Go Back   Forums > Abandonia.com > Troubleshooting
Memberlist Forum Rules Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read
Search Forums:
Click here to use Advanced Search

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 21-03-2007, 07:18 AM   #1
Mark A.
Guest
Default

I've downloaded and extracted GP Manager 2 but when opening the folder their seems to be no install or setup file. The only file like that is the one to start the game and when a double click on it, i get the following error message: The application has failed to start because WING32.dll was not found. Re-installing the application may fix this problem.

Can anyone help solve this problem??

Cheers

Mark A.
                       
Reply With Quote
Old 21-03-2007, 11:51 AM   #2
The Fifth Horseman
FUTURE SCIENCE BASTARD
 
The Fifth Horseman's Avatar


 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: Opole, Poland
Posts: 14,264
Default

Look for that file in the game archive or in the extras for the game. Not sure in which exact location it should be put in, but usually it's one of these:
* C:\Windows
* C:\Windows\System
* C:\Windows\System32
* Game directory
__________________

"God. Can't you people see I'm trying to commit a crime against science and nature here?"
-- Reed Richards
The Fifth Horseman is offline                         Send a private message to The Fifth Horseman
Reply With Quote
Old 21-03-2007, 01:57 PM   #3
_r.u.s.s.
I'm not Russ
but an ex-alektorophobic
 
_r.u.s.s.'s Avatar


 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: Nitra, Slovakia
Posts: 6,533
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by www.liutilities.com
Description:
wing32.dll is a part of a graphics library for Windows Applications, now replaced by DirectX.
http://www.dll-files.com/dllindex/dl...s.shtml?wing32

and its put exactly in to system32=)
__________________
_r.u.s.s. is offline                         Send a private message to _r.u.s.s.
Reply With Quote
Old 21-03-2007, 02:00 PM   #4
Data
retired
 
Data's Avatar


 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Jan Mayen, Svalbard and Jan Mayen
Posts: 2,167
Default

I don't have high hopes that actually works then though
winG is from the win 3.x era.
__________________
Flowing with the stream of life
Data is offline                         Send a private message to Data
Reply With Quote
Old 21-03-2007, 02:34 PM   #5
_r.u.s.s.
I'm not Russ
but an ex-alektorophobic
 
_r.u.s.s.'s Avatar


 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: Nitra, Slovakia
Posts: 6,533
Default

i have tried it right now on my winXP. same error, and the dll helped=)
(btw on abandonia it says "This game runs well in Windows." .. maybe we should add a note about this dll?)
__________________
_r.u.s.s. is offline                         Send a private message to _r.u.s.s.
Reply With Quote
Old 21-03-2007, 05:14 PM   #6
Guest
Guest
Default

Thanks for that file info, just one more question. How do you put Windows XP into 256 colour mode?

Cheers

Mark A.
                       
Reply With Quote
Old 21-03-2007, 05:15 PM   #7
Guest
Guest
Default

Thanks for that file info, just one more question. How do you put Windows XP into 256 colour mode?

Cheers

Mark A.
                       
Reply With Quote
Old 21-03-2007, 05:18 PM   #8
_r.u.s.s.
I'm not Russ
but an ex-alektorophobic
 
_r.u.s.s.'s Avatar


 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: Nitra, Slovakia
Posts: 6,533
Default

in properties of your desktop (right click it), but you dont have to do that.
just make a shortcut of the game and, in its properties, select "run in 256 colors" (compatibility tab)
__________________
_r.u.s.s. is offline                         Send a private message to _r.u.s.s.
Reply With Quote
Old 04-03-2015, 03:34 PM   #9
eXoDOS
putting the eXo in DOS

 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: ,
Posts: 21
Default 2 versions

Just an added detail. The first release of GPM2 was Win 3.x and Win 95 compatible. The v1.2 update made it Win 95 compatible only. This is by far the most common version. I'm not sure how many copies of the original v1 were released, but every commercials copy and download copy online that I have come across so far is v1.2 or higher.

That said, I have been looking for a copy of v1.0 for over 2 years now. If anyone happens to have it, *please* let me know.
eXoDOS is offline                         Send a private message to eXoDOS
Reply With Quote
Reply


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Grand Prix Manager 2 Romano Games Discussion 161 09-09-2017 11:14 PM
Grand Prix 2 Paco G 4 07-12-2010 03:03 PM
Grand Prix 2 racer Approved Requests 2 28-03-2010 06:56 PM
Grand Prix Manager 2 And M A X Richard Troubleshooting 4 10-12-2007 06:51 AM
Grand Prix Manager darkstyl Approved Requests 3 28-03-2006 07:58 PM

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Forum Jump
 


The current time is 09:57 AM (GMT)

 
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.1
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.