Go Back   Forums > Community Chatterbox > Tech Corner
Memberlist Forum Rules Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read
Search Forums:
Click here to use Advanced Search

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 07-06-2006, 04:08 PM   #1
The Fifth Horseman
FUTURE SCIENCE BASTARD
 
The Fifth Horseman's Avatar


 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: Opole, Poland
Posts: 14,268
Default

So I have this DOS/9x machine.

And the DOS hdd broke a couple weeks ago, with no hope of a replacement.
So now it came to me that maybe I could use dual boot to have both DOS and the old Windows on the same drive.

Problem is, I don't know how to set that up, and running a search through the forum wasn't helpful either.

I was thinking of using Windows 95 OSR2.5 and either DOS 6.22 (last true DOS in existence) or DOS 7.1 (a bit better, including FAT-32 support).

So, how does one approach making a dual boot system?
__________________

"God. Can't you people see I'm trying to commit a crime against science and nature here?"
-- Reed Richards
The Fifth Horseman is offline                         Send a private message to The Fifth Horseman
Reply With Quote
Old 07-06-2006, 05:01 PM   #2
Reup
10 GOSUB Abandonia
20 GOTO 10
 
Reup's Avatar

 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Nuenen, Netherlands
Posts: 1,508
Default

If you install DOS first and Win95 later, you'll have the option 'Boot to previous Operating System' when you press F8 at boot. This will let you boot to DOS.
This is what used to work with Dos 6.22 at least... Dunno about 7.1
Reup is offline                         Send a private message to Reup
Reply With Quote
Old 08-06-2006, 06:37 AM   #3
win98
In the loop on hardware.
 
win98's Avatar

 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Wellington, New Zealand
Posts: 890
Default

Same as what Reup said but isnt there a way to make the windows 95 sartup menu appear at every sart up if there is I would recommend that.
win98 is offline                         Send a private message to win98
Reply With Quote
Old 08-06-2006, 06:36 PM   #4
Reup
10 GOSUB Abandonia
20 GOTO 10
 
Reup's Avatar

 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Nuenen, Netherlands
Posts: 1,508
Default

Well, you can configure the autoexec.bat and config.sys in such a way that a boot menu is displayed at boottime. Maybe that;s the route to go?
Reup is offline                         Send a private message to Reup
Reply With Quote
Old 08-06-2006, 11:26 PM   #5
plix
Game freak

 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: ,
Posts: 113
Default

You need a bootloader (google it). The above suggestions are just tricks to get the Windows bootloader to always show up, but there's nothing stopping you from using one of the many free alternatives.
plix is offline                         Send a private message to plix
Reply With Quote
Old 13-06-2006, 05:55 PM   #6
The Fifth Horseman
FUTURE SCIENCE BASTARD
 
The Fifth Horseman's Avatar


 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: Opole, Poland
Posts: 14,268
Default

OK, I _think_ I found the solution - Google turned up a guide on the subject.

I'll see if I can make it work.
__________________

"God. Can't you people see I'm trying to commit a crime against science and nature here?"
-- Reed Richards
The Fifth Horseman is offline                         Send a private message to The Fifth Horseman
Reply With Quote
Old 13-06-2006, 06:05 PM   #7
Scatty
Treasure hunter
 
Scatty's Avatar

 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Little big small world
Posts: 1,903
Default

If it doesn't help, it's simple. Just install Ms-Dos, after it Windows 95. Windows 95 doesn't load automatically at startup (at least the usual Windows 95) if there's no line in autoexec.bat starting the .com file. So you can remove the win.com line from autoexec.bat and start Windows 95 from Dos through typing win at the prompt whenever you need it, and quit to Dos again through leaving Windows and starting in Dos-mode.
That's all about Ms-Dos 6.22 btw., not sure if Ms-Dos 7.1 would actually be even compatible with Windows 95 (might with OSR2.5 though, wasn't using that one). One advice about Ms-Dos 6.22 and Windows 95 (OSR) - when leaving from Windows to Dos and after again to Windows, don't type win the second or following times but instead exit to exit from current command.com running. That will save some conventional memory whenever you return to Dos again.
Scatty is offline                         Send a private message to Scatty
Reply With Quote
Old 14-06-2006, 10:50 AM   #8
The Fifth Horseman
FUTURE SCIENCE BASTARD
 
The Fifth Horseman's Avatar


 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: Opole, Poland
Posts: 14,268
Default

Had a setup like that a few years ago. Trying to start W95 from DOS6.22 resulted in a "this version of Windows is not compatibile with (blah,blah,blah)" message.
__________________

"God. Can't you people see I'm trying to commit a crime against science and nature here?"
-- Reed Richards
The Fifth Horseman is offline                         Send a private message to The Fifth Horseman
Reply With Quote
Old 14-06-2006, 04:26 PM   #9
Japo
Autonomous human
 
Japo's Avatar


 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: ,
Posts: 4,581
Default

Of course, DOS 6.22 supports Windows 3.1 but not Windows 95 and later. I've been told (here's an explanation in Spanish--by SuperHuevis, scroll down) that it's like Reup says: define only one main partition for DOS and set it as active, then install DOS. Then install Windows, make the Windows installation program create a new partition --don't install it in the DOS partition-- and presto. By default you'll be able to boot DOS by pressing F8 as Reup said.

But there's another option to display a menu at the startup in order to choose which OS you want to load, instead of having Windows loaded by default unless you press F8. To enable it just go to Control Panel > System > Advanced Options.
__________________
Life starts every day anew. Prospects not so good...
Japo is offline                         Send a private message to Japo
Reply With Quote
Old 14-06-2006, 08:32 PM   #10
Scatty
Treasure hunter
 
Scatty's Avatar

 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Little big small world
Posts: 1,903
Default

<div class='quotetop'>QUOTE(the_fifth_horseman @ Jun 14 2006, 10:50 AM) [snapback]236689[/snapback]</div>
Quote:
Had a setup like that a few years ago. Trying to start W95 from DOS6.22 resulted in a "this version of Windows is not compatibile with (blah,blah,blah)" message.
[/b]
Oh, but I forgot one important thing - when you install Windows 95 while you have Ms-Dos 6.22 or earlier installed, it replaces it with it's newer version of Ms-Dos, might be 7.1 then, don't remember. Otherwise it should work like I've written above.
Scatty is offline                         Send a private message to Scatty
Reply With Quote
Reply


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
How To Set Up A Dual Boot? Mighty Midget Tech Corner 18 05-04-2007 07:40 PM
Vdmsound & Win9x; Dos Digital/midi Sound Tarvin Troubleshooting 7 01-09-2005 12:45 PM
Linux/win9x Dualboot - How To? The Fifth Horseman Tech Corner 3 30-06-2005 02:42 PM
Onboard Audio+dual Boot Xp/dos Problem Hermann Tech Corner 12 07-06-2005 01:25 PM
Dual Boot With Dos WhiteKrAkRBOi Tech Corner 5 23-03-2005 08:44 PM

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump
 


The current time is 06:57 AM (GMT)

 
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.1
Copyright ©2000 - 2021, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.