Go Back   Forums > Abandonia.com > Troubleshooting
Memberlist Forum Rules Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read
Search Forums:
Click here to use Advanced Search

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 28-01-2005, 04:42 PM   #1
Ali
Newbie

 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: ,
Posts: 8
Default

Yesterday I found AUTOEXE.NT in the C:\Windows\repair folding and moved it to the system32 folder to play Sim Tower. Then I turned the laptop on and off, and now I can't find AUTOEXE.NT. When I search the computer for 'AUTOEXE.NT' all I get is 'AUTOEXE.NT_' now. Help! I'm going to be leaving on a eight-hour trip soon, and I'd like to be able to play some games.
Ali is offline                         Send a private message to Ali
Reply With Quote
Old 28-01-2005, 04:53 PM   #2
Eagle of Fire
Friendly Fire
 
Eagle of Fire's Avatar

 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: Valleyfield, Canada
Posts: 4,892
Default

You should have copied the file from the repair folder, not move it. It probably got erased now. I don't know where you could find that file or if the file from my XP version would fit on your machine...

Did you try a whole HD search?
__________________
I'm on a hot streak... Literally.
Proud member of The Abandoned since 2005.
Eagle of Fire is offline                         Send a private message to Eagle of Fire
Reply With Quote
Old 28-01-2005, 04:57 PM   #3
Ali
Newbie

 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: ,
Posts: 8
Default

Yup. So I'm screwed now?
Ali is offline                         Send a private message to Ali
Reply With Quote
Old 28-01-2005, 04:59 PM   #4
Eagle of Fire
Friendly Fire
 
Eagle of Fire's Avatar

 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: Valleyfield, Canada
Posts: 4,892
Default

What's your OS? Someone with the same OS could try to send you that file and you could see if it works.

If not I don't have a fast answer for ya, but I am sure other users will know about this when they log on. Unfortunatly it might take too long for you and you'll have to wait after that trip of yours.
__________________
I'm on a hot streak... Literally.
Proud member of The Abandoned since 2005.
Eagle of Fire is offline                         Send a private message to Eagle of Fire
Reply With Quote
Old 28-01-2005, 05:01 PM   #5
JJXB
Pi-voh
 
JJXB's Avatar

 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: Godmanchester, England
Posts: 850
Default

get the file with ".nt_" as the file extension, copy that and remove the _ from the file extention.
__________________
~Ceramic White PSP Status~
FW: 5.00 M33-6
Memory Stick: 8gb
JJXB is offline                         Send a private message to JJXB
Reply With Quote
Old 28-01-2005, 05:05 PM   #6
Ali
Newbie

 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: ,
Posts: 8
Default

Eagle - I... have no idea what my OS is. How do I find out?

JJXB - Thanks! I'll give it a try.

EDIT: It didn't work. I got this error:

The Win16 Subsystem was unable to enter Protected Mode, DOSX.EXE must be in your AUTOEXEC.NT and present in your PATH.
Ali is offline                         Send a private message to Ali
Reply With Quote
Old 28-01-2005, 05:13 PM   #7
JJXB
Pi-voh
 
JJXB's Avatar

 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: Godmanchester, England
Posts: 850
Default

i think your os is going to be either windows 2k or xp as 95, 98 and ME don't use autoexec.nt(they use autoexec.bat instead)
__________________
~Ceramic White PSP Status~
FW: 5.00 M33-6
Memory Stick: 8gb
JJXB is offline                         Send a private message to JJXB
Reply With Quote
Old 28-01-2005, 05:58 PM   #8
Ali
Newbie

 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: ,
Posts: 8
Default

Nevermind, I found a AUTOEXEC.NT file for download and everything works now. Thanks for all the help though!

And if someone else needs a AUTOEXEC.NT file, I got one here:
http://www.iamnotageek.com/a/413-p1.php
Ali is offline                         Send a private message to Ali
Reply With Quote
Old 28-01-2005, 06:03 PM   #9
Danny252
I have a custom title!

 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: Telford, England
Posts: 1,303
Default

You got the file name wrong. it is autoexec.nt. try searching for it. there is no autoexe.nt file.
(wow, me helping someone with something like this? I really must have learnt my lesson..)
__________________
I liked the old forum.. =/
Danny252 is offline                         Send a private message to Danny252
Reply With Quote
Old 28-01-2005, 06:05 PM   #10
mouse31e
Games Master

 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: Aylesbury, England
Posts: 335
Default

Maybe we should attach one to the pinned autoexec.nt thread! The autoexec.nt in Windows XP is a standard file that is never altered as far as I'm aware. I sent mine to someone a few weeks back and it worked fine for them!
mouse31e is offline                         Send a private message to mouse31e
Reply With Quote
Reply


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Unable to download...... Typie Old Suggestions 12 15-01-2009 03:26 PM
Unable To Make (directory) kshinji Troubleshooting 1 28-02-2007 08:38 PM
Unable to run RPG Maker 2000 dmacdonald95 Troubleshooting Archive 0 01-12-2005 12:32 AM
Vdmsound Unable To Install cyborgwebmaster Troubleshooting 3 25-02-2005 12:36 AM
Unable To Download JJXB Old Suggestions 12 15-01-2005 03:43 PM

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Forum Jump
 


The current time is 10:35 PM (GMT)

 
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.1
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.