Go Back   Forums > Abandonia.com > Troubleshooting > Specific games
Memberlist Forum Rules Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read
Search Forums:
Click here to use Advanced Search

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 17-04-2011, 12:51 AM   #1
mandylynn213
Newbie

 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Posts: 2
Default Trying to make Lode Runner: The Legend Returns work

I have gone through several downloads and re-downloads of DOSBox (just to make sure I had the right one and hadn't accidentally clicked a different version from what I needed), and of Lode Runner: The Legend Returns, just to be told at the end every time that "This program must be run using Microsoft Windows." Or something along those lines. I've followed the instructions on several different guides to DOSBox (this fiasco is my first time messing with it). Some of them including Norton Commander, some of them not. No matter how I go about it, I get the same results EVERY time. I know I've got my coding up to that point correct, because I've had to go back in and correct it several times. Anyone know what I can do to fix it?

Oh, and here's the details of what I've been messing with:
The newest version of DOSBox (7.4, I believe?) downloaded straight from the DOSBox site
Windows 7
and Lode Runner: The Legend Returns downloaded from here
http://www.daggert.net/Folio/Program...oderunner1.htm
Also, when I've used Norton Commander, it's been the one linked to from a post here called "A Beginner's Guide to DOSBox"

I haven't tried any other games in DOSBox yet, maybe I should to at least see if I can make SOMETHING work!
mandylynn213 is offline                         Send a private message to mandylynn213
Reply With Quote
Old 17-04-2011, 05:51 AM   #2
dosraider
Dismembered.
 
dosraider's Avatar

 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Dixmuide, Belgium
Posts: 2,767
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by mandylynn213 View Post
.... "This program must be run using Microsoft Windows." .....
Windows game, not a Dos game.
Quote:
Originally Posted by FAQ
the original 16-bit code was updated to 32-bit for Windows 95.
Quote:
Originally Posted by FAQ
Click the option to "Run this program in compatibility mode for Windows 98". I'd also suggest you select "Run in 256 colors" and "Run in 640x480 screen resolution".
If that fails on your OS / hardware (No idea about those, you didn't give any relevant details ....) you could try VPC/W98SE or XP mode.
__________________

Not a member of The Victorious People's Shoutbox Liberation Army.
Not a member of the GAG Guerrilla. Don't get A Grip!
FOR RENT
*Advertising space*

Last edited by dosraider; 17-04-2011 at 05:56 AM.
dosraider is offline                         Send a private message to dosraider
Reply With Quote
Old 17-04-2011, 06:09 AM   #3
mandylynn213
Newbie

 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Posts: 2
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by dosraider View Post
Windows game, not a Dos game.


If that fails on your OS / hardware (No idea about those, you didn't give any relevant details ....) you could try VPC/W98SE or XP mode.
I'm running on windows 7.

Sorry, I'm not all THAT computer savvy, that I know how to go in and change the compatibility mode. Does that mean I don't even need to mess with DOSBox?
mandylynn213 is offline                         Send a private message to mandylynn213
Reply With Quote
Old 17-04-2011, 08:42 AM   #4
dosraider
Dismembered.
 
dosraider's Avatar

 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Dixmuide, Belgium
Posts: 2,767
Default

Compatibility: right click on the prog's exe.
If it fails (game can only run in 640x480 256 colors, not all modern monitors/vidcards can handlle that) : VPC2007/W98SE.


Before you ask: There is a tutorial about Win7 XPmode-VPC, you should read it.

And dosbox, if you ever want to play dosgames, you gonna need that one.

[Edit]
Also: Do NOT run the Sierra hardware test, it's been known to lockup easily.
__________________

Not a member of The Victorious People's Shoutbox Liberation Army.
Not a member of the GAG Guerrilla. Don't get A Grip!
FOR RENT
*Advertising space*

Last edited by dosraider; 17-04-2011 at 08:51 AM. Reason: ggggrrrrrrmmmmmpppppffffffffffffffffffffffffff
dosraider is offline                         Send a private message to dosraider
Reply With Quote
Reply


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Lode Runner On-line - The Mad Monks' Revenge Tom Henrik L 7 22-09-2017 05:30 PM
Lode Runner Romano Games Discussion 29 24-11-2011 08:05 AM
Lode Runner - The Legend Returns Iron_Scarecrow Approved Requests 34 26-12-2010 03:20 PM
How to make Alone in the Dark work sofronija Troubleshooting 8 19-07-2009 01:29 PM
Legend Of Zelda: Link Returns quatroking Programming 5 24-02-2005 05:33 PM

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump
 


The current time is 10:11 PM (GMT)

 
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.1
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.