Go Back   Forums > Abandonia.com > Troubleshooting > General compatibility fixes
Memberlist Forum Rules Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read
Search Forums:
Click here to use Advanced Search

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 13-11-2010, 04:40 AM   #11
xtgold
Newbie

 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: ,
Posts: 17
Wink infinity machine

Quote:
Infinity Machine works by analyzing data that the user supplies and examining the games memory for all possible instances. Through successive attempts, utilizing a process of elimination, Infinity Machine can determine those instances which apply to the game.
Infinity Machine will then return a cheat code to the user which can be used to modify or freeze these game values to provide more lives or even invincibility. By use of this process Infinity Machine is universal and can provide unlimited possibilities in allowing the user to enhance play of virtually any dos game.
As an example I use it in the commercial version of wolfenstein,which had the
no clipping function removed.You search memory for the god mode location and
when you find it the no clipping address is 2 bytes lower.You make the address
location =1 instead of the usual 0 to turn no clipping on.
Another instance is redneck rampage,there is no godmode in the killbilly mode,
so you can turn it on and off by playing with memory.
You can also freeze games at a certain level,like playing super tetris at level 4 for a more relaxing game.
xtgold is offline                         Send a private message to xtgold
Reply With Quote
Old 13-11-2010, 04:42 AM   #12
DarthHelmet86
SuperFishMod
 
DarthHelmet86's Avatar




 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Perth, Australia
Posts: 1,830
Default

So you are willing to go through switching HDD and making sure you have the right sound card (and all the other fun crud that came with getting Dos games to work in real Dos) just to cheat at games.

I will stick with Dosbox.
DarthHelmet86 is offline                         Send a private message to DarthHelmet86
Reply With Quote
Old 13-11-2010, 05:02 AM   #13
xtgold
Newbie

 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: ,
Posts: 17
Wink absolutely

I have a stack of hardrives in front of me now and none of my computers have their covers on.
I can even use usb thumb drives and external drives in dos.
I just had to repair my 5.25" floppy drive so I could start going thru my archives of floppy disks
from the 1980's
I found the original digger and packman games I had on floppy.
xtgold is offline                         Send a private message to xtgold
Reply With Quote
Old 13-11-2010, 11:38 AM   #14
The Fifth Horseman
FUTURE SCIENCE BASTARD
 
The Fifth Horseman's Avatar


 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: Opole, Poland
Posts: 14,270
Default

You can do the same thing with those games running in DOSBox, using Cheat Engine.
__________________

"God. Can't you people see I'm trying to commit a crime against science and nature here?"
-- Reed Richards
The Fifth Horseman is offline                         Send a private message to The Fifth Horseman
Reply With Quote
Old 13-11-2010, 03:19 PM   #15
xtgold
Newbie

 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: ,
Posts: 17
Post tedious

With infinity machine you can do a deep scan then check for values that increase,decrease,or remain the same.
Or you can do a hex search like with cheat engine.
I just tried the cheat engine with wolf3d,and it does work for no clipping but
I already knew the values had to be either 0 or 1 from previous experience.
If I didn't know what hex values they were using I would never find it with cheat engine.
xtgold is offline                         Send a private message to xtgold
Reply With Quote
Old 13-11-2010, 06:05 PM   #16
The Fifth Horseman
FUTURE SCIENCE BASTARD
 
The Fifth Horseman's Avatar


 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: Opole, Poland
Posts: 14,270
Default

Quote:
With infinity machine you can do a deep scan then check for values that increase,decrease,or remain the same.
Cheat Engine offers the exact same ability.
__________________

"God. Can't you people see I'm trying to commit a crime against science and nature here?"
-- Reed Richards
The Fifth Horseman is offline                         Send a private message to The Fifth Horseman
Reply With Quote
Old 18-11-2010, 01:09 AM   #17
Vaul
Newbie

 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: ,
Posts: 7
Default Have you tried Virtual PC?

I haven't tried it with Dos games, since DosBox has worked with everything I've used so far, but have you tried MS Virtual PC? I know it works for older versions of windows but I'm not sure if you can install a dos or linux OS.

As far as I can tell it is free to download and try.

Cheers,
Vaul

Edit... shame I didn't see this a few weeks ago. I just threw out my old soundblaster 16 & AWE sound cards. Personally all the headaches with trying to configure xms vs EMS memory and manually specifying all the i/o ports is not worth the trouble for me
Vaul is offline                         Send a private message to Vaul
Reply With Quote
Old 18-11-2010, 05:25 AM   #18
xtgold
Newbie

 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: ,
Posts: 17
Post himem

Quote:
Originally Posted by Vaul View Post
shame I didn't see this a few weeks ago. I just threw out my old soundblaster 16 & AWE sound cards. Personally all the headaches with trying to configure xms vs EMS memory and manually specifying all the i/o ports is not worth the trouble for me
I only use himem.sys in the config.sys
I don't bother with emm memory managers.
xtgold is offline                         Send a private message to xtgold
Reply With Quote
Old 19-11-2010, 12:25 AM   #19
Japo
Autonomous human
 
Japo's Avatar


 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: ,
Posts: 4,608
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by xtgold View Post
I only use himem.sys in the config.sys
I don't bother with emm memory managers.
That is wise, that is as long as your game doesn't need it. There are millions that do and millions that don't.

PS: You can set up multiple configurations to choose at boot:

http://www.abandonia.com/vbullet/sho...3&postcount=33
__________________
Life starts every day anew. Prospects not so good...
Japo is offline                         Send a private message to Japo
Reply With Quote
Old 19-11-2010, 07:37 PM   #20
xtgold
Newbie

 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: ,
Posts: 17
Lightbulb startup disk

A win98 startup disk (floppy) has a menu system as part of the config.sys and autoexec.bat files.
If you still have one of those you can use those files and edit to suit,instead of starting from scratch.
xtgold is offline                         Send a private message to xtgold
Reply With Quote
Reply


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Boardgames... based on computer games The Fifth Horseman Gaming Zone 9 01-07-2010 07:24 AM
What Games Would You Recommend For A Computer Used As An Arcade Machine? The Fifth Horseman Gaming Zone 23 30-05-2007 07:46 PM
Damn It! I Knew They Will Blame The Computer Games Again... gregor Blah, blah, blah... 39 20-09-2006 03:09 AM
Ouch Computer Cant Play 3d Games punch999 Tech Corner 35 23-02-2006 07:43 PM
Quiet Old Computer For Dos Games Petter1979 General compatibility fixes 13 13-12-2005 05:27 PM

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump
 


The current time is 10:46 AM (GMT)

 
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.1
Copyright ©2000 - 2021, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.