Go Back   Forums > Abandonia.com > Troubleshooting
Memberlist Forum Rules Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read
Search Forums:
Click here to use Advanced Search

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 30-05-2006, 12:34 PM   #1
simi
Newbie

 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: ,
Posts: 4
Default

Hi, I'm new here. I was trying to download Amazing Spider-Man. I managed OK, and then when I tried to open it, I got this: Compressed (zipped) folder error: File skipped unknown compression method.
I have Windows XP .
Any ideas anyone?
Thanks so much, I can't wait to play this game again after years off. blablabla@vaxxine.com

Edited email to prevent bots from using it -Eagle of Fire
simi is offline                         Send a private message to simi
Reply With Quote
Old 30-05-2006, 12:42 PM   #2
Abi79
Home Sweet Abandonia

 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: Oradea, Romania
Posts: 829
Send a message via Yahoo to Abi79
Default

Amazing Spider-Man is archived, and thus needs to be opened with WinRar or WinZip. Have you tried using those programs? If you don't know how to use them, please post here and I'll tell you.
Abi79 is offline                         Send a private message to Abi79
Reply With Quote
Old 30-05-2006, 01:22 PM   #3
oclane
Forum hobbit

 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: ,
Posts: 27
Default

yeah win rar is good for ziped games winzip is a little more basic stick with win rar
oclane is offline                         Send a private message to oclane
Reply With Quote
Old 30-05-2006, 01:42 PM   #4
Eagle of Fire
Friendly Fire
 
Eagle of Fire's Avatar

 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: Valleyfield, Canada
Posts: 4,892
Default

You get that error message because you don't use the latest version of the right archiver. We recommend WinRar, but if it still fails then download the latest version of WinZip and try again.
__________________
I'm on a hot streak... Literally.
Proud member of The Abandoned since 2005.
Eagle of Fire is offline                         Send a private message to Eagle of Fire
Reply With Quote
Old 30-05-2006, 01:52 PM   #5
oclane
Forum hobbit

 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: ,
Posts: 27
Default

the only problem with winzip is that its a trail well so is win rar but win rar is a little bit better
oclane is offline                         Send a private message to oclane
Reply With Quote
Old 30-05-2006, 03:59 PM   #6
The Fifth Horseman
FUTURE SCIENCE BASTARD
 
The Fifth Horseman's Avatar


 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: Opole, Poland
Posts: 14,264
Default

Don't use XP's ZIP function. Use WinZip or WinRar, and NOT through its context menu.
__________________

"God. Can't you people see I'm trying to commit a crime against science and nature here?"
-- Reed Richards
The Fifth Horseman is offline                         Send a private message to The Fifth Horseman
Reply With Quote
Old 31-05-2006, 03:45 AM   #7
guesst
Abandonia Homie
 
guesst's Avatar

 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: Aurora, United States
Posts: 606
Default

Some of the latest zips can't be opened with windows. But, like has been said so many time so far, a third party archiver will do the trick.
guesst is offline                         Send a private message to guesst
Reply With Quote
Old 02-06-2006, 02:06 AM   #8
simi
Newbie

 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: ,
Posts: 4
Default

QUOTE(Abi79 @ May 30 2006, 08:42 AM) [snapback]233260[/snapback]
Quote:
Amazing Spider-Man is archived, and thus needs to be opened with WinRar or WinZip. Have you tried using those programs? If you don't know how to use them, please post here and I'll tell you.
[/b]
Thanks for your reply. I downloaded WinRar and it seems to have downloaded fine. Then I tried to open the Spider-Man again, and my computer automatically tried to open it with the Extraction Wizard, and again, got stuck with the same error message that the File skipped unknown compression method.
So now,... any more ideas how to get my computer to use the WinRar and not the Extraction Wizard?

Thanks.
simi is offline                         Send a private message to simi
Reply With Quote
Old 02-06-2006, 02:18 AM   #9
simi
Newbie

 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: ,
Posts: 4
Default

Ok everyone.... I just managed to get the WinRar installed correctly and it seems to be working, but I now have a new problem.

The Spider man starts, but instead of one image on the screen, I have 4 identical small ones, and the bottom two are flashing. It's very annoying and obviously not right.

Has anyone else come across this and what did I do wrong, or are some of my settings on the computer wacko?

Thanks for your help.
simi is offline                         Send a private message to simi
Reply With Quote
Old 02-06-2006, 04:32 AM   #10
Abi79
Home Sweet Abandonia

 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: Oradea, Romania
Posts: 829
Send a message via Yahoo to Abi79
Default

I think you need to use DOSBox to start the game on XP. Are you using it?
You can find DOSBox here
Abi79 is offline                         Send a private message to Abi79
Reply With Quote
Reply


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Amazing Spider-man Sebatianos Games Discussion 100 23-05-2019 09:46 AM
Download Problems TheChosen Tech Corner 5 07-12-2006 11:39 PM
Problems Unzipping squallgengar Troubleshooting 15 27-05-2005 06:10 PM
Download Problems With Firefox Puffin Tech Corner 5 14-11-2004 10:48 AM
problems with download grimori Troubleshooting 7 23-08-2004 05:13 PM

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Forum Jump
 


The current time is 10:07 AM (GMT)

 
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.1
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.