Go Back   Forums > Community Chatterbox > Tech Corner
Memberlist Forum Rules Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read
Search Forums:
Click here to use Advanced Search

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 04-04-2007, 05:28 PM   #1
Mighty Midget
Pox Vobiscum
 
Mighty Midget's Avatar


 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: Krakeroy, Norway
Posts: 3,014
Default

Ok, in the device manager (XP), there is a problem with two devices, both relating to my video card. Problem is that I can't install any drivers because "there are no drivers installed" (!!!!!). I guess the PCI device connects my video card, because the machine can't tell I have a card at all (NVIDIA GeForce 7500 LE).

Second, all sound devices "work properly", except I can't get any sound because there are no sound devices installed... *sigh* (there is no volume slider, btw)

Any ideas of what's going on and how to fix it? Thanks.

EDIT: I can't post the screenshot of the device manager for whatever reason.
__________________
Je Suis Charlie
Mighty Midget is offline                         Send a private message to Mighty Midget
Reply With Quote
Old 04-04-2007, 06:06 PM   #2
The Fifth Horseman
FUTURE SCIENCE BASTARD
 
The Fifth Horseman's Avatar


 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: Opole, Poland
Posts: 14,264
Default

Run the driver setup programs from driver CD that should have come with the computer or parts in question.

Did everything work correctly before?
__________________

"God. Can't you people see I'm trying to commit a crime against science and nature here?"
-- Reed Richards
The Fifth Horseman is offline                         Send a private message to The Fifth Horseman
Reply With Quote
Old 04-04-2007, 06:42 PM   #3
Mighty Midget
Pox Vobiscum
 
Mighty Midget's Avatar


 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: Krakeroy, Norway
Posts: 3,014
Default

Well, everything works in Vista, but not in XP. About cds: When I bought the PC there were only a recovery dvd for Vista, but none for the audio/video/pci drivers.

PC:
Fujitsu/Siemens SCALEO P with Realtech High Definition Audio.
About the PCI thing, I have no idea.

EDIT: Semi-solution:

Sound:
I downloaded Realtek_V5.10.00.5560_XP from Realtek and WDM_R164 via Fujitsu/Siemens. The first didn't have an exe but the other had (XP was unable to recognize the existence of any soundcard/chips). I ran the exe and got the sound with a warning that the installation was botched for no specific reason. In device manager everything seems ok though.

Video:
I downloaded the 93.71_forceware_winxp2k_english_whql and GeForce101.41_winvista_32bit_english from NVIDIA (both exe). I ran one of them (can't remember which DOH). Now the PC recognice my video card. BUT: During installation the screen went black and I had to violently re-boot. No problems so far.
The troublesome PCI device also disappeared from the list.
__________________
Je Suis Charlie
Mighty Midget is offline                         Send a private message to Mighty Midget
Reply With Quote
Old 05-04-2007, 01:08 AM   #4
_r.u.s.s.
I'm not Russ
but an ex-alektorophobic
 
_r.u.s.s.'s Avatar


 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: Nitra, Slovakia
Posts: 6,533
Default

did you try downloading those audio codecs for high definition audio? http://www.realtek.com.tw/downloads/downlo...p;GetDown=false

they also said (on siemens site) that you ll need this patch from microsoft to get hda to work
http://support.microsoft.com/kb/835221

about the forceware..if i were you, i d reinstall it
__________________
_r.u.s.s. is offline                         Send a private message to _r.u.s.s.
Reply With Quote
Old 05-04-2007, 04:57 AM   #5
win98
In the loop on hardware.
 
win98's Avatar

 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Wellington, New Zealand
Posts: 890
Default

Make sure that the Nvida drivers support the card. They should because that card is resonably new and especally since they are the latest version but you never know.
win98 is offline                         Send a private message to win98
Reply With Quote
Old 05-04-2007, 07:15 AM   #6
gregor
Home Sweet Abandonia
 
gregor's Avatar

 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: Agalli, Albania
Posts: 1,021
Default

here is what i am interested in. if you have Win XP and Vista gives you troubles, then why do you want to have Vista on computer?

As i get it it was preinstalled, right? well make a new partition and transfer the data you need to it, then format the system partiaiton and install Win XP.

Oh yeah and those non existant drivers and devices make me mad as well. same was doing under my Win98 when i installed the new motherboard. but with win XP and latest drives problems were then solved.
__________________
Crantius Colto: Fear not. You are safe here with me.
Lifts-Her-Tail: I must finish my cleaning, sir. The mistress will have my head if I do not!
Crantius Colto: Cleaning, eh? I have something for you. Here, polish my spear.
Lifts-Her-Tail: But it is huge! It could take me all night!
Crantius Colto: Plenty of time, my sweet. Plenty of time.
From The Lusty Argonian Maid by Crassius Curio found in TES3: Morrowind
gregor is offline                         Send a private message to gregor
Reply With Quote
Old 05-04-2007, 07:45 AM   #7
velik_m
Game Wizzard

 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: Agalli, Albania
Posts: 271
Default

it looks to me like you have problems with motherboard drivers.
__________________
To the east, always to the east...
velik_m is offline                         Send a private message to velik_m
Reply With Quote
Old 05-04-2007, 09:39 AM   #8
win98
In the loop on hardware.
 
win98's Avatar

 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Wellington, New Zealand
Posts: 890
Default

Just remembered. Do you hvae your motherboards chipset drivers installed. If not download the latest ones of the pc manufactures website. If you do make sure you have the latest ones for your motherboard and you may need to google if they don't have them on the manufactures site.
win98 is offline                         Send a private message to win98
Reply With Quote
Old 05-04-2007, 09:56 AM   #9
_r.u.s.s.
I'm not Russ
but an ex-alektorophobic
 
_r.u.s.s.'s Avatar


 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: Nitra, Slovakia
Posts: 6,533
Default

just remembered? velik_m just said it ?o?
btw nvidia's latest(you see its 93) forceware Does support their graphic cards...? o_O
__________________
_r.u.s.s. is offline                         Send a private message to _r.u.s.s.
Reply With Quote
Old 05-04-2007, 11:47 AM   #10
Mighty Midget
Pox Vobiscum
 
Mighty Midget's Avatar


 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: Krakeroy, Norway
Posts: 3,014
Default

russ: I tried to dl those audio drivers, but it was so slow I found them elsewhere. It also seems that patch was for XP SP1 ( I have SP2). Btw: What was that last post?

win98/velik_m: I have no idea what mobo I have, and I'm not about to open the tower to find out. I'm clumsy enough to break the darn thing About the video drivers: It seems to work and in my book that goes as "supported", but I haven't forgot the botched installation.

gregor: I'll keep Vista because it's a legal version and I might need that when dealing with MS. I can always look out for the 3787 service packs bound to be released.
__________________
Je Suis Charlie
Mighty Midget is offline                         Send a private message to Mighty Midget
Reply With Quote
Reply


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Nvidia video card with video-in support Pellaeon Tech Corner 5 01-07-2009 08:24 PM
Willing to give some drivers Ioncannon Old Suggestions 6 08-07-2005 02:37 PM
Sb Emulation Drivers grg Troubleshooting 3 23-04-2005 11:03 AM
Couldn't Install Video Drivers! Space Quest 4, 5 Carno Troubleshooting 7 05-02-2005 05:15 AM
Mouse Dos Drivers wendymaree Tech Corner 2 29-12-2004 07:38 PM

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump
 


The current time is 08:27 PM (GMT)

 
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.1
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.