Go Back   Forums > Community Chatterbox > Blah, blah, blah...
Memberlist Forum Rules Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read
Search Forums:
Click here to use Advanced Search

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 22-11-2004, 02:10 PM   #1
Rogue
10 GOSUB Abandonia
20 GOTO 10
 
Rogue's Avatar

 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Afrim, Albania
Posts: 2,113
Smile

Well, one of the new HD i got (western digital 160GB) started to make some strange noise. I am using about 140GB of that HD, so I had to get a new drive, plus to reinstall windows.

Don't you hate when you have to delete fine windows installation (xp SP2 with complete office XP 2003). :angry:

Just to get back to place I was, will take another couple days (Just MS Visual Studio .net will take one afternoon), and not to mention moving current data...

Rogue is offline                         Send a private message to Rogue
Reply With Quote
Old 22-11-2004, 02:28 PM   #2
Omuletzu
10 GOSUB Abandonia
20 GOTO 10

 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Shella, Kenya
Posts: 1,529
Send a message via MSN to Omuletzu Send a message via Yahoo to Omuletzu
Default

Heh i also formatted my hdd drive(although mine was only 2 Gb big :bleh: )
I recently bought a new hard drive, and i am now proud to say that i have 6 Gb space reserved for old games(and Vb of course) :Brain: :angel:
Omuletzu is offline                         Send a private message to Omuletzu
Reply With Quote
Old 22-11-2004, 02:35 PM   #3
mouse31e
Games Master

 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: Aylesbury, England
Posts: 335
Default

I was there only two weeks ago and I'm still not sure I've got everything re-installed.

I only forgot to back-up one thing. About 10,000 lines of programming. All gone!! :ranting:
mouse31e is offline                         Send a private message to mouse31e
Reply With Quote
Old 22-11-2004, 02:36 PM   #4
Rogue
10 GOSUB Abandonia
20 GOTO 10
 
Rogue's Avatar

 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Afrim, Albania
Posts: 2,113
Default

I replace that disk with 120GB, the one that they have on sale at Best Buy.

120GB, 8MB buffer, 7200RPM for $110. Mail in rebate is $60, so final price should be $50. Bad hard disk I got for $70. (Initially was not for me, as I fixed somebody else computer, but that person got new one, so I got HD for my self)

HD are really cheap now days.
Rogue is offline                         Send a private message to Rogue
Reply With Quote
Old 22-11-2004, 02:49 PM   #5
The_EgAt
Abandonia nerd

 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Hofudborgarsvadi, Iceland
Posts: 74
Default

I really need to format, but since I don't have another HD, I can't
The_EgAt is offline                         Send a private message to The_EgAt
Reply With Quote
Old 22-11-2004, 03:15 PM   #6
Chef Boyardee
Game freak

 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: ,
Posts: 109
Send a message via MSN to Chef Boyardee
Default

Argh, I've had to do that before. So painful, so painful...
__________________
Atli Axfjr? Fri?geirsson (my name)
Me! (avatar)
Please correct me if I'm wrong!
Chef Boyardee is offline                         Send a private message to Chef Boyardee
Reply With Quote
Old 22-11-2004, 03:28 PM   #7
The Niles
10 GOSUB Abandonia
20 GOTO 10

 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: Shella, Kenya
Posts: 1,578
Default

I had to do that repeatedly over the last few years. My HDD got busted about a year ago as well and it needed to be replaced. Fortunately that time the company that did the replacing made an image of my old HDD and planted on the new one. That time at least I did not lose anything.
__________________
Rabyd Rev -- 2 Timothy 2:15
The Niles is offline                         Send a private message to The Niles
Reply With Quote
Old 22-11-2004, 03:36 PM   #8
Rogue
10 GOSUB Abandonia
20 GOTO 10
 
Rogue's Avatar

 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Afrim, Albania
Posts: 2,113
Default

I never (thanks god) have lost a single file, thanks to use of multi disks.

This is second time (in a long history of use of computer) that I got problem with hard disk. First one was 60MB Maxtor, and this one is western digital.

Seems like Seagate hard disks are the best for me. (Never had any problem with any of these, right now all three hard disks in my computer are Seagate)
Rogue is offline                         Send a private message to Rogue
Reply With Quote
Old 22-11-2004, 04:54 PM   #9
FreeFreddy
Guest
Default

I heard that IBM harddrives break fast...
                       
Reply With Quote
Old 22-11-2004, 05:41 PM   #10
Rogue
10 GOSUB Abandonia
20 GOTO 10
 
Rogue's Avatar

 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Afrim, Albania
Posts: 2,113
Default

This is first time I had to reinstall this computer (year and half). The old one was often reinstalled (win98/2k dual boot) as there was no registration problems, but Xp is much more stable for me then any other micro$oft OS, so there was no need for reinstall.

Thing that I liked is that I was able to install XP with SP2 already applied. That makes it much easier. Also it was about the time to check all the drivers.
Rogue is offline                         Send a private message to Rogue
Reply With Quote
Reply


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Looking for a program that supports an obscure graphics format from ~17 years ago The Fifth Horseman Tech Corner 1 02-03-2009 07:45 AM
Dosbox Is Stuck In 'letterbox' Widescreen Format Help! Guest Troubleshooting 7 16-10-2007 02:37 PM
Printable Review Format rabadi Old Suggestions 4 12-08-2006 02:00 AM
I Cant Format My Hd! Yamcha Tech Corner 8 28-02-2005 03:46 PM

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump
 


The current time is 09:32 AM (GMT)

 
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.1
Copyright ©2000 - 2021, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.