: fixed 4000).
#              'max'           will allocate as much cycles as your computer is able to handle.
#            
#            Possible values: auto, fixed, max.
#   cycleup: Amount of cycles to decrease/increase with keycombo.(CTRL-F11/CTRL-F12)
# cycledown: Setting it lower than 100 will be a percentage.

core=auto
cputype=auto
cycles=auto
cycleup=10
cycledown=20

[mixer]
#   nosound: Enable silent mode, sound is still emulated though.
#      rate: Mixer sample rate, setting any device's rate higher than this will probably lower their sound quality.
#            Possible values: 44100, 48000, 32000, 22050, 16000, 11025, 8000, 49716.
# blocksize: Mixer block size, larger blocks might help sound stuttering but sound will also be more lagged.
#            Possible values: 1024, 2048, 4096, 8192, 512, 256.
# prebuffer: How many milliseconds of data to keep on top of the blocksize.

nosound=false
rate=44100
blocksize=1024
prebuffer=20

[midi]
#     mpu401: Type of MPU-401 to emulate.
#             Possible values: intelligent, uart, none.
# mididevice: Device that will receive the MIDI data from MPU-401.
#             Possible values: default, win32, alsa, oss, coreaudio, coremidi, none.
# midiconfig: Special configuration options for the device driver. This is usually the id of the device you want to use.
#               See the README/Manual for more details.

mpu401=intelligent
mididevice=default
midiconfig=

[sblaster]
#  sbtype: Type of Soundblaster to emulate. gb is Gameblaster.
#          Possible values: sb1, sb2, sbpro1, sbpro2, sb16, gb, none.
#  sbbase: The IO address of the soundblaster.
#          Possible values: 220, 240, 260, 280, 2a0, 2c0, 2e0, 300.
#     irq: The IRQ number of the soundblaster.
#          Possible values: 7, 5, 3, 9, 10, 11, 12.
#     dma: The DMA number of the soundblaster.
#          Possible values: 1, 5, 0, 3, 6, 7.
#    hdma: The High DMA number of the soundblaster.
#          Possible values: 1, 5, 0, 3, 6, 7.
# sbmixer: Allow the soundblaster mixer to modify the DOSBox mixer.
# oplmode: Type of OPL emulation. On 'auto' the mode is determined by sblaster type. All OPL modes are Adlib-compatible, except for 'cms'.
#          Possible values: auto, cms, opl2, dualopl2, opl3, none.
#  oplemu: Provider for the OPL emulation. compat might provide better quality (see oplrate as well).
#          Possible values: default, compat, fast.
# oplrate: Sample rate of OPL music emulation. Use 49716 for highest quality (set the mixer rate accordingly).
#          Possible values: 44100, 49716, 48000, 32000, 22050, 16000, 11025, 8000.

sbtype=sb16
sbbase=220
irq=7
dma=1
hdma=5
sbmixer=true
oplmode=auto
oplemu=default
oplrate=44100

[gus]
#      gus: Enable the Gravis Ultrasound emulation.
#  gusrate: Sample rate of Ultrasound emulation.
#           Possible values: 44100, 48000, 32000, 22050, 16000, 11025, 8000, 49716.
#  gusbase: The IO base address of the Gravis Ultrasound.
#           Possible values: 240, 220, 260, 280, 2a0, 2c0, 2e0, 300.
#   gusirq: The IRQ number of the Gravis Ultrasound.
#           Possible values: 5, 3, 7, 9, 10, 11, 12.
#   gusdma: The DMA channel of the Gravis Ultrasound.
#           Possible values: 3, 0, 1, 5, 6, 7.
# ultradir: Path to Ultrasound directory. In this directory
#           there should be a MIDI directory that contains
#           the patch files for GUS playback. Patch sets used
#           with Timidity should work fine.

gus=false
gusrate=44100
gusbase=240
gusirq=5
gusdma=3
ultradir=C:\ULTRASND

[speaker]
# pcspeaker: Enable PC-Speaker emulation.
#    pcrate: Sample rate of the PC-Speaker sound generation.
#            Possible values: 44100, 48000, 32000, 22050, 16000, 11025, 8000, 49716.
#     tandy: Enable Tandy Sound System emulation. For 'auto', emulation is present only if machine is set to 'tandy'.
#            Possible values: auto, on, off.
# tandyrate: Sample rate of the Tandy 3-Voice generation.
#            Possible values: 44100, 48000, 32000, 22050, 16000, 11025, 8000, 49716.
#    disney: Enable Disney Sound Source emulation. (Covox Voice Master and Speech Thing compatible).

