Go Back   Forums > Abandonia.com > Troubleshooting
Memberlist Forum Rules Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read
Search Forums:
Click here to use Advanced Search

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 22-03-2008, 12:18 PM   #1
jetsetwilly
Newbie

 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Posts: 5
Default Newbie HELP

Hi

OK, I downloaded Lemmings and extracted it into C:\oldgames\Lemmings

I downloaded DosBox 0.72

I downloaded NC C:\oldgames\NC

I followed the instructions on the forum.....

So I did the MOUNT C C:\
Then C:

Then CD NC
install

The NC thing opens up fine. I continued to do as the site says.

Then the instructions stop. The website says now exit Dos, happy gaming (or somehting similar)

How do I play the game?

Also, when I open up DOSBOX again, it reverts to the Z: so I have to type all the MOUNT C etc again.

What am I doing wrong?

Windows Vista BTW
jetsetwilly is offline                         Send a private message to jetsetwilly
Reply With Quote
Old 22-03-2008, 01:17 PM   #2
Geezer
Abandonia Homie
 
Geezer's Avatar

 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Brooklyn, United States
Posts: 667
Default

NC has nothing to do with the game.

Start DOSBox and type mount c c:\oldgames and press enter
then type c: and press enter
then type cd lemmings and press enter
then run the game by typing whatever program you use to start the game.
__________________
"The gadfly has returned! Thou simpering, whining stable dropping. I have defeated thee repeatedly and still thou darest crawl back for more punishment. Chastise thee I shall. Thy stature is insignificant and thy name moronic. Brother to the vole! Offspring of money grubbing know nothings!" ... Spellcraft: Aspects of Valor
Geezer is offline                         Send a private message to Geezer
Reply With Quote
Old 22-03-2008, 01:21 PM   #3
olemars
Forum hobbit

 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Stavanger, Norway
Posts: 33
Default

I would take the easy way out and just use a DOSBox frontend like D-fend Reloaded or D.O.G.
olemars is offline                         Send a private message to olemars
Reply With Quote
Old 22-03-2008, 01:57 PM   #4
jetsetwilly
Newbie

 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Posts: 5
Default

OK, done that. Now it says C:\lemmings>

What now?
jetsetwilly is offline                         Send a private message to jetsetwilly
Reply With Quote
Old 22-03-2008, 01:59 PM   #5
jetsetwilly
Newbie

 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Posts: 5
Default

YOu say type in what program I use to run the program? Now I am confused, I thought it ran in DOS
jetsetwilly is offline                         Send a private message to jetsetwilly
Reply With Quote
Old 22-03-2008, 02:11 PM   #6
olemars
Forum hobbit

 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Stavanger, Norway
Posts: 33
Default

He meant the game executable, which in the case of lemmings is lemmings.bat. So when you're at c:\Lemmings> just type lemmings again and hit enter.

If DOS is something you've never tangled with, I'd suggest using one of the frontends I mentioned. That'll let you do things the windows way.
olemars is offline                         Send a private message to olemars
Reply With Quote
Old 22-03-2008, 02:13 PM   #7
jetsetwilly
Newbie

 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Posts: 5
Default

Ok, great let me try THANKS
jetsetwilly is offline                         Send a private message to jetsetwilly
Reply With Quote
Old 22-03-2008, 02:15 PM   #8
jetsetwilly
Newbie

 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Posts: 5
Default

Ok, that does open the game, but it gives options EGA/VGA etc

When i try to progress, the screen goes blank and the monitor goes into power save as though nothing is coming through
jetsetwilly is offline                         Send a private message to jetsetwilly
Reply With Quote
Old 22-03-2008, 02:18 PM   #9
Kloudstriker
Newbie

 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Indianapolis, United States
Posts: 9
Default

I'd use D-Fend Reloaded, as the installation includes Dosbox as well. Check it out here;

http://dfendreloaded.sourceforge.net/

After installation, you simply choose what language and it's ready to go. All you need to do is add a new game and point to the executable. You have the option to further configure, but for simplicity's sake just choose language and go from there.

Hope this helps...there are also easy to follow instructions that come with D-Fend Reloaded.
Kloudstriker is offline                         Send a private message to Kloudstriker
Reply With Quote
Old 22-03-2008, 11:00 PM   #10
The Fifth Horseman
FUTURE SCIENCE BASTARD
 
The Fifth Horseman's Avatar


 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: Opole, Poland
Posts: 14,264
Default

The instructions in the Beginner's guide don't stop at that point. They only use one pretty generic example, yes, but that's because it would be nonsensical to add one to each game.

By the way, have you added Norton Commander to the Autoexec portion of the config file? Doing that gives you a handy graphical interface (OK, it's a notch on the crude side, but makes starting games much, much easier).
__________________

"God. Can't you people see I'm trying to commit a crime against science and nature here?"
-- Reed Richards
The Fifth Horseman is offline                         Send a private message to The Fifth Horseman
Reply With Quote
Reply


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Hello,I'm a newbie! KlinH4xx0r Blah, blah, blah... 12 09-11-2008 03:23 PM
I'm A Newbie :p Razor Troubleshooting 16 27-01-2006 05:51 AM
Help The Newbie dazzer27 Troubleshooting 1 13-01-2005 12:16 AM
Help A Newbie Pharaoh Blah, blah, blah... 9 21-12-2004 11:53 PM
Newbie bgkv77 Troubleshooting 1 12-09-2004 02:17 PM

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Forum Jump
 


The current time is 08:38 PM (GMT)

 
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.1
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.