Go Back   Forums > Abandonia.com > Games Discussion
Memberlist Forum Rules Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read
Search Forums:
Click here to use Advanced Search

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 23-10-2006, 04:03 PM   #111
The Fifth Horseman
FUTURE SCIENCE BASTARD
 
The Fifth Horseman's Avatar


 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: Opole, Poland
Posts: 14,264
Default

DosBox has its' "scalers", so... that's possible.
__________________

"God. Can't you people see I'm trying to commit a crime against science and nature here?"
-- Reed Richards
The Fifth Horseman is offline                         Send a private message to The Fifth Horseman
Reply With Quote
Old 13-12-2006, 05:06 AM   #112
Kyle
Guest
Default

Help Plzzz.. I downloaded the game and when i try to install it i have no video and when i alt tab it i can see it. Then it says the that sound stuff has errored and it closes. How do i install it? Plz help
                       
Reply With Quote
Old 13-12-2006, 05:11 PM   #113
The Fifth Horseman
FUTURE SCIENCE BASTARD
 
The Fifth Horseman's Avatar


 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: Opole, Poland
Posts: 14,264
Default



It seems you are trying to run the game in plain Windows. I strongly suggest you use DosBox instead.
You can download it here.

You might want to check out the official DosBox FAQ, and particularly this part of it. It is quite helpful for users unfamiliar with DosBox.
__________________

"God. Can't you people see I'm trying to commit a crime against science and nature here?"
-- Reed Richards
The Fifth Horseman is offline                         Send a private message to The Fifth Horseman
Reply With Quote
Old 17-12-2006, 02:41 AM   #114
Snake_Plissken
Newbie

 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: Beograd, Serbia and Montenegro
Posts: 15
Default

Another masterpiece simulation from Maxis. Interesting, educative, addictive, chiseled in the smallest details... Only the good stuff.
Snake_Plissken is offline                         Send a private message to Snake_Plissken
Reply With Quote
Old 08-03-2007, 08:40 PM   #115
Guest
Guest
Default

Can someone explain the weather in this game? Most of the more profitable crops need approximately 6-10 days of rain according to the in-game help menu. When I design my own land plot I put the rain bar down to nothing, and it stills rains about 25-30 days a year, and of course my crops are all flooded. What's going on? Anyway I can help drain the fields or something?
                       
Reply With Quote
Old 09-03-2007, 01:47 PM   #116
Doubler
Resident Llama
 
Doubler's Avatar

 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: Groningen, Netherlands
Posts: 798
Send a message via MSN to Doubler
Default

Empty ditches drain fields when placed around their edges, iirc
__________________
Doubler is offline                         Send a private message to Doubler
Reply With Quote
Old 04-06-2007, 01:35 PM   #117
Guest
Guest
Default

best way to make money on SimFarm:

Start off making your homestead+original farm where it has a river running (most likely!) on the far right part of your farm. Sell all your land except the one with your house, or buy more plots of land around your homestead-- your choice. 6 land tiles (where you buy and sell) is enough (for me anyway)-- not including the one with your homestead (I dont care about that house... it just takes up room >.<)

Okie dokie, now you're probably starting fresh. Go to File > Load Crops. I would load Oranges and Gladioloas... uerr i cannot spell. Why I chose gladio-- you know what i mean-- i have no IDEA, I played this game in the 4th grade and I'm a college grad now -.-;

Ok, so you clean up your new land (or using the land you already got), clean up the llama doodoo and trees etc. Design your farm as you see fit. Drop down two (or more-- up to you!) gladie fields. Pause your game. Buy sheds, load em up with machinery if you want to. Here's the looong and TIDEOUS bit of the "profit making" part. Whatever space that is left-- buy silos. You dont have to fill it up... use your best judgement, make sure you have roads etc, as if you are building a "regular" farm.

Silos are important!

ok....


moving forward:
Click one of your fields to check out the pretty little "schedule" for it. Harvest = H , G= gladie, O = oranges, X = nothing, - = when the plant is doing its thang

it should be like this
X X X G--------------------

now you need to do this:
G H O H O H O H O H O H O H O H O H O H, etc (until the end)

you can only do this whilst your field is a plant that you can harvest early. oranges has a SET harvest date! you can also save yourself one set of orange seeds cos after the set harvest date, you don't have to plant a new orange field.

rinse and repeat with the other field.

now you have silos packed with oranges, or you are running low on money.

play with the disasters! you can get your oranges to sky rocket in price to about 35K+.

SELL EM!

you make tons of money and stuff. woot. and i discovered that back in the 4th grade -.- that was.... 13 years ago -.-

peace out!
                       
Reply With Quote
Old 04-08-2007, 11:06 AM   #118
freek
Guest
Default

<div class='quotetop'>QUOTE(ghost @ Oct 16 2004, 12:09 PM) [snapback]17726[/snapback]</div>
Quote:
i got the plane in the air... and i now how to fly
only one problem HOW DO YOU LAND!!!
[/b]
right shift or end when you cum up to the airport i think
                       
Reply With Quote
Old 10-07-2008, 10:26 PM   #119
Zoltan Mihaly
Newbie

 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: Csorvas, Hungary
Posts: 8
Default

Hi! This is probably a stoppid question, but how do I water my fields? :wondering:
Zoltan Mihaly is offline                         Send a private message to Zoltan Mihaly
Reply With Quote
Old 10-07-2008, 10:52 PM   #120
dosraider
Dismembered.
 
dosraider's Avatar

 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Dixmuide, Belgium
Posts: 2,767
Default

You can place irrigation ditch and add a lever or switch on them if I remember swell.
You also need water pumps/mills.
Irrigation ditch can flood or drain.
Must be in the toolbar somewhere.

[Edit]
And add some water towers also.
__________________

Not a member of The Victorious People's Shoutbox Liberation Army.
Not a member of the GAG Guerrilla. Don't get A Grip!
FOR RENT
*Advertising space*
dosraider is offline                         Send a private message to dosraider
Reply With Quote
Reply


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Can any one help me? Sim Farm smiletls Troubleshooting 5 11-08-2009 11:56 PM
Sim Farm willmcg86 Troubleshooting 4 29-01-2007 02:35 PM
Problem With Sim Farm c Troubleshooting 6 15-09-2005 09:03 PM
Sim Farm mof0 Troubleshooting 9 18-11-2004 11:46 PM

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump
 


The current time is 08:59 AM (GMT)

 
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.1
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.