pcspeaker=true
pcrate=44100
tandy=auto
tandyrate=44100
disney=true

[joystick]
# joysticktype: Type of joystick to emulate: auto (default), none,
#               2axis (supports two joysticks),
#               4axis (supports one joystick, first joystick used),
#               4axis_2 (supports one joystick, second joystick used),
#               fcs (Thrustmaster), ch (CH Flightstick).
#               none disables joystick emulation.
#               auto chooses emulation depending on real joystick(s).
#               (Remember to reset dosbox's mapperfile if you saved it earlier)
#               Possible values: auto, 2axis, 4axis, 4axis_2, fcs, ch, none.
#        timed: enable timed intervals for axis. Experiment with this option, if your joystick drifts (away).
#     autofire: continuously fires as long as you keep the button pressed.
#       swap34: swap the 3rd and the 4th axis. can be useful for certain joysticks.
#   buttonwrap: enable button wrapping at the number of emulated buttons.

joysticktype=auto
timed=true
autofire=false
swap34=false
buttonwrap=false

[serial]
# serial1: set type of device connected to com port.
#          Can be disabled, dummy, modem, nullmodem, directserial.
#          Additional parameters must be in the same line in the form of
#          parameter:value. Parameter for all types is irq (optional).
#          for directserial: realport (required), rxdelay (optional).
#                           (realport:COM1 realport:ttyS0).
#          for modem: listenport (optional).
#          for nullmodem: server, rxdelay, txdelay, telnet, usedtr,
#                         transparent, port, inhsocket (all optional).
#          Example: serial1=modem listenport:5000
#          Possible values: dummy, disabled, modem, nullmodem, directserial.
# serial2: see serial1
#          Possible values: dummy, disabled, modem, nullmodem, directserial.
# serial3: see serial1
#          Possible values: dummy, disabled, modem, nullmodem, directserial.
# serial4: see serial1
#          Possible values: dummy, disabled, modem, nullmodem, directserial.

serial1=dummy
serial2=dummy
serial3=disabled
serial4=disabled

[dos]
#            xms: Enable XMS support.
#            ems: Enable EMS support.
#            umb: Enable UMB support.
# keyboardlayout: Language code of the keyboard layout (or none).

xms=true
ems=true
umb=true
keyboardlayout=auto

[ipx]
# ipx: Enable ipx over UDP/IP emulation.

ipx=false

[autoexec]
# Lines in this section will be run at startup.
# You can put your MOUNT lines here.
__________________
Life starts every day anew. Prospects not so good.
Japo is offline                         Send a private message to Japo
Reply With Quote
Old 01-05-2013, 08:05 PM   #9
Deamento
Newbie

 
Join Date: May 2013
Posts: 9
Default

i meant the COK config file actually
anyway, my line of code is the same
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	COK.png
Views:	152
Size:	15.7 KB
ID:	1790  
Deamento is offline                         Send a private message to Deamento
Reply With Quote
Old 01-05-2013, 08:44 PM   #10
BentleyVA
Abandonia nerd

 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: Richmond, United States
Posts: 77
Default

Part of the problem might be that that the pool.cfg file has a line in it for where both the game is and where the saves go. I have a similar problem when I try to run Pool of radiance that is setup for dosbox in regular windows. My pool.cfg file is as follows:

E
P
C:\POOLRAD\
C:\POOLRAD\
N

But the game is installed in C:\DOSROOT\POOLRAD

The drive is mounted as MOUNT C: C:\DOSROOT.

All of the gold/silver box games as like this if I remember correctly.
BentleyVA is offline                         Send a private message to BentleyVA
Reply With Quote
Reply


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
X-com Apocalyse Save Games Tobu Troubleshooting 4 14-07-2006 03:53 PM
Kyrandia 2 Save Games xberserkx Troubleshooting 1 16-04-2006 10:04 PM
I Cant Save Games In Goblins 3 natyfonti Troubleshooting 2 08-05-2005 04:47 PM
Dosbox + How To Save Games? unR Troubleshooting 1 01-02-2005 04:00 PM
How Do I Save Games? Matt Troubleshooting 7 28-01-2005 01:09 PM

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Forum Jump
 


The current time is 10:26 PM (GMT)

 
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.1
Copyright ©2000 - 2018, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.